BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 20h, 52m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 5737MB of 10809MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: RE: If you have problems spelling        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:41 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
Sorry to make a topic just to reply to a locked topic, but prehaps, some people don't WANT to switch to such a shitty browser as firefox?

Forcing software down people's throats is like, very rude. People should be able to use what they want.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: RE: If you have problems spelling        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:43 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Zimmy wrote:
Sorry to make a topic just to reply to a locked topic, but prehaps, some people don't WANT to switch to such a s**t browser as firefox?

Forcing software down people's throats is like, very rude. People should be able to use what they want.


We have not told people to switch to firefox, it was a mere suggestion and I'm sorry if you took it that way. Unfortunately some members thing it is OK to consistently spell everything wrong and it is very annoying.

Alternatives are:
- Type your post in a word processor and spell check it before posting
- Use a dictionary on words you're unsure of

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm

Posts
338

Location
Devon, United Kindom
What is so bad about firefox?

_________________
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:08 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Apache wrote:
What is so bad about firefox?


I guess some people don't like it. Just like I don't like IE that much.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
I am sorry for the harsh undertone here... but using Internet Explorer in today's age, in Windows, is akin to smoking at a gas station. SURE, you might be lucky that nothing bad will happen, but MAN, the risk is ALWAYS there.. what GOOD could come from it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:09 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
RentedMule wrote:
I am sorry for the harsh undertone here... but using Internet Explorer in today's age, in Windows, is akin to smoking at a gas station. SURE, you might be lucky that nothing bad will happen, but MAN, the risk is ALWAYS there.. what GOOD could come from it?


Thats what persuaded me to move to FF. Never had a single bit of spyware since. But remember its the persons choice. You can't force them.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
RentedMule wrote:
I am sorry for the harsh undertone here... but using Internet Explorer in today's age, in Windows, is akin to smoking at a gas station. SURE, you might be lucky that nothing bad will happen, but MAN, the risk is ALWAYS there.. what GOOD could come from it?


Thats what persuaded me to move to FF. Never had a single bit of spyware since. But remember its the persons choice. You can't force them.

And if someone doesn't like FF, IE's not the only browser left. What about Opera? And as said, noone here is forced to use FF if (s)he doesn't like it. FF was just used as an example for having an integrated spell checker. All what was asked for was to reduce the number of spelling mistakes in posts, by whatever means.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Windows NT 4.0
I use FF on my server but Opera on my laptop...

_________________
My Website -
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:52 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
PS: Opera can use Aspell-win32 and Safari (Mac/Win) also has a spell checker built in.

ADD: Now that I know Aspell has a win32 version, here it comes into my programs.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Well I am suspecious of Firefox if it has the integrated Google toolbar...

Personally, I can't say that I don't like firefox, but I feel that it has a lot of features I don't need - therefore I use K-Meleon...

ALthough my speeling cuold use some work.

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:05 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
Frozenport wrote:
Well I am suspecious of Firefox if it has the integrated Google toolbar...

Personally, I can't say that I don't like firefox, but I feel that it has a lot of features I don't need - therefore I use K-Meleon...

ALthough my speeling cuold use some work.


It has an integrated SEARCH bar. Yahoo is in there. And you can add just about anyone you want. Google is just default... and do you really blame that decision?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
I'm an Opera fanboy now, due to the fact that Firefox has degraded over time. Yeah sure, Firefox 1.5 was pretty good, but since 2.0, it sucks.

I'm not trying to force this down anyone's throats, but switch to Opera. It's just plain better.

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:54 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Posts
342

Location
Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Favourite OS
Chicago (hometown pride)
Frozenport wrote:
Well I am suspecious of Firefox if it has the integrated Google toolbar...

Personally, I can't say that I don't like firefox, but I feel that it has a lot of features I don't need - therefore I use K-Meleon...

ALthough my speeling cuold use some work.

The kind that came integated with the Google toolbar was NOT an official Mozilla product, and many sources I tried had some undetected virii (at the time) in them.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:04 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
A lot of sites that have "get Firefox" links actually download the version with the Google Toolbar built in, which I assume is made by Google not Mozilla. Apparently Google pay the owner of the site with the link every time their version of the browser is downloaded, or at least that's what I've heard.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:06 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
A lot of sites that have "get Firefox" links actually download the version with the Google Toolbar built in, which I assume is made by Google not Mozilla. Apparently Google pay the owner of the site with the link every time their version of the browser is downloaded, or at least that's what I've heard.


Correct. Last I checked, it's $1 for every conversion (the google toolbar reports back that it's been installed and ran, afaik, it's the only solution I can think of to gain the credit).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:06 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
A lot of sites that have "get Firefox" links actually download the version with the Google Toolbar built in, which I assume is made by Google not Mozilla. Apparently Google pay the owner of the site with the link every time their version of the browser is downloaded, or at least that's what I've heard.


I got the google search bar in mine and mine came down with the autoupdater.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:08 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Just to note, the Google Toolbar and the Firefox search box are different things... the Toolbar is an extention/plugin, the search box is part of Firefox (the bit to the right of the address bar) and isn't Google-only, just preconfigured to use Google as of course Google is what a whole lotta people use.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Do you mean the search box or the actual Google Toolbar? All copies of Firefox come with the little search box in the top-right and there are several search engines pre-installed with Google being the default, but the special Googleised version comes with an entire Google Toolbar (like the Google Toolbar that they make for IE) pre-installed too (you can also download this toolbar separately and install it on regular copies of Firefox too).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:20 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
moonlit wrote:
Just to note, the Google Toolbar and the Firefox search box are different things... the Toolbar is an extention/plugin, the search box is part of Firefox (the bit to the right of the address bar) and isn't Google-only, just preconfigured to use Google as of course Google is what a whole lotta people use.


The firefox search bar (among most any browsers) will take any OpenSearch search "plugin" for lack of a better term. Mozilla just has the best list of those search engines.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Zimmy, I assume that you are referring to
http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1178
this post. This was not made as an order, it was merely a suggestion to people that have problems spelling. I made this post after a few members blatantly ignored our spelling and grammar rules. This does not mean that you have to switch to firefox at all, but to switch to a browser that has a spell checker in it.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:40 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
Fireware wrote:
Zimmy, I assume that you are referring to
http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1178
this post. This was not made as an order, it was merely a suggestion to people that have problems spelling. I made this post after a few members blatantly ignored our spelling and grammar rules. This does not mean that you have to switch to firefox at all, but to switch to a browser that has a spell checker in it.


You should also keep in mind, a lot of our members, and members in other forums in general, are not from an english speaking country. While their native language isint english, I do have good words to say about their english, 99% of the time, I can understand what foreginers are saying in english.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:42 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
i see your point, but I think this post was made because at the time, the people with the worst spelling were from english-speaking countries like the UK.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: RE: If you have problems spelling        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:02 am 
Reply with quote
Andy wrote:
Unfortunately some members thing it is OK to consistently spell everything wrong and it is very annoying.

Alternatives are:
- Type your post in a word processor and spell check it before posting
- Use a dictionary on words you're unsure of


Unfortunately, spell checks only find mis spelled words, not mis used as
is demonstrated by the bold word in your quote.
TBH, I can't see what the fuss is about, if you can read the sentence
regardless of the spelling then let it be.
Xdude has been around for some time, he'd be one of the hardest
to understand if spelling's an issue, but we live with it.
Is this a beta forum or a secondary schooling.
Why do so many look for faults in others, it's so annoying reading
such posts.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:06 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
That word was spelt correctly yet it was still a typo I agree, but you could understand the sentence. And I agree with the worst spelling people were from native English speakers. And it is true. One member got banned for not using correct grammar and spelling (though this was not the only reason, don't get me wrong. He refused to even try and made up excuses).

The fact is, everyone should be trying to spell things properly, and if you can't, use a spell checker. Its not up for debate, it should be second nature.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
Camino can do spell-check now too.

http://www.opera.com/support/tutorials/ ... pellcheck/ also indicates that Opera can use aSpell on non-Mac platforms and has native spell-checking on Macs. Basically, it's not going to be a problem unless you use Dillo, K-Meleon, or other obscure browsers. Even Konqueror and Galeon are said to work.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS