Casio E-105F

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Casio E-105F

Post by atomcomputer »

Image

Hello,
A friend gave me this PocketPc. The battery is dead but the Casio works fine with an home made power supply.

But now, I've two major question :

- This is an un-upgradable Windows CE 2.11 Does anybody know cool working applications ?

- What can I do with this ?

Thank you very much !
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Google it, it has been ages since I looked up Windows CE stuff for my Cassiopeia A-20e, it is stuck at CE 2.00

Something cool to try on it would be that PC emulator, I got Windows 3.00 on mine!

If you find anything make sure its for your processor (MIPS, SH3, SH4 etc)
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

This is a :
# CPU: NEC VR4121 MIPS @ 131 MHz
# Memory: RAM 32 MiB and ROM 16 MiB

I've found PocketDos. It seems to be cool

http://www.pocketdos.com/screenshots_ppc.htm

Some small games

http://www.solyanik.com/valeriy/Games.html


How do you use your PocketPc ? For kind usages ?
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Nice, beats my 8Mb Ram But I also have a CF card

Yes, I used it for ordinary things, like an MP3 Player, a word proecessor, the odd game, and If you can get a wireless card for it, a web browser! I even made a little web site on it!

Your lucky. MIPS is IIRC the most common, so software should not be a problem. Tucows.com have some good stuff as well, last time I looked.

BTW nice games page! I might put some stuff on it if I can find my Pocket PC again. It was hard to install things for me, I had to use Infared since I didn't have a serial cable but I could copy them onto the CF card and install them
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

Yes it could be nice to get a wifi card for 30USD (26euros) on Ebay.
his is a pretty cool computer but I think I'll use it to play old games This palm was designed for games with this pad and the two buttons

Do you try to install Linux on this PocketPc?
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Hmm, Linux, i am sure someone has made it run on those Pocket PC's, but I have not tried it on mine.

Well, I am sure you will find pleanty of games for CE 2.11!
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

I think I'll buy a Compact Flash wifi card. They have installed a Wifi HotSpot at my McDonald's
Yes, there is a lot of nice games. I'm quite afraid because this pocket pc haven't any keyboard, and I used to use keybord ...
The spelling software have some difficulties to find word in my strange draw
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

atomcomputer wrote:I think I'll buy a Compact Flash wifi card. They have installed a Wifi HotSpot at my McDonald's
Yes, there is a lot of nice games. I'm quite afraid because this pocket pc haven't any keyboard, and I used to use keybord ...
The spelling software have some difficulties to find word in my strange draw
Enjoy your wireless internet!

Prehaps it has a program that makes a keyboard appear and you type with your stylus? I am sure Windows CE 2.11 would have something like it...

Well, lol, my Palm didn't like my handwriting either!
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

It has a virtual keyboard, just look at the little keyboard icon in the systray. My PDAs have had difficulties recognizing my handwriting as well, maybe that's just because my handwriting sucks.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

Yes, handwriting sucks !
There is a virtual keyboard but I prefer use my fingers to type on a real keyboard
That's not really a problem but I get used to type everythingon a keyboard (even I write ssh command for unix/linux on a Cell phone with wifi with the numerical keyboard ... )
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

atomcomputer wrote:Yes, handwriting sucks !
There is a virtual keyboard but I prefer use my fingers to type on a real keyboard
That's not really a problem but I get used to type everythingon a keyboard (even I write ssh command for unix/linux on a Cell phone with wifi with the numerical keyboard ... )
Hey, I do that as well! I prefer my PDA which has a full QWERTY keyboard, however, and a gorgeous VGA screen. Typing ssh commands on a phone's alphanumeric keyboard can be a pain.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

No, no, this is not a pain
I get used to it
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

atomcomputer wrote:No, no, this is not a pain
I get used to it
I can't, that's why I hate writing SMS...

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

I get used to write SMS because in 1999 the voice price for GSM was horrible. A ex-girlfriend gave me an old nokia and I get used to send only sms At this time the three operators in France doesn't taxes SMS so much. Now, i'm lucky, I've a 200SMS/month for free
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

that is a really good deal.

I've lost my phone And I am going to England on friday!
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

I've a lot of old GSM/Cells phone. I think I have ~20 working phones (most of them are very old). BeforeI get used to have prepaid card which are expensive and they sold the phone for ~80Euros / ~55£. So, I get only the SIM card I get some old phones from friends or mates. It was a time when I changed phone every 2 weeks because the battery was down or the or the phone was too much damaged
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

I had a lot of GSM's too, I had 2 Nokia 5110's (great phones) and let my church use it as a prop in it's play/sketch, and the Youth Club stole 1 phone and 2 batteries. I didn't take back my the remaining phone, since it had no battery. Ever since I have never let the church "borrow" things from me!

I would say €80/£55 would be good for a new phone, at the price they are these days...
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

I'm going to England and Ireland this September. I've three friends there, so If you want an old cell phone unlocked, I've a a 5110/6210/8210 working nokia. This is great phones. I also have Sagem phones (MYX5/X6) with color screen and a small camera. I can give you them for free because I've so much old phones here, but I've only a international ac adapater for the Sagem.
I don't go to the church, but when I was young I was in a Catholic and a Protestant church. It's strange because on my family they have differents religions, so I don't belive in any religions. But, I helped a small catholic eglise near my old College. They used 80286 computers with Works 2.0 (2004!!!)! So I helped them to get other computers and to Install It, It was funny
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Thanks for the offer!

Sadly I live in a small town, that isn't very well known, and my parents might not agree, but I will ask. If you were sending them by Mail, I would pay postage, of coaruse.

Prehaps another way of getting rid of them could be eBay? I sold a motorola camera phone for good money, just install free games and ringtones, and any phone will sell well

My chourch got it's first computer back in 1995 or before, it was Windows 95-based, and had Office 4.0 - the box is still there, with the disks!
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

what about bochs

http://mamaich.uni.cc/ppc/bochs-2.1.1.rar
then get the windows 3.1/dos bochs image on sillyproject
make the configuration file, then copy it on to a compactflash and start it.
P.S you need pocket console

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

clt_42 wrote:what about bochs

http://mamaich.uni.cc/ppc/bochs-2.1.1.rar
then get the windows 3.1/dos bochs image on sillyproject
make the configuration file, then copy it on to a compactflash and start it.
P.S you need pocket console
This is for ARM. The Casio has a MIPS CPU.

atomcomputer
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Toulouse,France
Contact:

Post by atomcomputer »

I'm trying to find a great Pc Emulator for the casio

For the Nokia, the postage would be too expensive for the value of this phone. You can find some cheap one on ebay And ... hurg I have no car so It would be difficult for me to bring this one if you live so far away ...

Good luck for your new phone
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Thanks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!

Edit: corrected typo.
Last edited by compact-mac on Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Compact-mac wrote:Thabks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!
Yep, there is, and it supports CE 2.11 and MIPS CPUs. So you should give it a try, I had it running on my Windows PDAs (Casio E-115F & HP Jornada 720 & JVC MP-C33), slow, but working.

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

empireum wrote:
Compact-mac wrote:Thabks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!
Yep, there is, and it supports CE 2.11 and MIPS CPUs. So you should give it a try, I had it running on my Windows PDAs (Casio E-115F & HP Jornada 720 & JVC MP-C33), slow, but working.
I sure will again, I got Windows 3.0 on it when it worked. I must find that charger...
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

Post Reply