BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 6h, 14m | CPU: 4% | MEM: 1792MB of 3033MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Casio E-105F        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Image

Hello,
A friend gave me this PocketPc. The battery is dead but the Casio works fine with an home made power supply.

But now, I've two major question :

- This is an un-upgradable Windows CE 2.11 :-( Does anybody know cool working applications ?

- What can I do with this ?

Thank you very much !

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
Google it, it has been ages since I looked up Windows CE stuff for my Cassiopeia A-20e, it is stuck at CE 2.00 :p

Something cool to try on it would be that PC emulator, I got Windows 3.00 on mine!

If you find anything make sure its for your processor (MIPS, SH3, SH4 etc)

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
This is a :
# CPU: NEC VR4121 MIPS @ 131 MHz
# Memory: RAM 32 MiB and ROM 16 MiB

I've found PocketDos. It seems to be cool ;-)

http://www.pocketdos.com/screenshots_ppc.htm

Some small games

http://www.solyanik.com/valeriy/Games.html


How do you use your PocketPc ? For kind usages ?

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
Nice, beats my 8Mb Ram :) But I also have a CF card ;)

Yes, I used it for ordinary things, like an MP3 Player, a word proecessor, the odd game, and If you can get a wireless card for it, a web browser! I even made a little web site on it!

Your lucky. MIPS is IIRC the most common, so software should not be a problem. Tucows.com have some good stuff as well, last time I looked.

BTW nice games page! I might put some stuff on it if I can find my Pocket PC again. It was hard to install things for me, I had to use Infared since I didn't have a serial cable :( but I could copy them onto the CF card and install them :)

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Yes it could be nice to get a wifi card for 30USD (26euros) on Ebay.
his is a pretty cool computer but I think I'll use it to play old games ;-) This palm was designed for games with this pad and the two buttons ;-)

Do you try to install Linux on this PocketPc?

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
Hmm, Linux, i am sure someone has made it run on those Pocket PC's, but I have not tried it on mine.

Well, I am sure you will find pleanty of games for CE 2.11!

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:03 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
I think I'll buy a Compact Flash wifi card. They have installed a Wifi HotSpot at my McDonald's ;-)
Yes, there is a lot of nice games. I'm quite afraid because this pocket pc haven't any keyboard, and I used to use keybord ...
The spelling software have some difficulties to find word in my strange draw ;-)

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
atomcomputer wrote:
I think I'll buy a Compact Flash wifi card. They have installed a Wifi HotSpot at my McDonald's ;-)
Yes, there is a lot of nice games. I'm quite afraid because this pocket pc haven't any keyboard, and I used to use keybord ...
The spelling software have some difficulties to find word in my strange draw ;-)


Enjoy your wireless internet!

Prehaps it has a program that makes a keyboard appear and you type with your stylus? I am sure Windows CE 2.11 would have something like it...

Well, lol, my Palm didn't like my handwriting either!

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
It has a virtual keyboard, just look at the little keyboard icon in the systray. My PDAs have had difficulties recognizing my handwriting as well, maybe that's just because my handwriting sucks. :lol:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Yes, handwriting sucks !
There is a virtual keyboard but I prefer use my fingers to type on a real keyboard ;-)
That's not really a problem but I get used to type everythingon a keyboard (even I write ssh command for unix/linux on a Cell phone with wifi with the numerical keyboard ... )

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
atomcomputer wrote:
Yes, handwriting sucks !
There is a virtual keyboard but I prefer use my fingers to type on a real keyboard ;-)
That's not really a problem but I get used to type everythingon a keyboard (even I write ssh command for unix/linux on a Cell phone with wifi with the numerical keyboard ... )

Hey, I do that as well! :D I prefer my PDA which has a full QWERTY keyboard, however, and a gorgeous VGA screen. Typing ssh commands on a phone's alphanumeric keyboard can be a pain.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
No, no, this is not a pain ;-)
I get used to it ;-)

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
atomcomputer wrote:
No, no, this is not a pain ;-)
I get used to it ;-)

I can't, that's why I hate writing SMS...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
I get used to write SMS because in 1999 the voice price for GSM was horrible. A ex-girlfriend gave me an old nokia and I get used to send only sms :roll: At this time the three operators in France doesn't taxes SMS so much. Now, i'm lucky, I've a 200SMS/month for free ;-)

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
that is a really good deal.

I've lost my phone :( And I am going to England on friday!

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 1:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
I've a lot of old GSM/Cells phone. I think I have ~20 working phones (most of them are very old). BeforeI get used to have prepaid card which are expensive and they sold the phone for ~80Euros / ~55£. So, I get only the SIM card I get some old phones from friends or mates. It was a time when I changed phone every 2 weeks because the battery was down or the or the phone was too much damaged :roll:

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
I had a lot of GSM's too, I had 2 Nokia 5110's (great phones) and let my church use it as a prop in it's play/sketch, and the Youth Club stole 1 phone and 2 batteries. I didn't take back my the remaining phone, since it had no battery. Ever since I have never let the church "borrow" things from me!

I would say €80/£55 would be good for a new phone, at the price they are these days...

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
I'm going to England and Ireland this September. I've three friends there, so If you want an old cell phone unlocked, I've a a 5110/6210/8210 working nokia. This is great phones. I also have Sagem phones (MYX5/X6) with color screen and a small camera. I can give you them for free because I've so much old phones here, but I've only a international ac adapater for the Sagem.
I don't go to the church, but when I was young I was in a Catholic and a Protestant church. It's strange because on my family they have differents religions, so I don't belive in any religions. But, I helped a small catholic eglise near my old College. They used 80286 computers with Works 2.0 (2004!!!)! So I helped them to get other computers and to Install It, It was funny ;-)

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
Thanks for the offer!

Sadly I live in a small town, that isn't very well known, and my parents might not agree, but I will ask. If you were sending them by Mail, I would pay postage, of coaruse.

Prehaps another way of getting rid of them could be eBay? I sold a motorola camera phone for good money, just install free games and ringtones, and any phone will sell well ;)

My chourch got it's first computer back in 1995 or before, it was Windows 95-based, and had Office 4.0 - the box is still there, with the disks!

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:37 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm

Posts
316

Location
Your Closet

Favourite OS
Chicago build 34-had it :(
what about bochs

http://mamaich.uni.cc/ppc/bochs-2.1.1.rar
then get the windows 3.1/dos bochs image on sillyproject
make the configuration file, then copy it on to a compactflash and start it.
P.S you need pocket console


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
clt_42 wrote:
what about bochs

http://mamaich.uni.cc/ppc/bochs-2.1.1.rar
then get the windows 3.1/dos bochs image on sillyproject
make the configuration file, then copy it on to a compactflash and start it.
P.S you need pocket console

This is for ARM. The Casio has a MIPS CPU.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
I'm trying to find a great Pc Emulator for the casio ;-)

For the Nokia, the postage would be too expensive for the value of this phone. You can find some cheap one on ebay ;-) And ... hurg I have no car so It would be difficult for me to bring this one if you live so far away ...

Good luck for your new phone ;-)

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
Thanks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!

Edit: corrected typo.

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Last edited by compact-mac on Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Compact-mac wrote:
Thabks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!

Yep, there is, and it supports CE 2.11 and MIPS CPUs. So you should give it a try, I had it running on my Windows PDAs (Casio E-115F & HP Jornada 720 & JVC MP-C33), slow, but working. :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
empireum wrote:
Compact-mac wrote:
Thabks! I think there is a PC Emulator called PocketDOS, google it. I had it on my Casio!

Yep, there is, and it supports CE 2.11 and MIPS CPUs. So you should give it a try, I had it running on my Windows PDAs (Casio E-115F & HP Jornada 720 & JVC MP-C33), slow, but working. :wink:


I sure will again, I got Windows 3.0 on it when it worked. I must find that charger...

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS