BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 18h, 44m | CPU: 8% | MEM: 2243MB of 3645MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Whistler 2202 INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE error        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
Hey people I got Whistler 2202 and I tried to install it on VirtualPC but right after this screen...

Image

... i get this bsod...

Image

INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE. Anyone know how to fix it? Ive created another virtual hard drive but I got nothing. I'm gessing it's something in the BIOS.

Thx in advance!

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Whistler Build 2202 can't be installed by booting from the CD (assuming this is what you've been trying to do). Start the install from DOS by launching winnt.exe.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
empireum wrote:
Whistler Build 2202 can't be installed by booting from the CD (assuming this is what you've been trying to do). Start the install from DOS by launching winnt.exe.


Thanks mate, it's working so far ;)

Edit - Ugh, sorry what date should I set on BIOS? :\
Edit2 - Nevermind, I got it working :P

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
2202 is pretty much teh same as windows 2000, I wonder what did microsoft do to the boot files. what is different anyways?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:42 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
XDude wrote:
2202 is pretty much teh same as windows 2000, I wonder what did microsoft do to the boot files. what is different anyways?

Yep and I noticed there isn't even any "Whistler" written anywhere.
I have no clue what they did to the boot files...
And i didn't notice anything different at all, except the version near the clock, it says SD Windows 2000 Professional.

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
sp4rkbr wrote:
XDude wrote:
2202 is pretty much teh same as windows 2000, I wonder what did microsoft do to the boot files. what is different anyways?

Yep and I noticed there isn't even any "Whistler" written anywhere.
I have no clue what they did to the boot files...
And i didn't notice anything different at all, except the version near the clock, it says SD Windows 2000 Professional.

Yeah, I haven't noticed any differeces either except for the build string ("SD" is for "Setup Disk" AFAIK).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
empireum wrote:
sp4rkbr wrote:
XDude wrote:
2202 is pretty much teh same as windows 2000, I wonder what did microsoft do to the boot files. what is different anyways?

Yep and I noticed there isn't even any "Whistler" written anywhere.
I have no clue what they did to the boot files...
And i didn't notice anything different at all, except the version near the clock, it says SD Windows 2000 Professional.

Yeah, I haven't noticed any differeces either except for the build string ("SD" is for "Setup Disk" AFAIK).

Offtopic: sorry about my avatar I just realized it looks like yours, I'll change it :oops:

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
sp4rkbr wrote:
Offtopic: sorry about my avatar I just realized it looks like yours, I'll change it :oops:

No, don't. Why should you, it doesn't bother me at all. :) I didn't even make that one myself.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
empireum wrote:
sp4rkbr wrote:
Offtopic: sorry about my avatar I just realized it looks like yours, I'll change it :oops:

No, don't. Why should you, it doesn't bother me at all. :) I didn't even make that one myself.

Ok.. hehe thanks. :]
I didn't make that either hehe.
No more offtopics :P

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 2:28 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2629

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
that always happens with windows 2000
ask beta freak

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:15 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
toshua123 wrote:
that always happens with windows 2000
ask beta freak

Nonsense. That does not "always happen" with Windows 2000, besides, this is actually a Whistler build, even though a very early one. This issue has been known for Whistler build 2202.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:05 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
toshua123 wrote:
that always happens with windows 2000
ask beta freak

Nonsense. That does not "always happen" with Windows 2000, besides, this is actually a Whistler build, even though a very early one. This issue has been known for Whistler build 2202.


Its never happened to me when installing 2000 so your pc obviously just doesn't like it.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Well, if it "always happened with 2000" then no-one would ever have been able to use 2000, and that clearly isn't the case :P

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:12 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Well, if it "always happened with 2000" then no-one would ever have been able to use 2000, and that clearly isn't the case :P


2000 also wouldn't have been released in that state.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
Its never happened to me when installing 2000 so your pc obviously just doesn't like it.

Is this directed towards me or toshua123? Because I didn't say it happened to me when installing 2000, but it happened to me when installing Whistler build 2202 by booting from CD.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:29 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:21 pm

Posts
73

Location
Brazil
Googling about it i found out this is a problem that happens mostly with Windows 2000 (or only with Windows 2000). Obviously not always but in some cases as described on microsoft's explanation:

ms wrote:
This Stop message indicates that Windows 2000 lost access to the system partition during the startup process. This error always occurs while the system is starting and cannot be debugged because it generally occurs before the operating system has loaded the debugger. During I/O system initialization, the boot device driver might have failed to initialize the boot device (typically a hard disk). File system initialization might have failed because it did not recognize the data on the boot device. Repartitioning the system partition or installing a new SCSI adapter or disk controller might also induce this error.

_________________
Joost Invites Request - Click here (include your email)
Torrentleech Invites Request - Click here (include your email)


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:18 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2629

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
but i think (on 2000)
you can insert a dos disk
but i dont know with one

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@sp4rkbr
This error can occur on any version of Windows NT, from 3.1 to 6.0 (aka Vista). It's not restricted to Windows 2000.- In this case, it's simply a problem in Whistler build 2202 which can't be installed by booting from the CD.

@toshua123
A DOS disk won't help you there. You could boot with one that has NTFS support to fix the problem, but it won't get the system operational immediately.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:00 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2629

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Thats what i ment :oops:

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 2:10 pm 
Reply with quote
I can't imagine why they made such a big change about how this one runs
from the bootable image\iso, but yes - if it's made bootable using your
regular 2kb boot sector then it won't work...
I made a working bootable ISO of this in the OSBA days & upped it to a
few servers then...


Last edited by KenOath on Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
Actually, it just happened to me :D

I was installing Windows NT 3.5 Workstation in floppyless mode using VMWare Fusion. (Fusion doesn't have floppy support, which sucks, FYI)

FIrst, I booted from a DOS 6.22 iso. Then, I fdisked the drive, rebooted, formatted the drive, and switched the iso out for the NT disc. I ran winnt /b, went through the process, rebooted, and got this STOP error.

I'm probably going to try it in Parallels now..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
An error like this happened when I tried to install Windows 2000 on a computer before realizing that the hard drive had fried. However, mine did this when I got up to the Partition Manager phase of the setup so maybe the Whistler 2202 setup doesn't recognize CD drives. Whistler 2430 and 2257 installed in VPC fine so I'm not sure what the problem is. I'll download Whistler 2202 and see if mine will boot. If not, I'll have a look around and see what I can do.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:31 am

Posts
29
Happened to me on normal Windows 2000 two times:

1. after a while of having it installed
2. after just putting in a hdd with that OS.

This error usually happens, when you didn't install the operating system on the machine you're trying to use it on. This is an issue with the IDE controller driver AFAIK.

Greetings
Oerg


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
It also happens if you dual-boot an NTFS5-unaware NT 3.x/4.0 which has been installed on NTFS with Windows 2000 or newer.

But the original problem has been solved, let's get back on topic now.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS