BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 22h, 29m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 2015MB of 4407MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: What will be your next computer related purchase be?        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:50 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
I am not horribly sure of what mine will be, I know I am planning on getting a cell phone and DS but they really aren't computer related, best bets would most likely be a digital camera. My current one is like 3 or 4 years old...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:51 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Not beta related. Moved to off topic discussions.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:51 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
Thanks, I wasn't really sure where this could have went.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:53 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
hypr wrote:
Thanks, I wasn't really sure where this could have went.


Well General Discussion is for beta related talk, this is not a beta related topic, and it doesn't fit anywhere else so off topic is the only place it can belong. Please think before posting in a section.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:56 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Hmm... A GP2X and some 4GB SD cards.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:58 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I want mine to be either:

1. A nice new pc suitable for modern games.
or
2. A nice 3TeraByte storage server, 6x500gb Hard Drives in RAID 0. Maybe not with the RAID but who knows. 800GB of space doesn't cut it anymore :D

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:58 am 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
New mobo HDD ram graphics card.
Basically a new system.
Exept case.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:02 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@Andy:
RAID 0 is no good for a storage server, really. Zero fault tolerance.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:04 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
@Andy:
RAID 0 is no good for a storage server, really. Zero fault tolerance.


I know but maximum space. Also, if a single drive fails, it only loses that section of 500gb as appose to the whole lot of 3TB.

Anyway I'm not entirely sure how I will set it up yet. I might have them as independand hard disks, maybe a RAID, like I say, not sure. I'll figure it out when the time comes :)

Right, dinners ready :) *drools* 8)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:11 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
I was thinking new motherboard, somehow my hard drive was getting bad blocks, but of course I had the spare IDE add in card, from ebay it works great no bad blocks, (its a long story), But a Asus A8N with a Athlon 3500+ 64-bit processor should have quite a long life.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:13 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
Also, if a single drive fails, it only loses that section of 500gb as appose to the whole lot of 3TB.

Incorrect. RAID 0 spans and distributes the data over all drives, so if 1 out of 6 (n) drives fails, you'll lose 1/6th (1/n-th) of every single file, rendering the rest of the data useless. If one drive of a RAID 0 fails, you lose everything. If you want the volume just spanned, one disk after the other, go for JBOD (which does still not provide any fault tolerance. If you want to use RAID for a storage server with that capacity and that number of drives, go for RAID-5. You'll lose 500GB of space, but you can easily rescue the situation if one single disk fails. )


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:28 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Quote:
Also, if a single drive fails, it only loses that section of 500gb as appose to the whole lot of 3TB.

Incorrect. RAID 0 spans and distributes the data over all drives, so if 1 out of 6 (n) drives fails, you'll lose 1/6th (1/n-th) of every single file, rendering the rest of the data useless. If one drive of a RAID 0 fails, you lose everything. If you want the volume just spanned, one disk after the other, go for JBOD (which does still not provide any fault tolerance. If you want to use RAID for a storage server with that capacity and that number of drives, go for RAID-5. You'll lose 500GB of space, but you can easily rescue the situation if one single disk fails. )


I meant if I went with using them as single drives, not as RAID that I'd only lose that section of 500gb, but then I didn't make that clear. ;)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:30 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
This is correct, of course.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:36 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
A new Sharp Zaurus. Something better than my SL-5500


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:46 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
RentedMule wrote:
A new Sharp Zaurus. Something better than my SL-5500

Another Z fan :) I have an SL-C1000 running pdaXrom and I absolutely love it. Have had it for almost 2 years now, don't want to miss it a single day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:09 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
I should get another fan, as well, I was going to but never got around to it. Anyways probably sooner or later I may get another hard drive. I have 160 GB on my main PC right now.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:18 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Mine would either be a dell latitude d630 laptop or a new desktop pc. Which should I get?

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:43 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
A new PSU that can cope with my pcs power demands.
Or a New Wireless Hub to replace the one that broke.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:45 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
A bigger HD, as my 80GB has about ~1GB free.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:04 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
Mine would probably be, like Andy's, a storage server. It'd probably be running Solaris with ZFS for the array (I know I can do it with Linux, ZFS is just a lot more mature on Solaris), and have a gigabit link to my main computer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:51 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am

Posts
201

Location
USA
I would get a high quality liquid cooling system....
air fans just don't cut it anymore..
already have two massive server fans, along with the stock case fans and a $50 CPU fan... still runs hot as hell

_________________
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:52 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
spaceship9 wrote:
I would get a high quality liquid cooling system....
air fans just don't cut it anymore..
already have two massive server fans, along with the stock case fans and a $50 CPU fan... still runs hot as hell


The fan isnt everything. The heatsink and transfer paste has more to do with it than a fan. Given a big enough heatsink a CPU could run without a fan.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:57 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
spaceship9 wrote:
I would get a high quality liquid cooling system....
air fans just don't cut it anymore..
already have two massive server fans, along with the stock case fans and a $50 CPU fan... still runs hot as hell


I find a cheaper, yet more noisy solution, go to your local bargain store, get a window fan, take the side of the case off, and point it right in.

For a mere $6.99 your computer couldnt be cooler.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:00 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
It reminds me of an old... 386 or 486 I have the fan falls off it sometime, but still works good, but doesn't like 98, always has errors with the memory, but 3.1 works just fine on it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:00 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
RentedMule wrote:
spaceship9 wrote:
I would get a high quality liquid cooling system....
air fans just don't cut it anymore..
already have two massive server fans, along with the stock case fans and a $50 CPU fan... still runs hot as hell


I find a cheaper, yet more noisy solution, go to your local bargain store, get a window fan, take the side of the case off, and point it right in.

For a mere $6.99 your computer couldnt be cooler.


Doesn't quite work like that. The CPU has to be kept cool properly, and directing a window fan at it won't work. A CPU fan will push more air over the heatsink than one of those fans. Not unless you have a massive heatsink and use passive cooling, although thats very rare.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ATeamInc and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS