BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 23d, 18h, 2m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 5664MB of 10791MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: CRT monitor problem        Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:11 pm 
Reply with quote
I hav an ancient computer abt 10 yrs old. i haven't used it in a long time. now whenever i turn it on, the monitor light shows that it is on, but no picture is displayed. could someone tell me what the problem is, and how can i go about fixing it?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
Xammer wrote:
I think the problem is hopeless.

^^Yeah really useful :x

First of all, does the rest of the computer work okay? Could it be the graphics card? Have you checked for signal from the VGA port?

Have you tried the monitor with another computer?

From the symptoms you have already posted it sounds most likely to be the monitor. if so you're probably looking at a new unit.

Hope this helps

Tim


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:04 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2643

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
This has happend in school.
Its the monitor.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
Check the capacitors on the motherboard. My Compaq did that, I changed the caps, it ran perfect.

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2643

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Maby vinland029 is not into changing caps.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Changing Caps is a hard task, but that doesn't mean he wouldn't want to do it...

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Something similar to this happened to my TV. You would turn it on, the red "on" light would turn on, but the picture wouldn't show on the screen. We ended up getting a new TV so i can't really help.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
Take it to a TV repair shop


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:53 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Tried thumping it? Worked for my TV :D

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
RentedMule wrote:
Take it to a TV repair shop

Not really worth it these days, given that you could easily get a much better CRT screen (eg 19 or 21 inch Trinitron) for free as no-one wants them now.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AWindowsGuy and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS