CRT monitor problem

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
vinland029

CRT monitor problem

Post by vinland029 »

I hav an ancient computer abt 10 yrs old. i haven't used it in a long time. now whenever i turn it on, the monitor light shows that it is on, but no picture is displayed. could someone tell me what the problem is, and how can i go about fixing it?

hougtimo
FTP Access
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: c:\tmp\*
Contact:

Post by hougtimo »

Xammer wrote:I think the problem is hopeless.
^^Yeah really useful

First of all, does the rest of the computer work okay? Could it be the graphics card? Have you checked for signal from the VGA port?

Have you tried the monitor with another computer?

From the symptoms you have already posted it sounds most likely to be the monitor. if so you're probably looking at a new unit.

Hope this helps

Tim

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

This has happend in school.
Its the monitor.

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

Check the capacitors on the motherboard. My Compaq did that, I changed the caps, it ran perfect.
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

Maby vinland029 is not into changing caps.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Changing Caps is a hard task, but that doesn't mean he wouldn't want to do it...
-Jeff

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Something similar to this happened to my TV. You would turn it on, the red "on" light would turn on, but the picture wouldn't show on the screen. We ended up getting a new TV so i can't really help.

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »

Take it to a TV repair shop

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Tried thumping it? Worked for my TV

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

RentedMule wrote:Take it to a TV repair shop
Not really worth it these days, given that you could easily get a much better CRT screen (eg 19 or 21 inch Trinitron) for free as no-one wants them now.
Image

Post Reply