BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 10d, 20h, 40m | CPU: 7% | MEM: 1874MB of 3335MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: What OSes our ATMs use...        Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:59 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am

Posts
361

Location
China

Favourite OS
Win2000
This is the "First Bank"'s ATM in the 1st floor of my dorm:

Image
WinXP Pro SP2!...Wait...English ver?
Blame my cell phone...It got a strange crack for no reason.

And a full look of the ATM:
Image

Well the touching screen still works at that moment...(You know the rest)

And the ATM of the post office:

Image
IBM OS/2 Warp 3!
And notice the below....1995?! :shock:

_________________
Image


Last edited by tpemail on Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:18 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Well, that's funny ;)
Two three years ago I see on the screen on an very old ATM ( IBM ) a dos interface with "Application Hang Up" and "C:\>"
The funniest was that the keypad was still working ;-)
4 or 5 days after, they replace this one with a new siemmens :(

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:39 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Warp is still used in a lot of places for bank-transcations.
A lot of gas stations use Warp 3 here for this purpose.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:46 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
I can't say I've seen many ATMs in this state but those I have seen have been running Windows NT 4... which flavour I can't remember.

It always makes me smile seeing ATMs or kiosks showing a BSoD, desktop or boot screen though.

...actually, it's funny, I was just listening to a podcast involving this (sorta, though the device in question was a bus timetable kiosk) last night...

http://hackervoice.co.uk/show/archive/2007/hackervoiceradio5june2007.mp3

http://hackervoice.co.uk/show/

Not the best episode of a show in the world, but relevant none the less. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: What OSes our ATMs use...        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:51 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
tpemail wrote:
And notice the below....1995?! :shock:

I'm pretty sure the Fixpaks update the copyright notice.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:42 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
I know not strictly on topic but:

At Brewer's Fayre restaurants here the "Who wants to be a millionaire" machines runs Windows 98SE.

Also at our local Sainsbury's store they have monitors around the shop hanging from the ceiling, which play music videos and annoyingly tell you about special offers that you don't want. These run XP Home. I was in there a week or two back, and the monitors were all on standby...which is unusual. But anyway. I went to my alcohol isle as usual and just as I was about to pay the XP "startup music" blared out louder than I think I will ever hear it again (you could hear the "gasp" from all the other shoppers, then the shop fell completely silent).

Also there was a build tag on the desktop after it had booted which is how I know it was XP Home Edition. (and it looks like they're running all the default services, or atleast themes - it was olive Luna :S)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:01 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Ive done a lot of contract work with Diebold. Their machines run a form of windows in every regard for....

wait for it...

visual basic support. That's right. Your ATM is likely to run windows and VB applications.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:34 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
RentedMule wrote:
That's right. Your ATM is likely to run windows and VB applications.


I dunno, I guess that doesn't surprise me... As loathed as VB is, it's great for rapid development and as long as the program works, it's all good.

Providing the ATM does its job (though this thread suggests otherwise), whatever it's running on is all gravy. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:43 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
hougtimo wrote:
I know not strictly on topic but:

At Brewer's Fayre restaurants here the "Who wants to be a millionaire" machines runs Windows 98SE.


Yes, I saw one once in my local shopping centre with a BSOD.

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:05 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
398

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
There are some old IBM ATM`s here, they probably running OS/2

The new s-trains in Copenhagen use Windows 3.1

McDonald`s cash registers use XP Embedded

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: What OSes our ATMs use...        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:37 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am

Posts
361

Location
China

Favourite OS
Win2000
ppc_digger wrote:
tpemail wrote:
And notice the below....1995?! :shock:

I'm pretty sure the Fixpaks update the copyright notice.


Sounds right...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:OS2_Warp_3.png

But 1995 is still way too old... :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:48 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:06 pm

Posts
43

Location
USA
i tried looking up atms running mac, i couldnt find any :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:16 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
Because Apple makes the hardware and OS, and they get ticked off when you install OSX on a home PC for personal use. I'd hate to see what they did to a business running OSX on a PC hardware.

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:27 pm 
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
Harris Bank in the Chicago area uses Linux. I noticed as I pulled up to it and it had a kernel panic.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:41 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
hjort wrote:
There are some old IBM ATM`s here, they probably running OS/2

The new s-trains in Copenhagen use Windows 3.1

McDonald`s cash registers use XP Embedded


The oldest cash registers at McDo uses Windows NT4 with TS :
Image
With a very unusable keyboard ( all product on one keyboard ) .
There was installed in 1992 in FR. "Panasonic"

They also uses an old computer to manage employees on W98
Image

When I entred to the McDO, the cash registers was some Siemmens Nixdorf Pentium 100Mhz 16Mbit 2Go under Dos 6.22 with a NT4TS server

Image

Now we are using PIII 1Ghz or PIV cash registers with Win XP EMbedded
Image
Image
but now ... it crash sometimes :
Image

Before it was hardware crash, and now software crashes ;)
Imagine, I was taking a order at the McDrive, and when I touch the screen I had a BSOD :( We must take a command in a very short time...

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:47 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
ZSS9393 wrote:
Because Apple makes the hardware and OS, and they get ticked off when you install OSX on a home PC for personal use. I'd hate to see what they did to a business running OSX on a PC hardware.


In 1999, on a live weather forecast on French national TV, the Macintosh being used for presentation rebooted on air.
"Error Type 11" and "Mac OS 8.6".
The anchorman didn't see that the computer failed and still pointed to the presentation showing icons on the screen ;-)

(hu, mmmh, sorry .. .but can you help me to make theses sentences in proper english ? )
thanks ;)

Moderator Edit: I tried to make the post readable, but I still don't think it sounds correct

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 2:16 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
atomcomputer wrote:
ZSS9393 wrote:
Because Apple makes the hardware and OS, and they get ticked off when you install OSX on a home PC for personal use. I'd hate to see what they did to a business running OSX on a PC hardware.


In 1999 on a "weather show" (weather forcast?) at one of the national french tv, the Mac reboot in live
"Error Type 11" and "Mac OS 8.6".
The anchorman doesn't see that the computer failed and still belong the presentation showing icons on the screen ;-)

(hu, mmmh, sorry .. .but can you help me to make theses sentences in proper english ? )
thanks ;)

Were they using apple hardware? BTW, "Error Type 11'? Been there, done that, got the t-shirt. (that's why I wouldn't use classic MacOS for anything more than home use)

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:09 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Yes, It was on TV. They use Apple Hardware for Image incrustation.

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:11 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Posts
400
At Little Caesars, we are running Windows XP Home SP2 and an ancient food program that looks like a Windows 95 program. On the phone computer, we have Windows 2000 SP4. Funny enough, that runs more efficiently half the times than the other two. :)


Also, at this one lodge we visit up north, one of the games using touching technologies locked up, so we had to unplug it and restart it. It was running a DOS game in MS-DOS 6.22!!! It really does warm my heart to see MS-DOS still kicking major @$$ [excuse my symbols].

_________________
Since January 2005, I've been in the Operating Systems Prototype Community. I've enjoyed learning more these past four years about the development of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems, as well as learning of new user-based projects that optimize system performance.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:36 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
troyoda1990 wrote:
At Little Caesars, we are running Windows XP Home SP2 and an ancient food program that looks like a Windows 95 program.

Most supermarkets in Israel still use a DOS-based product-registration program from the mid-80s (if it ain't broke, don't fix it).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:30 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
ppc_digger wrote:
troyoda1990 wrote:
At Little Caesars, we are running Windows XP Home SP2 and an ancient food program that looks like a Windows 95 program.

Most supermarkets in Israel still use a DOS-based product-registration program from the mid-80s (if it ain't broke, don't fix it).


My school tech department still uses an old RM Nimbus 286! Never seen it on though. oddly enough, it is only like 5 metres from some Intel iMac's.

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:48 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
moonlit wrote:
RentedMule wrote:
That's right. Your ATM is likely to run windows and VB applications.


I dunno, I guess that doesn't surprise me... As loathed as VB is, it's great for rapid development and as long as the program works, it's all good.

Providing the ATM does its job (though this thread suggests otherwise), whatever it's running on is all gravy. :)


I'd heard that at one point 50% of all Windows applications were written in VB6 :lol:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:22 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
In France, we are still using the minitel instead of the white pages.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minitel

This is a videotex terminal, very famous in France. It's obsolete (22years old) but still great working. It was like internet : first, it was used to search phone numbers or informations, after for games and to finish, the sex.

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:47 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I just saw one of those kodak picture printing stations showing a win 2000 chkdsk(or something similar) screens. I also recently saw a XPe screensaver at a buffet I was eating at. Unfortunately, I didn't think of snapping pictures at the time.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:42 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Sorry for bumping, but I just thought I'd note this - I was in our local Sainsbury's (supermarket, not sure if it exists much outside the UK) the other day and used the Self Checkout, which is the thing where there's touch-screen terminals where you scan the items yourself and stick the money in the slot, rather than have someone serving you. Anyway, one of the terminals must have crashed as it was rebooting, and guess what OS? (consider that these terminals were only installed a few years ago, ie when XP Pro or Embedded would have been the current flavour).......Windows NT 4 Workstation (SP6), that's what! :) Strange that they used an already dead OS isn't it? I think the machines did only have 128 MB Ram, perhaps they didn't want to buy more powerful machines just to run a more "bloated" OS? I suppose the security issues of an EOL OS don't apply if the machine's aren't on the internet, which they're probably not, only the internal network in the store I guess, although surely you couldn't even get NT licences from MS then. it was so old? Maybe they just bought some second-hand ones for pennies instead of spending a small fortune on XP licenses for all the Self Checkouts? Anyway, just something that interested me when I saw it :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS