Betaarchive on Nintendo DS browser

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Betaarchive on Nintendo DS browser

Post by Jeff »

Today i made a trip to walmart and decided to buy the newly released (in the US) Nintendo DS browser. I just wantedto report that BA looks great on it. In fact... I typed this message on it!
-Jeff

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

I think I speak for all of us here. This thread is useless without pictures.

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

longview wrote:I think I speak for all of us here. This thread is useless without pictures.
I was thinking the same thing .. I thought there'd be a screenie. But how would you take a screenie on a DS?
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

Duh. You hold it up to a scanner, print it out and place it on a wooden table, then you take a picture of it and post here.

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

Camera?

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

I meant like a native-resolution screenie .. of course you can take a photo of it or scan it or whatever, but how would you go about getting a native-res screenie on a DS I wonder?
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

If you had the patience I'm sure you could hack up something to grab the framebuffer of the DS. Or just get the signal going to the screen(s) off the bus.

ddrmaxromance
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Post by ddrmaxromance »

There are Nintendo DS Emulators out there. Finding the ROMs should be the difficult part though.

But yeah, just turn the flash off your camera and take a picture of the screen up close.
Since January 2005, I've been in the Operating Systems Prototype Community. I've enjoyed learning more these past four years about the development of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems, as well as learning of new user-based projects that optimize system performance.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Sure, I'll have the picture taken sometime thisafternoon. I would Have taken one when I posted it, but I was in bed, and couldn't get the camera from my Mom's purse at the time...
-Jeff

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Heres the pictures:

The Bottom screen is used for moving your zoom area
Image

The Top Screen:
Image

The Bottom Screen:
Image
-Jeff

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

At least it displays nicely It looks awful on my PDA which only has a 300x180 ish screen.

ddrmaxromance
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Post by ddrmaxromance »

I should probably take a screen-shot of BetaArchive on my Wii's Opera browser.
Since January 2005, I've been in the Operating Systems Prototype Community. I've enjoyed learning more these past four years about the development of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems, as well as learning of new user-based projects that optimize system performance.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

My PDA:

Image

Image

Image

Like I say, its not that good on the webpage side of things.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

I could take a picture on my wii too! What size tv do you have? If u use the hd feature, it would look a lot better than my tv...
-Jeff

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

At least it's better than the PSP browser. They should have used Opera or Firefox on it, also.

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

The PSP has a good browser, I think. Most sites look good on it. That gives me an idea, I might try BetaArchive on it (when I get my wireless working again )
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

Well IMO BetaArchive looks good in PSP. Better than on my phone

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

I talking mainy about that stupid keyboard thing. And there's the fact where it limits the amount of letters you can type in forms.
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

ZSS9393 wrote:I talking mainy about that stupid keyboard thing. And there's the fact where it limits the amount of letters you can type in forms.
Well... so my phone is better

srstakey

Post by srstakey »

Getting back on topic...yeah the browser does look nice, but I don't like the fact that you have to go online to get the edition that works with DS phat.

blahsucks-two
FTP Access
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Post by blahsucks-two »

I use Opera on my PDA, it renders okay-ish, but it has tabs, which is why I use it. Also, my last few posts were made from NT 3.51

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

Compact-mac wrote:The PSP has a good browser, I think. Most sites look good on it. That gives me an idea, I might try BetaArchive on it (when I get my wireless working again )
it works i post some things on it

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

Image

Hmmm, mobile phone browsing... :/
Samsung E350e w/Opera 4 Beta

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

WOW.....

ddrmaxromance
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Post by ddrmaxromance »

Basically, the Nintendo Wii "Internet Channel" is a custom build of the Opera browser. So really, the only neat feature about being on the Wii is looking at the toolbar at the bottom, and having your internet on TV!

Image
What it normally looks like when first visiting.

Image
Zooming into the bio text. You can make it as big as you want without any blotchy outlines on the text!

Image
The toolbar and showing how small the text is without zooming in.
Since January 2005, I've been in the Operating Systems Prototype Community. I've enjoyed learning more these past four years about the development of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems, as well as learning of new user-based projects that optimize system performance.

Locked