BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 5h, 26m | CPU: 51% | MEM: 5964MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it

PostPost subject: Corespeed not importantly ?        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:00 pm 
Hi Guy,

i want buy a new Computer, but I am a totally noob about DualCore CPUs.
The E6700 C2Duo is better then the Pentium D 925, but the C2Duo had 2,66 GHz and the D925 3,0 GHz. Why ?

I am completely confused.

PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:07 pm 
Donator

The Core 2 CPUs are based on a totally new microarchitecture, and that is why they're more efficient than the old Pentium (D) processors. And this is also the reason a Core 2 with a lower clock speed will outperform a Pentium D with a higher clock speed. So you can safely go for the Core 2 you were planning to buy.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:26 pm 
The Problem is, i am a gamer and on the packing stand mostly only the to used CPU speed. How is one to count there? We take an example:
Gothic 3, A German RPG needs at Athlon XP 3000+ or comparable Pentium IV (2.8 Ghz).

PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:58 pm 
Donator

The Core 2 Duo at 2.66GHz is a lot faster (and a lot newer) than a Pentium 4 2.8GHz, you'll have no problems running Gothic 3 on the Core 2 Duo. Plus since it's a dual-core processor, you will find that the computer is faster when running many things at once, because the computer has two processor cores (ie windows will see two processors).