BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 8h, 34m | CPU: 8% | MEM: 5551MB of 10706MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: New laptop temps        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:23 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
Hi

I recently got a new laptop : Fujitsu V3515 - celeron m 440 1.8ghz, 512mb ram, 60gb hdd.

I noticed the temps seem to be reaching 60'c (when on my knee) and 50-55'c when on the table literally within minutes of turning it on.

my gf has a p4m 1.6ghz which has currently been on for about 2mins and hasnt reached 40'c yet. although hers has speedstep and mine doesnt seem to. so hers runs between 800mhz - 1.6ghz and mine runs 1.8ghz all the time. could that explain the temps?

is it normal or should i worry?

thanks

hougtimo


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:39 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
149
I guess it is OK.

My 4 year old laptop reaches 50'C + once in a while, safetly without turning on any alarms, and I don't power save (unless it is the night and it is still on downloading).

Now, your laptop is new so it is bound to have new higher limits in terms of temperature, so it should be fine. Though I admit 60'C is a bit extreme, though safe.

For comparisons the laptop is an IBM Thinkpad T41 Centrino 1.4Ghz 768mb RAM

Edit: Just checked my manual and found out my laptop's maximum temperature is 35'C... but been running it at 50'C for years, so I guess it is OK... :?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:07 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Those temps are normal. Laptops can safely hit 80*c. Mine often hits 55*c and above.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:17 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Mine's always at that temperature or above - it's at 65 C right now.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:20 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Just noticed you said yours doesnt appear to have speedstep; try looking in the BIOS and see if it is enabled or not. It will be significantly better with it enabled but without it will always run at full speed. This will reduce battery life and make it run hot (which could also reduce service life).

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:47 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Celeron Ms don't have SpeedStep, they'll always run at full speed. That's why they are so much cheaper than Pentium Ms – they'll drain the battery significantly quicker.

I wouldn't worry though, my laptop has a Core Duo and at 200% (i.e. full) load the CPU can reach 75°C, it even reached 85°C once.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:48 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Thats why I like AMD's. You can use RMClock with them to lower the CPU speed lower than normal. Mine usually runs at 798MHz minimum but with RMClock it runs at 398MHz minimum. Runs cooler and the battery lasts longer too. Shame it only works on AMD though.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 6:13 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
Thanks for the replies....my mind is a lot lighter now :)

So there are no third party apps to enable a speedstep-type feature on the celerons? nevemind...4hrs battery aint too bad anyways.

HougTimo


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:26 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
hougtimo wrote:
Thanks for the replies....my mind is a lot lighter now :)

So there are no third party apps to enable a speedstep-type feature on the celerons? nevemind...4hrs battery aint too bad anyways.

HougTimo


Have you tried an app like SpeedSwitchXP? It lets you throttle down mobile Intel CPUs to whatever you want, though I'm not sure if it supports the Celeron. Might be worth giving a try.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:56 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Doesnt that program just load up the CPU to make it look like its running slower? Or am I thinking of another one?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:40 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
What SpeedSwitchXP does is it enables all power saving settings that the installed CPU supports. In XP, the CPU changes its frequency dynamically if it's supported. With SpeedSwitchXP, you can override this behaviour and set your own speed. It does not artificially load up the CPU.

However, SpeedSwitchXP relies on the CPU's support for frequency scaling. As the Celeron M has none, you'll probably be out of luck.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:48 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
This is what RMClock does but it does it much better. AMD seem to be the only CPU's with frequency/voltage scaling actually available to the user and not just the hardware.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:30 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:56 am

Posts
50
My laptop is always around 70 degrees and actually performs faster when it is hot


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:29 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Topic older than 1 month. Locked.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS