VirtualBox

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

VirtualBox

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

I've been looking at VirtualBox lately, and I'm impressed.

Image

It's an open-source free PC virtualiser/emulator, like QEMU but with more GUI. It has a lot of the nice features of VMWare, ie USB device support, Snapshots, and a feature where you can use Remote Desktop to connect to your virtual machines. It's proving to be quite nice, it certainly owns VirtualPC as far as snapshots and performance goes. I installed XP Pro in about half the time as VPC.

I thought I'd mention it here as it's a nice free alternative to pirating, erh, buying VMWare Workstation. I'm yet to try any betas in it, but it'll be interesting to see how well they run.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

hjort
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post by hjort »

Looks nice. can`t wait to try it out
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

I will have to check it out, looks cool.

BTW: VMWare Server is free alternative to VMWare Workstation containing almost the same features

idontknow
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Post by idontknow »

I used that in Linux, works very well. Really surprised (and somewhat scared) at the speed that XP booted in a Virtual PC environment.

Also tried it in Windows XP to replace Virtual PC, got an error when loading the Virtual PC so I gave up.

If I ever play around with Linux again, this software will definietly be installed.

dionet
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:06 pm

Post by dionet »

I use it, and it is very fast, but it isn't the best option to the betas that require bios date change.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Looks nice... I'll have to try to download and try it out soon!
-Jeff

Locked