BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 5h, 1m | CPU: 26% | MEM: 1820MB of 3185MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Fastest BETA you've tried        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:08 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Post the fastest BETA you've ever tried, the specs of the computer and why it's fast. (Unnecessary if you used a Virtual Machine).

OS: Windows Neptune
CPU: Pentium MMX
RAM: 32mb
HD: 2 gb
Video: S3 Trio 64
Boot up time: 27 seconds including BIOS.


Green: Later added text (edits made)


Last edited by mdogg on Sat May 19, 2007 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:11 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Neptune will be fast as I think it's basically just normal Windows 2000 with a few extra bits, whereas most betas are buggy things with lots of debug code etc, so are slower than a final OS.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:19 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
OS: Windows Whistler Build 2296 Advanced Server
CPU: Core Duo 1.83GHz (Parallels Desktop, VT enabled, acceleration set to High)
HD: 4GB (expanding image)
GPU: Parallels VESA
Boot time: From loader to desktop in less than 10 seconds

That's no big surprise, Parallels Desktop on OS X is amazingly fast on an Intel Mac anyway. XP boots in less than 10 secs too, it's way faster than VirtualPC or even VMware on the same hardware.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
XP boots in less than 10 secs too, it's way faster than VirtualPC or even VMware on the same hardware.

I'd say it's significantly faster than native hardware, let alone other virtual machines - my PC (and I assume most others) takes a good few seconds just to do the POST stuff. The clean installation of XP Pro SP2-slipstreamed that I put on recently takes at least 30 seconds from pressing the power button to a full desktop.

I'd be interested to hear how Vista performs in Parallels. Does Parallels have 3D support though or would you be Aero-less?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Windows Neptune uses hibernation to shutdown, or Power Off in Neptune's start menu, whether you like it or not. It doesn't even confirm if you want to log off or not. But it was the first viewing of the new Welcome Screen which in XP along with XP's new theme, made a lot of baby's computer lives a lot nicer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
mdogg wrote:
Windows Neptune uses hibernation to shutdown, or Power Off in Neptune's start menu, whether you like it or not. It doesn't even confirm if you want to log off or not.

Ah yes, I remember that now - it is very difficult to shut down for some reason! They have taken a similar approach in Vista of course, hiding the shutdown option in a tiny menu (on the default start menu) whereas they have a huge button for Standby. Vista doesn't ask for confirmation for logging off either, nor for shutting down if you use the default start menu - if you use the Classic Start Menu you do get a dialog when you select "shut down" as they have to present you with all the other options, the same as on XP.


mdogg wrote:
made a lot of baby's computer lives a lot nicer.

Lol, true! :lol:

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:33 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
I'd be interested to hear how Vista performs in Parallels. Does Parallels have 3D support though or would you be Aero-less?

Why didn't you ask that earlier? :wink: I've run several Vista and Longhorn Server builds in Parallels (in fact, every single one since build 5600). So here you go: With 512~768MB RAM allocated, it's quite fast, faster than my 1.5GHz Athlon XP, I'd say but it hogs one of the two cores completely, the one is always at 100%. Luckily you have the 2nd core still available to do other stuff outside of Parallels. Overall, it's not too bad. You don't get Aero Glass, you only get Vista Basic or whatever this is called (same in VMware, VirtualPC and the like).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
Why didn't you ask that earlier? :wink: I've run several Vista and Longhorn Server builds in Parallels (in fact, every single one since build 5600). So here you go: With 512~768MB RAM allocated, it's quite fast, faster than my 1.5GHz Athlon XP, I'd say but it hogs one of the two cores completely, the one is always at 100%. Luckily you have the 2nd core still available to do other stuff outside of Parallels. Overall, it's not too bad. You don't get Aero Glass, you only get Vista Basic or whatever this is called (same in VMware, VirtualPC and the like).

Hmm, guess I didn't think of asking earlier! I thought you said you had a special testing machine which was what you'd been trying Vista/LHS on, I didn't know you'd done much testing elsewhere. Euurgh, Vista Basic - since using Vista with Aero, Basic looks so horrible, it was a real shock going back to it when I tried that Vista Enterprise yesterday!

The two-core thing sounds good, as things can get a little slow when virtualising - do you reckon it would be a good idea to use Task Manager to make VMware use only one "core" of my P4HT or would that just slow everything down?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 1:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Windows Me 2525 on HP Vectra VEi8DT, 20 secconds with quick post.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 4:49 pm 
Reply with quote
neptune too

on a:

300mhz processor
64mb ram
4mb video card and 8gb hd(ntfs)

boot time: 40 sec.

i love this os :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 9:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Hmm, guess I didn't think of asking earlier! I thought you said you had a special testing machine which was what you'd been trying Vista/LHS on, I didn't know you'd done much testing elsewhere. Euurgh, Vista Basic - since using Vista with Aero, Basic looks so horrible, it was a real shock going back to it when I tried that Vista Enterprise yesterday!

Yep, I usually do/did the testing on the box in the basement (which doesn't support Aero by the way), but if I need(ed) it for something else or don't/didn't want to fiddle around in the cold basement (especially in the winter months), I just threw/throw it on the MacBook in Parallels or VMware. Yep, Vista Basic looks boring once you felt Aero once, I have to agree here. I was running Vista #5600 and #5728 natively on the MacBook and I have to say it was very speedy with the dual-core and 2GB of RAM.

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
The two-core thing sounds good, as things can get a little slow when virtualising - do you reckon it would be a good idea to use Task Manager to make VMware use only one "core" of my P4HT or would that just slow everything down?

I'd say leave it as it is. VMware supports SMP and does the load balancing by itself. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 2:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
OS: Chicago 490
CPU: AMD 3500+ x64...
RAM: 2gigs (not all supported)
HD: 10 gigs
Video: Some Old Diamond Viper
Boot up time: 12 seconds with BIOS done with stop watch...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
OS: Vista 5600
Ram: 512 MB
Processor: 1.6ghz
HD: 120 GB
Video: 128MB NVidia

I haven't really tested many betas... but this was the fastest that I have.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 8:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
OS: Windows Chicago 58s
RAM: 8Mbytes
HDD: 2048MBytes Fat16
Video: S3 Generic
Bootup Time: 12 Seconds


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 1:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
In fact, most of betas i've tryed worked fast. Well... maybe except Longhorns, early Vista builds and OS X 10 previev 3...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Windows Whistler Build 2296
256 MB Ram
30 Gig
Voodoo 3000

Haha, oooooooooold times.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 4:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
As far as VM 3D acceleration goes, it's coming along. Parallels 3 and VMware Fusion both have some variety of DirectX 8 (or something like that) acceleration, although it's still limited at this point. I expect that we'll have full Aero in less than a year.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:56 am 
Reply with quote
Windows Code Name Longhorn build 4074
256 MB ram
10 gigabyte
onboard graphics with 32 mb


! xDDD


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
Does a DOS beta count?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
How about the OSBA OS pre-alpha?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Neptune        Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:32 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
I'd have to say Neptune...even on standard hardware, it loaded faster than any OS I've ever used....at least beta wise. The Fastest final release was Windows 3.1. 9 seconds from power on-to-program manager (Including POST-check)

Neptune OS Boot specs:

AMD Atlhon MP (1.0GHz)
512MB RAM (DDR 266MHz)
60GB, 7200RPM IBM Hard Drive (NTFS Partition)
64MB nVidia ????

I believe boot-time was around 32 or 33 seconds. Very Nice.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Vista RC1        Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Processor: 1.6GHz Celeron M
RAM: 512MB
Video: ATI Radeon 200M
Hard Drive: 60GB

For some reason, RC1 booted MUCH faster on this system than RTM on my current, fairly high-end notebook....


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 26, 2007 2:31 am

Posts
257

Favourite OS
6.2 8102
Neptune is pretty fast but any pc today can run it fast. I would say vista 5112 is pretty fast.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Windows NT 4.0
ppc_digger wrote:
How about the OSBA OS pre-alpha?


Woah, did such a thing exist :? :o

_________________
My Website -
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Compact-mac wrote:
ppc_digger wrote:
How about the OSBA OS pre-alpha?


Woah, did such a thing exist :? :o

Yes, it was created by ppc_digger himself and based on Apple Darwin (hope I'm correct on that).


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS