BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 23h, 58m | CPU: 19% | MEM: 6137MB of 11141MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

How fast does the site load?
<1 second 39%  39%  [ 39 ]
1-2 seconds 29%  29%  [ 29 ]
3-4 seconds 20%  20%  [ 20 ]
5-10 seconds 7%  7%  [ 7 ]
11+ seconds 5%  5%  [ 5 ]
Total votes : 100
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Site speed        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 1:44 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hello all,

Since we have now moved to a new dedicated server, and everything works now (this is the second time ive posted this topic!), I thought it would be a good idea to set up the poll again.

Comments and questions welcomed as always.

Please state why it may be slow if you think its slow.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:08 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Your servers are still impossibly fast.
Slightly irrelevant, but the FTP server's amazing in terms of speed. I'm getting 320kb/s on a 2Mbit/s connection, which is theoretically impossible.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:10 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
It IS impossible. Max for 2Mbps is about 245KB/s. Id suspect you've been upgraded since you last checked you were on 2Mbps.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:29 pm

Posts
74

Location
Germany
Very fast, much better than the old server. :lol:


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:21 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
No, thats the point, Tiscali Refuse to Upgrade us.

here's an image.

Image

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:23 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You must be on 2.5Mbps as that goes with that speed almost perfectly.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:32 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yep, the site loads instantly.

As for the FTP server, I thought you said somewhere it is limited to 1Mbps per connection/user. Doesn't that apply anymore or am I mixing something up here?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:33 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
On the open account its limited to 150KB/s per account but if you go in through the private section and login with those details you can get upto 10Mbps.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Here's my fastest speed test:
Think Broadband

And I'm definately on the 2mbit package, as there is only 2mbit and 8mbit from tiscali, and we havent got that. Im thinking maybe the FTP client is supplying the speed wrong, as nothing else reports this. Ill try a different FTP client later.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:53 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Its a possibilty that you're on "upto 8Mbps" and it just so happens that 2.5Mbps is the fastest your line can cope with. Who knows. Could just be a client error like you said.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
It's definately not that the max is only 2.5, I know its 6.5mbit and thats the reason tiscali refuse to upgrade us.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 5:11 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
On the open account its limited to 150KB/s per account but if you go in through the private section and login with those details you can get upto 10Mbps.

Ah, okay. My bad then.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 28, 2007 3:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:33 am

Posts
170

Location
EV-ERY-ONE!

Favourite OS
IRIX 6.5.22
2-3 seconds for me. Pretty speedy!

_________________
IRIX enthusiast | OSBA refugee
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
48
2-3 seconds. It's speed truly depends on one's local connection though, which is good since that means that the site isn't the limiting factor. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 3:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:05 am

Posts
79
1-3 seconds over here. The new server is wicked fast!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:49 am 
Reply with quote
<1 sec :-)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
1-4 seconds here, although most of the time its 3-4

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:55 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
1-4 seconds here, although most of the time its 3-4


Odd. The server is US based, Sanfransisco.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Well, its probably a problem on my end, its usually around a 1 sec load with no "network traffic", but with heavy "network traffic" its slower, so i should have really said 1-2... but its too late now... :|


edit: plus it probably doesn't help that im about 2500 miles from the datacenter.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:00 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
Well, its probably a problem on my end, its usually around a 1 sec load with no "network traffic", but with heavy "network traffic" its slower, so i should have really said 1-2... but its too late now... :|


edit: plus it probably doesn't help that im about 2500 miles from the datacenter.


Im over 4000 miles with a ping of 160ms ;) Still <2secs for me most of the time, sometimes less.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
My ping is about 71ms. I guess im just not counting seconds correctly today. :wink:

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
I'm on dial-up. Everything's slow, but this page loads nicely. Good Job. :D

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
Andy wrote:
Jeff wrote:
1-4 seconds here, although most of the time its 3-4


Odd. The server is US based, Sanfransisco.

It loads in under 1 second most of the time for me, and I ping 32 to it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:52 pm 
Reply with quote
I'm on dsl 16.000 and it's really fast^^


Top
 PostPost subject: Load Speed...        Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 1:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
This forum is uncluttered and loads pretty fast... I surely hope it's always like this. Judging by the specs of the server, it doesn't need too terribly much to run either.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MunKeongSu and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS