BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 3h, 50m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 2881MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Awesome deal!        Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:41 pm

Posts
108

Location
Nova Scotia Canada
I was lending my P3 to a friend as some of you may know. But he liked it so much that when I went to take it back, he offered me $100CAD and a 3.6GHz Pentium 4 Hyperthreading that wont get past BIOS, and a P4 that shows black at boot. Good deal or what?
-Beta_Train


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:53 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Try to see if you can get the two things working but if you can't then don't take the deal because its always better to have something that works!

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:37 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm

Posts
316

Location
Your Closet

Favourite OS
Chicago build 34-had it :(
if it's a bios issue try flashing the bios chip, it might work, if you want, ill pay 50 dollars for the bios messed p4. Also tell your friend i have lots of p3's. I could give him one, but most of them are worth alot, i also got a p3 made in germany, it's only 500 MHZ


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:16 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Depending on the spec of the PIII I'd take it. $100 isn't *too* bad, and it's likely that unless the P4's been destroyed by massive electrical problems then it has salvagable parts and may even be easy to restore by reseating components...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:28 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Ive got a fair number of Slot 1 PIII's. Some of them even have 512KB cache which I find quite high for such an old CPU. One of these CPU's used to be my server. Worked great on the SCSI motherboard it goes onto.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:34 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I'd say it's definitely worth it as PIIIs aren't really worth anything these days (for instance I got a PIII low-profile HP PC from Freecycle a few weeks ago), so even ignoring the P4 PC that you're getting it's still quite a good deal!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm

Posts
316

Location
Your Closet

Favourite OS
Chicago build 34-had it :(
once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
A 486, yeah, on stock Vcore as well, probably... Seriously, I don't believe a single word of that.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
clt_42 wrote:
once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002


Details, then maybe I'll believe it.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
clt_42 wrote:
once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002

pix or it didnt happen

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:34 pm

Posts
39

Location
Poland
clt_42 wrote:
once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002


It's impossible, because 486 (Socket 3 boards) has max. 3x multiplier and max. FSB 50MHz (in most boards it's 33MHz), so max. speed is 150MHz.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 2:43 pm 
Reply with quote
I'd try out the P4's first and see what kind of problems they have. If its something that you can fix easily, sure...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:55 pm 
Reply with quote
HakerPL wrote:
clt_42 wrote:
once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002


It's impossible, because 486 (Socket 3 boards) has max. 3x multiplier and max. FSB 50MHz (in most boards it's 33MHz), so max. speed is 150MHz.

I currently own an Abit PB4 socket 3 mother board running an
AMD 5x86-P75 @133mhz
It runs at 4 x 33fsb, yet since the day I bought it I've been running it at
4 x 40mhz fsb @ 160mhz total, the most I have ever seen a socket 3
board run at was 200mhz using a genuine 5x86-P90 - 160 running 50fsb
instead of the default 40, though it didn't fire up everytime it was turned
on.
The cpu in question.
Another link for it

Perhaps he meant he overclocked it to 200 mhz, but again, it wont startup
on every attempt, 160mhz is the safest & most reliable overclocking, but
only if done with the board that supports the lower running voltage using
a genuine 133mhz cpu.
Sorry for the off topic post, just thought I'd point that out though.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS