BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 32d, 10h, 58m | CPU: 48% | MEM: 2449MB of 4081MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows Longhorn 4074 ?        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
Ok so i went to install 4074 and after about 10 mins with 15 mins left of step 2 i got the bsod. I get the option to continue install from the bootscreen and was wondering if it was normal to see this. Thanks if you can help.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:48 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes its normal to see continue install. Microsoft have made their installer quite well.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
ok thanks ill try to continue it later then. I just wanted to make sure it was normal because i dont wanna ruin my computer.

one other thing. I dont think it is a sata drive but was a workaround so it could be installed on sata ever found.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:36 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:58 pm

Posts
52
Hmm... I might try that. I know there was a workaround where you have to get another IDE/ATA drive.

Problem is, I don't have one.

I'll try this method, tonight.

-S


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:39 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:09 pm

Posts
42
is it or is it not possible to copy the contents of a hdd to another, including the boot records and registry files? if this is possible, then thats your answer right there.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, of course this is possible.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
If you get ATA drive try this: http://board.iexbeta.com/index.php?showtopic=33838

I know its for 4051 but should work with 4074 as well...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:40 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:58 pm

Posts
52
I'll try this when I get my caddie. I got a spare laptop IDE drive I can install LH on.

-S


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
It maybe that horrid *wim (or something like that) file that takes up like 600 megs...

Getting a BSOD on install is not normal :D

I would reccomend you try a different HCL

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:06 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Posts
73

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RC1 (Build 7100)
If you have VPC 2007 [it's free], try using your 4074 iso on that to see if it is the ISO that is the problem or your HD.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:40 am

Posts
345

Location
The Netherlands
you should try to install the ''Ultra version'' bug fixes are included in that one, but if you can't even install you should use those ata drivers first


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Instead of the "Ultra Version" stated above, i found that Longhorn R2 from JoeJoe.org works the best, it does everything of the Ultra Version and more.

You can also download it as an update, it will add a glass taskbar


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 9:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:40 am

Posts
345

Location
The Netherlands
The link at joejoe.org is down, so you can't download that one anymore..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 10:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
If Andy says this is OK on his server, I might get round to uploading it (4074 R2, that is).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 11:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I don't see why not.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Longhorn Reloaded install        Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:00 pm 
Reply with quote
I have spent many hours installing LHR on my old computer. The first problem was a TV tuner card. Once I removed this, I was able to finish the installation. The next hurdle was finding drivers for my nvidia GeForce 6200. I tried manually installing the latest drivers, however I kept getting error messages. I found some old nvidia 8422 drivers and now I have DWM working. The next problem was the sound card. It is built into the motherboard. It is a AC97 card. I was able to manually install the sound driver inf files that came with the motherboard. I now have 5.1 sound, however I have no system sounds. Both itunes and wmp 10 sound great. Firefox 2.0 would not install, however if you copy the Mozilla firefox over from an XP installation it works great. AVG antivirus works without any problems. I had a few problems in adding this machine to my home network, but finally figured it out. My next step is to install some software. If anyone knows how to get a Avermedia PCI 500 tuner card working and how to get system sounds please let me know. 8)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:30 am 
Reply with quote
empireum wrote:
If Andy says this is OK on his server, I might get round to uploading it (4074 R2, that is).


Sorry if this is a bump.

Have you done it yet m8? :roll:


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
q wrote:
empireum wrote:
If Andy says this is OK on his server, I might get round to uploading it (4074 R2, that is).


Sorry if this is a bump.

Have you done it yet m8? :roll:

No. But I think it's been uploaded by someone else. Anyway, you need to reach your 10 contributing posts to get access to the server first.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Yes, its listed as Longhorn Build 4074 Revision 2, i think

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Any diffrence between Longhorn Build 4074 Revision 2 and LHR        Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
Hey,

Is there any diffrence between Longhorn Build 4074 Revision 2 and Longhorn Reloaded from joejoe.org ?

I have LHR runinng here.. it works prety ok..

// Leon


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:00 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
A lot of revision 2 was morphed into LHR, though R2 is much better in terms of how finished it feels.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: hhmm.. maybe i should give it a try...        Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
1009

Location
Sweden

Favourite OS
OSX
hi,

I have been using Longhorn on my Compaq Evo n410c since it first came out, maybe i should give that 4079r2 a test, can it be found on one of the servers ?

// Leon


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm

Posts
316

Location
Your Closet

Favourite OS
Chicago build 34-had it :(
i remember some people on usenet groups had the longhorn ultra on a warez ftp


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS