Post your connection speed here!

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by Andy »

Just tell them BT probably upgraded the firmware and it reset it to default :P

meagain
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by meagain »

Andy wrote:Just tell them BT probably upgraded the firmware and it reset it to default :P
That could actually work, maybe I'll have to try it this weekend

Back on topic lol:
Image
- proxy used at school to bypass blocks on BA, reddit and the like (Psiphon). Had to route through Japan today, long story.
Any users with a KryoFlux in the UK: if you could dump some floppies if I send them to you, that'd be awesome. PM me.

mibrab
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by mibrab »

Image
Also known as Cvolton elsewhere...

gag2000
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:50 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by gag2000 »

Image

Windows OS
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:43 pm
Location: DLL Hell, United States
Contact:

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by Windows OS »

Fun fact: I'm moving soon, and AT&T offers GIGABIT INTERNET in some of the places we're looking at. Here's hoping that mah parents pick a place where Ma Bell can supply us with dat fiber for our internets.
Where was I? Anyway, here's my current Speedtest:
Image
Do Not Make Illegal Copies Of This Signature.
YouTube | Twitter | BA Wiki | BetaWiki

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by ovctvct »

Windows OS wrote:Fun fact: I'm moving soon, and AT&T offers GIGABIT INTERNET in some of the places we're looking at. Here's hoping that mah parents pick a place where Ma Bell can supply us with dat fiber for our internets.
Where was I? Anyway, here's my current Speedtest:
Image
Wow, saw your signature, you're lucky, my current speeds are ~90 Mbps(both upload and download), not bad but probably due to the fact I don't have a gigabit card(100Mbps only), only a gigabit router, and worse, I don't have usb3 ports so I'll need to get one and a USB3 gigabit card before I can go above 100MBps. But still good speeds compared to what others have :P And my ISP won't provide anything above 100Mbps even tough they have fiber(but IDK if it's gigabit fiber or just 100Mbps fiber).
Image

meagain
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by meagain »

Image

Finally reset my BT router admin password and got powerline up to my room, where it then goes into a D-Link router re-purposed as an access point / ethernet switch. Doesn't seem too bad for Fast Ethernet (only BT router is Gigabit). Port forwarding still doesn't work.
Any users with a KryoFlux in the UK: if you could dump some floppies if I send them to you, that'd be awesome. PM me.

computebrute
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:00 am
Location: us

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by computebrute »

Image

Download speed great, upload speed meh.
Image
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by ovctvct »

computebrute wrote:Image

Download speed great, upload speed meh.
I could never understand why upload speeds are always much below download. I get 90 Mbps on both, including upload(even without gigabit connection), which seems unusual? Or maybe because my network card is limiting it to 100Mbps because that's what it's capable of?(lol, my net was supposed to be 50 Mbps but of course it's much faster than that, it's probably 50 MBps=400Mbps).
Last edited by ovctvct on Sat Sep 10, 2016 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

computebrute
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:00 am
Location: us

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by computebrute »

I pay for 200m download and 15m upload so this is actually better than what I'm supposed to get.
Image
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by ovctvct »

Me too... btw how much does it cost? Mine costs about $13 equivalent per month. I guess my ISP was confusing Mbps with MBps, because, when I did a test with a gigabit laptop, it jumps over 100MBps... who knows? Of course not the 50 Mbps it was supposed to be.
Last edited by ovctvct on Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Wheatley
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: shell32.dll

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by Wheatley »

ovctvct wrote:I could never understand why upload speeds are always much below download.
Because typical consumers don't really need high upload speeds. However, on connections intended for different kinds of customers, this isn't necessarily the case.
Last edited by Wheatley on Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?

computebrute
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:00 am
Location: us

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by computebrute »

Well, I pay $207 per month. It's worth it if you ask me.
Image
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by ovctvct »

computebrute wrote:Well, I pay $207 per month. It's worth it if you ask me.
Wow. You won't believe how cheap internet is there. A gigabit(1000Mbps) connection only costs $11 there(yeah, my ISP is far more expensive compared to others, but I have no choice). And my $13 connection also includes TV cable.
Offtopic Comment
Is it just me or are offtopic posts actually counted now?
Wheatley wrote:However, on connections intended for different kinds of customers, this isn't necessarily the case.
Probably it's not an "usual" consumer connection, as some people there are having public FTP servers. BTW I also can't understand why some PC manufacturers still sell PCs without gigabit ports today(mine for example lacks one), since gigabit ports should be the de-facto standard today.

EDIT: My internet is now 200Mbps but I STILL can't reach that, thanks to my "fast" ethernet card and those [censored] who still sell PCs with 100 Mbps cards...
Last edited by ovctvct on Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

Andorria
FTP Access
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:04 pm
Location: Belfort, France

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by Andorria »

Image
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by ovctvct »

I've just done a wireless speed test- and it's- in short- unbelievable!- it peaked at 110 Mbps download and ~99 Mbps upload...(can't post screenshot, tested on a Lumia 550 but it's no lie) Not bad for wireless N @ 450 Mbps wifi speed. Of course my router is gigabit, and my net is ~200 Mbps.Probably one of the (few) cases when wifi is faster than ethernet...
Image

winlego3210
FTP Access
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:56 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Post your connection speed here!

Post by winlego3210 »

Image
Image
x86 assembly: imperial
68k assembly: metric

Post Reply