BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 58d, 23h, 17m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 5046MB of 11987MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 592 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 24  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
2M/512 -- ****ing slow DNS...

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
Since I couldn't find my post for school.

Country: USA
Provider: College
Max Download Speed: 50Mbps
Max Upload Speed: 50Mbps
Cost Per Month: Free!
Download/Upload Limits (if any):... who knows.

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:05 am 
Reply with quote
Country:France
Provider:Free o_O
Max Download Speed: 15mbits
Max Upload Speed:1mbits
Cost Per Month:30€uros (38$)
Download/Upload Limits (if any):none


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 1:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:34 pm

Posts
697

Location
NY, USA

Favourite OS
Win 10 64-bit
Country:England
Provider:British Telecommunications (BT)
Max Download Speed:786.6 KB/sec
Max Upload Speed:46.3 KB/sec
Cost Per Month:around £40.00
Download/Upload Limits (if any):Unlimited


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Country: US
Provider: Comcast Cable
Max Download Speed: Supposedly 6mbps
Max Upload Speed: Supposedly 1mbps
Cost Per Month: something (its bundled)
Download/Upload Limits (if any): 250GB cap, shaping doesn't seem to happen anymore
Image

My lowly server in Pennsylvania:
Image


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:08 am

Posts
819

Location
Malaysia
Provider: TMNet
Max Download Speed: Supposedly 1mbps
Max Upload Speed: Supposedly 512kbps
Cost Per Month: USD$26
Download/Upload Limits (if any): Torrents/p2p throttled, constant disconnection issues, and unstable speeds to local/international sites

I wish I lived in USA and got 50mbps Internet for free, thank you. :oops:

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
Updated speed statistics, after getting a new router and a new modem:

Country: UK
Provider: Virgin Media
Max Download Speed: 20mbits
Max Upload Speed: 0.7mbits
Cost Per Month: About £30
Download/Upload Limits (if any): Unlimited

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:57 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:34 pm

Posts
697

Location
NY, USA

Favourite OS
Win 10 64-bit
This one was better than my last:
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:35 pm 
Reply with quote
I love my uni net connection:

Image

So much better than what I've got back at home (two cans and a piece of string, aka dialup on a rural phone line "maintained" by Tel$tra....)


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:50 pm

Posts
64

Location
France

Favourite OS
7601
My new (not so new but I forgot to post it :D) 2048/128 (ISP information) connection :

Country: France
Provider: Free (Iliad)
Max Download Speed: 2106 Kbps
Max Upload Speed: 136 Kbps
Cost Per Month: something like €35
Download/Upload Limits (if any): None

Image

_________________
Sorry for bad english i'm french :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
cyclops25503 wrote:
So much better than what I've got back at home (two cans and a piece of string, aka dialup on a rural phone line "maintained" by Tel$tra....)


That's an insult to two cans and string - they're more stable :P
Uncles farm has a 20kbps dialup connection on a phone line thats been above ground for ~5 years. Gogo telstra

...and heres my ADSL2+ which has gone to shite the last few months

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Image
Finally fast internet connection :P

but the upload will be cropped to 256kb/s ASAP :(


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:47 pm

Posts
910
Country: Germany
Provider: Deutsche Telekom AG (T-Com & T-Online)
Max Download Speed: 1.328 kbit/s
Max Upload Speed: 164 kbit/s
Cost Per Month: ca. 40 €
Download/Upload Limits (if any): Unlimited

It's too expensive for this crappy speed. :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:51 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Image
Virgin prepaid Wireless Broadband, speed is pretty sporadic at times, I reached 280KB/s before so not all bad.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Alexsis, does VPBB suck? I'm thinking of buying it...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Always been very weary of pre-paid wireleas broadband, not cheap...
Still, Virgins prices are way better than Optus's.

Gotta read the fine print on the Virgin page though:
Quote:
Proof of ID required. Data includes uploads & downloads. Monthly limit & Acceptable Use policy applies. 1/2 GB starter allowance has 30 day expiry. Peer to peer speed limited to 32kbps. Modem is network locked and can be released after topping up with $80. Broadband speeds are available in Optus 3G/HSPA coverage areas. Outside these areas you will connect to the Optus GPRS network at slower speeds. See virginbroadband.com.au/coverage


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:10 am

Posts
96

Favourite OS
haiku
Australia
DODO internet
$100 AUD per month
12/12 100gb peak 100gb offpeak
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
happy dude wrote:
Alexsis, does VPBB suck? I'm thinking of buying it...


I haven't had it for that long only a couple of days, but from my personal experience with it so far it is actually quite stable and quick; no lag, disconnects or sub-standard speeds (I.E 1KB/s).

But you have to also take in the fact I live only less then 200 metres or so away from 4 different Telecom towers, so the congestion and signal strength doesn't have much of an affect on me.

Just like a Mobile Phone (which the modem basically is), you have to check whether your area is heavily planted, the distance from the tower, HV Power Lines, population density and etc.

The only downside I can see is the expensive topup cards with small BW limits...I have the Virgin Usage Monitor on my second LCD to keep an eye on my usage...and also the Data Modem is locked to the damn network, I wanna use my Telstra NextG Sim in it because it gives me free net access between 9:30PM and Midnight :(

Edit: PS - I hit 360KB/s earlier this morning!

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
For starters, Virgin - Optus, any company that leeches/uses Optus' network will work in the modem (same with phones)

As to unlocking it, try dc-unlocker.com and install the free software. It'll tell you if it can unlock it. I don't know if it gives you a price but just ask support [that's what I did]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Posts
1237

Location
Milky Way Galaxy

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2012 Dtc
Country: (United States and Japan (have houses in both, will specify the highest speeds)
Provider: Forgot
Max Download Speed: Theretical: 100 MBPS Actual: 70 MB/s
Max Upload Speed: Theretical: 30 MBPS Actual: 20 Mb/s
Cost Per Month: HUGE amount i think $500 for one house
Download/Upload Limits (if any): None

_________________
See my profile for my website link.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:51 pm

Posts
98

Location
Estonia

Favourite OS
Win8
Country: Estonia
Provider: Elion Enterprises Limited
Max Download Speed: 16Mbit/s
Max Upload Speed:768Kbit/s
Cost Per Month: 38.27USD/29.1€
Download/Upload Limits (if any): 12Mbit/768Kbit

When I'm downloading, then usually it bypasses download limit to 13.8Mbit/s (sometimes I've got 16Mbit also).
Actually, it also depends if I'm watching TV or not (my ISP is offering IPTV).
I am satisfied with download, but upload is poor.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
IsaacD wrote:
words!


Well I ordered the SIM last night, lets hope it comes before Friday...

Also need to source a 3G modem when I can be bothered,


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
DoDo ADSL (Don't say a word), 100/100GB | 1.5/256
Image

Happydude, if it was a Virgin Sim...I have the modem here still.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Yeah it was a Virgin SIM but I cant be bothered getting a modem right now.. got some Nokia that tethers with 3G fine.

I'll get one eventually... maybe when Optus' new 900Mhz is built in the places with no coverage where I need it

Also Dodo? Someone cheaped out :/


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Post your connection speed here!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Yeah I know, I cheaped out this time around, but alas it works so that's all that really matters at the moment.

With the modem, would of sent it off to ya for nothing, it was going to either go across the road to see if one of my neighbors wanted it (it's new; the modem), or if you wanted it, either way it's up to you. :)

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 592 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 24  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS