BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 17h, 51m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 2764MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Annother Bluescreen        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:18 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Online

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
well as you might know I work at a super market, this being the co-op. Well i was there today, and came to work on the tills and noticed this.

Image

Lol. well the IT people came today, and it was sorted with a restart lol.

Here a few of the screens with the boot log and the windows logon.

Image

Image

Notice the Embedded.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, I kinda expected this thing to run Embedded :) And this reminds me of the fact I'm still looking for a copy of NT Embedded...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Online

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
well i think that doesn't exist as I was in morrisons which is a super market with a similar system in there cafe. Well the machine crashed on me, and she rebooted it and it loaded up and it was windows NT 4.0. No embedded .

Sorry


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
NT Embedded 4.0 does exist, I have a thin client running it. But I am searching for the Embedded Studio & stuff to build my own image. Some time ago someone was selling that on eBay, but I couldn't win...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
:lol: funny, but it is better when everone can see it (like a big billboard)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2627

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
hi
do any of you have windows embedded

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Ha! i am also looking for NT Embedded. I have a thin client that runs it and i dont know the password to it, so i'm hoping to reinstall NT.

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:16 pm

Posts
60

Location
Sweden
kichimi wrote:
Ha! i am also looking for NT Embedded. I have a thin client that runs it and i dont know the password to it, so i'm hoping to reinstall NT.

I too am looking for it :) Most ATM machines belonging to Swedbank seem to be running it. Withdrawing cash pretty much sums up my experiance with the OS. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
remember people, this isn't the request forum


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
kichimi wrote:
Ha! i am also looking for NT Embedded. I have a thin client that runs it and i dont know the password to it, so i'm hoping to reinstall NT.


You could probably reset the password on it if you want to be able to use it without reinstalling it - try one of those WinPE-based repair CDs, they usually have a utility that resets NT passwords.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
kichimi wrote:
Ha! i am also looking for NT Embedded. I have a thin client that runs it and i dont know the password to it, so i'm hoping to reinstall NT.


You could probably reset the password on it if you want to be able to use it without reinstalling it - try one of those WinPE-based repair CDs, they usually have a utility that resets NT passwords.

And how would you use that on a thin-client without a CDROM drive and the ability to boot from an external one? Reinstalling on a thin client is not an option either... :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am

Posts
361

Location
China

Favourite OS
Win2000
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BSOD


http://zh.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?tit ... iant=zh-cn

A bunch of BSOD photos.... :lol:

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
empireum wrote:
And how would you use that on a thin-client without a CDROM drive and the ability to boot from an external one? Reinstalling on a thin client is not an option either... :wink:


Rip the HDD out, put it into another machine, Ghost it as a backup in case something goes wrong, then boot from a NT password reset disk. That could work, not entirely sure. Or you could maybe boot via PXE (over the network).

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS