BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 26d, 13h, 51m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 2265MB of 3957MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: I Clicked too far        Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Image

Um, what the hell happened to my desktop icons, i need them!.

The story was: i found somthing called iColorFolder on my pc, i didnt know what it was, but it looked and sounded good. so i installed it, and away went my desktop icons. and uninstalling and rebooting several times didnt work, any ideas?

Also, they seem to work fine when i browse in list + detail veiw

Thanks, Ki-Chi-Mi

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:40 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Lol, weird issue.

Moved to Operating Systems Support

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:43 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
149
I don't know how to solve this, but the software you installed is only for XP, from looking at the screenshot that is Windows 2000 (unless you installed an amazing shell patcher, or did it yourslef).

Try recopying some of the icons dlls (shell32.dll, explorer.exe), just a guess...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:58 am 
Reply with quote
If it is Win2000, have you pressed the "Show Desktop" link yet on the
taskbar, your link to it looks as thought it's the far left button...

Image


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 6:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Weired, because now those icons have dissapered, when reinstalling the icons appere for about 10 seconds and dissapere just before the end of the install process.

I guess i should check out what these apps do before i run them :oops:

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
This is just a stab in the dark but maybe if you install tweak UI for Win9X/Win2k and then go to the repair section and then click rebuild icons.
That may work it's just my guess :P.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am

Posts
723

Favourite OS
SVR 2012R2/Win10
there's a few ways to fix this. you can try and delete this file:
C:\Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data\IconCache.db

Or you can do the tweakui approach, or use Dial-a-Fix's approach, which is the same as the tweakui approach... or google a way to rebuild the icon cache.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
You can also try to delete the file "ShellIconCache" (don't know where it is, may need to search for it).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
I think it was somthing much much worse. I turned it on this morning. it took 15 mins to load (it usually takes about 5) when it loaded it was so slow and i couldnt run basic apps like taskmanager. then i got the runbox up and everything was bold, out of proportion and the fonts took no effect (for example, the down arrow was a '6'"

After another reboot thinking it was a fluke, the same but much worse, the background didnt load, the windows 2000 on the logon screen was just a black space and the fonts took no effect again. the caption buttons dissapered. and at the at point i shut it down. installed 2000 next to the other OS, backed everything up and its as good as new. i think it may have been a virus :lol:

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:06 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 pm

Posts
53

Location
255.255.255.0
Yeah sure sounds like a virus!! I'd reformat and use XP if at all possible because XP still has support from Microsoft and has Windows Updates. Windows 2000 doesn't. And Windows XP is waaay more secure. But if you have to get Windows 2000 again then get a good stable antivirus like AVG or Kapsersky and then get a good firewall like ZoneAlarm, Kero, Comodo, Tiny, etc.

Then get some AntiSpyware protection like a few good ones are Ad-Aware, CounterSpy, SpywareBlaster, Spybot SD, Spyware Terminator, Spyware Catcher and Zero Spyware.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Windows 2000 is still supported. It's entered the Extended Support period where security patches are still provided. It'll stay like that until 2010. And why should XP be "waaay" more secure? Win2k has Windows Updates, too, btw.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
0vermind wrote:
Yeah sure sounds like a virus!! I'd reformat and use XP if at all possible because XP still has support from Microsoft and has Windows Updates. Windows 2000 doesn't. And Windows XP is waaay more secure. But if you have to get Windows 2000 again then get a good stable antivirus like AVG or Kapsersky and then get a good firewall like ZoneAlarm, Kero, Comodo, Tiny, etc.

Then get some AntiSpyware protection like a few good ones are Ad-Aware, CounterSpy, SpywareBlaster, Spybot SD, Spyware Terminator, Spyware Catcher and Zero Spyware.

It actually ran XP on it for a while and it coped really well. Far better than 2000 did.
I would like to put it back on but i lack a copy of XP home (Ive got two free license's for it) or a CD-RW to burn a cd of it :(

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
I have had it on Me, System Restore didnt do anything just a BSOD (Well no surprises there) I had to reinstall it from DOS.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:34 am 
Reply with quote
Did you right click your destop and uncheck the "show icons" option by any chance. Otherwise I would backup your stuff and run a repair on it.


Top
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
B-Man wrote:
Did you right click your destop and uncheck the "show icons" option by any chance. Otherwise I would backup your stuff and run a repair on it.

1. This option would make all icons and their text invisible, not just their icons.
2. It has been solved – well, kinda, by a reinstall...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Problem solved, topic locked.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS