BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 21h, 57m | CPU: 31% | MEM: 4986MB of 10951MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:06 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 pm

Posts
53

Location
255.255.255.0
How do you enable the specail boot screen that is in Longhorn 4074 and Longhorn 4093?? It's the animated one...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: WOW!!        Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Awsome guide. And it works too. This is the best!!!!!


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
@0vermind: You have to enable the lddm Drivermodell, the lddm effects, and the animated bootscreen. that is not hard... you can do this with one reg file... i'll pm it toyou if you want to. further you have to have an special graphiccard with lddm drivers, and do not try the good old beta1 ones, they wont work...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Thanks! Looks nice on my 4074.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 pm

Posts
53

Location
255.255.255.0
Aww man so only a specail card can support it?? What how hard is it to support a bootscreen like that?? I mean I have a heavy duty nVidia Graphics Card won't that work?? It's a FX 5200.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:57 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
To enable LDDM on Longhorn 4074, you can only use intel's integrated grantsdale-g graphics board which I think is the GMA900. And I am not kidding; ATI and nVidia did not have any drivers at the time 4074 was released.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
thats true.. there are only the drivers which are integrated, and that are drivers for intelcards.... so no way to get it... :(


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
btw, it could be possible to activate dwm on 4093... you do not need the sbctl, the exe just starts the effect... Alphaaddict has made an app similar to the darkside dwm activator, so anyone could try that...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:17 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:09 pm

Posts
42
great, now i can reinstall it again.
which was the last version of longhorn that supported intel 900/915 gfx for aero?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
aero yes, but not the lddm, btw has anyone 4093 installed, if yes pleas run:
rundll32 c:\windows\system32\uxdesk.dll, DwmStartComposition
that runs dwm


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
I'm wondering, why don't we have any screen shots?

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
I just say there was an 43xx build that DWM..


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 2:42 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
There was no Longhorn 43xx build.
The 4xxx trunk stopped at 4094 (never leaked).
The last leaked build was 4093.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:27 am 
Reply with quote
I have 3718, and often enable DWM, I have it on my laptop wich has a Mobility Radeon 9700 video card, so it should work. Anyways, it doesn't last for long. After a few seconds it goes back to normal.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
4093 has dwm if you add the sbctl and some other files
4039 has dwm to start the same comand as in 4074


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 2:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Windows NT 4.0
empireum wrote:
Quote:
And the 4074 is so buggy. After nabling the DWM I don't see the Content of a Window, only the animation when minimizing/maximazing the Window.

Did you check if installing the Longhorn 4074 ULTRA Edition patch (available on AeroXP in the Longhorn tweaks thread, it's the download link on page #4) contains some fixes for that? Besides that, I think 4074 is one of the best Longhorn builds.


Can I have a link, since the full glass with explorer working and glass taskbar would be awesome in my 4074 :P

_________________
My Website -
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:40 pm 
Reply with quote
are there any screenshots of 4093 with DWM enabled? are there any specific requirements for this?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:55 pm

Posts
772

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
Sorry, I am a newbie, what is DWM??

Thanks for the post!!


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:47 am 
Reply with quote
UltimateGTR wrote:
Sorry, I am a newbie, what is DWM??

Thanks for the post!!


DWM=Desktop Window Manager
DCE=Destkop Compisition Engine

that are the early Aero Interfaces ;)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 7:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:57 pm

Posts
900

Location
Florida

Favourite OS
Windows 7
hey this is my first post...


nice guide props dude...

my question is will the trick to

disable the DWM hardware trick work in RTM?


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:13 pm

Posts
79

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 R2
4094
had DWM
ran perfect


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:29 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
win2k8man wrote:
4094
had DWM
ran perfect


4094?
I think you mean 4093.

Or is there a build with 4094.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:35 am 
Reply with quote
DjRob wrote:
win2k8man wrote:
4094
had DWM
ran perfect


4094?
I think you mean 4093.

Or is there a build with 4094.


there is a 4094 too but unleaked...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
angelwolf71885 wrote:
my question is will the trick to

disable the DWM hardware trick work in RTM?


no, this trick only worked till Build 5270

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: FULL DWM and Yes, AERO in LH 4074 with DX8 card        Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:02 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:44 am

Posts
129

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
modern NT and Unix
Just for your info :

Longhorn 4074 has FULL DWM - that includes AERO ( transparent Windows ) as well as transparent Taskbar/Sidebar - that stuff is pretty hard to find and it is hidden. Also you need to choose the Jade theme ( it wont work on "slate" ) and have that sidebar ENabled.

Allt these effects run on a Geforce 4200Ti, 128MB ( DX8 ) .

Every time it comes to hardware questions on older OS the answer is :

Just set your pc up with components that were "common" back then, not too old, but not newer than maybe two/three years off that release.

Longhorn 3xxx/4xx is based on XP 2600, so no SP2 featueres,no security, no S-Ata etc.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS