BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 18h, 42m | CPU: 82% | MEM: 5947MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
Afaik is Build 5048 the first Vista Build. At the date of the compilation of Build 4093, MS decided to restart the Projeet on the base of Win2k3.

Any ideas what is the requirement to see the Animation effects in Build 4015:

http://emo.toastednet.org/iex_lh/Demos/ ... _files.exe ?

I've installed it and how can I see this?

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:50 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
PS: Do you happen to know which was the last 5xxx build still called "Windows Code Name Longhorn"? And which was the first build called Vista? I've seen screenshots of 5112, some say Longhorn, some say Vista Beta 1 :? :? :?


5048 was completely "Longhorn" branded, although is of course not really LH (it's the first 5xxx ie post-reset build released). 5112 was the next build released outside of MS and was the first to mention "Vista" (the name was announced in between those 2 builds), 5112 of course being the Vista Beta 1 milestone. 5219, the next public build after 5112, was all "Vista", so 5112 possibly had a bit of both.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
The neat thing is that I have two screenshots from 5112 (maybe their tag is different), one says "Windows Codename Longhorn" in the lower right corner, the other says "Windows Vista Beta 1". Weird... I have a 5112 ISO here but haven't installed it yet to check. I had 5048 running some time ago, it said Longhorn everywhere, but as it was the 1st build after the restart, it didn't offer much.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
empireum wrote:
Weren't at least the effects in 4074 also usable with a DX7 card? So I suppose 3718's are usable with a DX7 one as well.


If that's true, someone should try getting them going in VMware using that "Experimental 3D support" thing or whatever it's called - I tried it with Vista but it didn't offer me Aero, as I think only a DX8 card is emulated, Aero needing DX9. I would try it but I don't have those builds installed any more, and the old ones take forever to install in a virtual machine :(

I installed 3718 in VPC and got the effects, and i guessed that it emulates a dx8 card


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
___ wrote:
I installed 3718 in VPC and got the effects, and i guessed that it emulates a dx8 card


really? I've also installed it on VPC first, but I can't see the effetcs, even if I turn them on in the advanced graphics options :cry: :cry:

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
VPC doesn't emulate a DX8 card, it emulates a really old S3 Trio32/64 card that even NT 3.5x can recognize, i.e. this card was already available in 1995. By then, they didn't even think of DX... Maybe the VPC "card" has some additional features, but it's certainly no DX card, I think..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
what about with the VPC additions?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
___ wrote:
what about with the VPC additions?


The most VRAM you can have with Additions is still only 16 MB I think, and it's still some old S3 card (not sure if it's better than the non-Additions card though). It's still not a 3D card though. VMware emulates something similar, unless you enable the "experimental 3D support", in whcih case you can get a 128 MB DX8 card.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I don't think the additions do something about the card either. All they do concerning the video "card" is installing a driver when your Windows version doesn't have one (have experienced that with Vista IIRC), enabling the "captureless" mouse pointer (means you can drag the mouse pointer out of the VM window without having to press a key combination) and enabling some custom (mostly widescreen) resolutions up to 1920 by 1200.

I think for the 3D effects, VMware with the experimental 3D support enabled is your best bet to get it to work.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i must have actually installed it then cause i remember using them


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:59 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I did actually get the transparency and minimise/maximise effects kind of working on 5048 in Virtual PC, just by setting the registry values that enable them, so it may have been possible that you found a way to do the same in 3718. I got the blue stars thing in 4074 too, but no transparency or anything.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
My ATI Radeon 9500Pro is a Dx9 Card so I shoud be bale to see all effects. This sounds like a driver issue. Hmm, I will try VMWare with 3D support.

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:26 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Luckie wrote:
My ATI Radeon 9500Pro is a Dx9 Card so I shoud be bale to see all effects. This sounds like a driver issue.


Natively, yes. Not in a virtual machine of course, as they emulate their own graphics cards, even with the "experimental 3d support" in VMware I think.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Luckie wrote:
My ATI Radeon 9500Pro is a Dx9 Card so I shoud be bale to see all effects. This sounds like a driver issue.


Natively, yes. Not in a virtual machine of course, as they emulate their own graphics cards, even with the "experimental 3d support" in VMware I think.


I know, but I installed 3718 and 4074 on a old small hdd but I don't see the effects :cry:

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:12 am 
Reply with quote
i cant find "
3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window "

in 3706!


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Namronia wrote:
i cant find "
3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window "

in 3706!

That's because only 3718 has dynamic composition control (ability to turn it on or off).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:39 pm 
Reply with quote
ok, thx!


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:02 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
3706 does not have DCE ready to activate, but microsoft could had included some codes of DCE. We do know what microsoft have for this build so if you want DCE, you'll need 3718.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Add DWM parts of 4074 to 4093?        Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
What would happen if I copy the parts that are used for DWM and add them to 4093? (sbtcl) I could use Alpha Addict's Smart Sbtcl...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:21 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
no idea. Did you try it?

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:08 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
nope, i just downloaded good old 4093 again, and It always says that an error occoured while setup copied files:(


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
If anyone could help me with the install problem on LH 4093, i'd try to get dwm there...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:51 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Ludacris wrote:
If anyone could help me with the install problem on LH 4093, i'd try to get dwm there...

Not possible anyway. It was removed from that build.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:05 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
Hmm.. What happenes if I add the DWM parts?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Ludacris wrote:
Hmm.. What happenes if I add the DWM parts?

How would you know what they are? Besides most files don't work on other builds other than the one they came from.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS