BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 20d, 16h, 10m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 5817MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Since a lot of you guys probably have lots of old computers and PSUs, I though you might like this simple guide for converting ATX PSUs into regulated lab power-supplies!

Image
This is my attempt, took about 3 hours at school to do.

Link to guide (WikiHow)

More technical details

In my version I moved the 120mm fan to the outside to make room for extra wires and future expansion, I used a 7W 8,7 Ohm resistor over the 5V rail and cable ties, since it's actively cooled there's no real risk it'll overheat.

Specs (in theory) for my 350W:
3,3V - 22A (72W)
5V - 21A (105 W)
12V1 - 10A (120W)
12V2 - 15A (180W)
-12V - 0.3A (~4W)
Notes: the load on the 3,3 and 5V rail must not exceed 130W in total

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:37 am

Posts
131

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
7600 x64
You did this at school? :o I never learned anything like that at school. Haha.
Maybe because my school sucked, but thats besides the point. ^^


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12456

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
He did it at school because they had the equipment to do it (soldering iron etc). It wasn't a school project.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:37 am

Posts
131

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
7600 x64
Makes sense. Still better than my school though, they thought Vinegar and Bicarbonate of Soda was GCSE level Chemistry. Hah.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Actually I had a day off today, I came in specifically to do this.

I even got the PSU from school, we threw out a lot of old computer stuff earlier this year.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:28 pm

Posts
22
I actually did this too about a month ago. I used a generic PSU that came with my old Dell. I believe it was about 250 watts. I'll take pictures and put them up in a few hours, when I get home.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Hmm, interesting. I'd read Dell supplies often use non-standard colour codes, did you run into any problems with that?

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:28 pm

Posts
22
I actually did. The 5V and 3.3V on the motherboard power connector were strange colors. I just went online and found the wiring guide for the connector to the motherboard. Another thing that went wrong was I wanted to have a positive and negative 5V line, but the Dell power supply did not have a negative 5V line at all. The place on the connector did not have a wire going into it. So I just settled for 3.3V, 5V, postive 12V, and negative 12V.

And as promised, a picture:
Image

Note: The PSU case is grounded, so that is why there is a connector on the case, but the black connector thingy on top is also a ground.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Nice work!

As mentioned in one of the links I posted the -5V rail was removed from the ATX PSU spec years ago, an older supply might have it though.

If you really want a -5V you could install a L7905 and drive it off the -12V rail, it shouldn't be a problem installing and cooling it.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:28 pm

Posts
22
Thanks! The PSU was around 5 years old so I thought it might still have the -5V line, but unfortunately it did not. I usually just use a voltage divider to get the exact voltage I need anyways. The only other thing I wish I had done was put an on/off light because the PSU is so darn quiet sometimes I can not tell if it is on or off.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
I've seen numerous tutorials for this on the net, but this is one of the most complete. Do you think I could do this with a 100W MicroATX PSU?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12456

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
nookupeous wrote:
I've seen numerous tutorials for this on the net, but this is one of the most complete. Do you think I could do this with a 100W MicroATX PSU?


You can normally do this with any PSU.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
Andy wrote:
nookupeous wrote:
I've seen numerous tutorials for this on the net, but this is one of the most complete. Do you think I could do this with a 100W MicroATX PSU?


You can normally do this with any PSU.


Cool, thanks for the help. Now, just to clear something up, the only real difference between ATX and microATX is the size right? Like all the wires on the plugs and such are the same.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Converting a ATX PSU to a Lab PSU [Soldering, external link]        Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12456

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I'm pretty certain that's correct, yes.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS