BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 8h, 3m | CPU: 99% | MEM: 6466MB of 11306MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Activating the Administrator Account in Vista        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:24 pm 
Reply with quote
No more UAC messages when you turn it off!


Step 1:

Go to Start Menu -> All Programs -> Management -> Computer Management

Image

Step 2:

Expand the Group "Local Users and Groups" and click on "Users".

Image

Step 3:

Right Click on the User "Administrator" and open the Properties.

Image

Step 4:

Uncheck the "Account is deactivated" checkbox and close the dialog.

Image

Step 5:

Close the Management Console. You're done!

Don't know if this was posted here before, if yes, feel free to close the topic!

greetz

destiny


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:19 pm

Posts
66
I thought we could do that by just typing uac in control panel search


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
You can turn off UAC in the controlpanel.

Its much safer to turn of UAC then using an Administrator account.
When not using UAC with a normal user it is the same as a normal ''administrator'' user account in XP.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:56 pm 
Reply with quote
You could do that in the cp, but if you do it like this then you don't get the messages that UAC is turned off and you should turn it on. This guide is just for the ones who dont like the messages.

greetz

destiny


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
destiny wrote:
You could do that in the cp, but if you do it like this then you don't get the messages that UAC is turned off and you should turn it on. This guide is just for the ones who dont like the messages.


You can turn that off in the Security Center ;)

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
hounsell wrote:
destiny wrote:
You could do that in the cp, but if you do it like this then you don't get the messages that UAC is turned off and you should turn it on. This guide is just for the ones who dont like the messages.


You can turn that off in the Security Center ;)

Yes, Vista requires quite a lot of things turning off in order to get it from its out-of-the-box state to a usable state... ;)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
hounsell wrote:
destiny wrote:
You could do that in the cp, but if you do it like this then you don't get the messages that UAC is turned off and you should turn it on. This guide is just for the ones who dont like the messages.


You can turn that off in the Security Center ;)

Yes, Vista requires quite a lot of things turning off in order to get it from its out-of-the-box state to a usable state... ;)

Agreed, especially UAC was driving me nuts initially.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
UAC never really bothered me. There is that rare moment that it takes a minute for the message to pop up, but besides that, I'm really not bothered.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:28 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Its easier than all that group policy faff, just open a command prompt and type;

net user administrator /active:yes

Ive come across a couple of applications that simply will not run without at least being run once from the Administrator account, stupid, but thats the way it goes sometimes.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS