BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 7h, 42m | CPU: 8% | MEM: 5559MB of 10782MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:46 pm

Posts
292
OK, it's very simple to start. You just only have to now what register is and what happens when you do something wrong.

Let's start:

1. Go to Start > Run > regedit.exe
2. When ready go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
3. Click on the Desktop key.
4. Search for PaintDesktopVersion
5. Change the value to 1
6. Close the Register Editor
7. Log off, end explorer.exe or just Restart Windows to apply the changes.

When done, you see in Right Top of the Taskbar this:

Windows [VERSION][EDITION]
Build [BUILDNUMBER].[SERVICEPACK]_gdr.[SERVICEPACKVALUE] ([SERIVEPACK])

OK, I hope this help you. You just can go to Start > Run > winver. There you will find it too.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
dexter152 wrote:
OK, it's very simple to start. You just only have to now what register is and what happens when you do something wrong.

Let's start:

1. Go to Start > Run > regedit.exe
2. When ready go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
3. Click on the Desktop key.
4. Search for PaintDesktopVersion
5. Change the value to 1
6. Close the Register Editor
7. Log off, end explorer.exe or just Restart Windows to apply the changes.

When done, you see in Right Top of the Taskbar this:

Windows [VERSION][EDITION]
Build [BUILDNUMBER].[SERVICEPACK]_gdr.[SERVICEPACKVALUE] ([SERIVEPACK])

OK, I hope this help you. You just can go to Start > Run > winver. There you will find it too.


Already here:
[url]
http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3640[/url]

And some of your explaining is wrong.
Example XP Professional:

Windows XP Professional (still good)
Build 2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254 (Service Pack 2)

Build 2600.xpsp_sp2_ (good) but gdr is NOT a fixed setting and your missing YY-MM-DD-HH-MM and then Service Pack 2 is good.

Y = Year
M = Month
D = Day
H = Hour
M = Minute

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
As DjRob said, you have some corrections to make:


Not everyone has _gdr, for example mine is
Build 2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300 (Service Pack 2)

Oh and The [SERVICEPACKVALUE] is actually Y-M-D-H-M ok.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:16 am 
Reply with quote
I guess the build number is given by ntoskrnl.exe (or other equivalent kernel files like ntkrnlpa.exe, ntkrpamp.exe, ntkrnlmp.exe).


Quote:
GDRs (General distribution release) are new means of providing support. GDR fixes are reserved for those issues identified by SQL Server support as important enough to install on every instance of SQL Server.

QFEs are used for the majority of fixes where the effects of the problem are not widespread or severe enough to warrant a GDR.


so if you install an hotfix containing these files (like KB950162, v5.1.2600.5586 for sp3) if these files are copyed from gdr folder you'll have a gdr version, otherwise, if they are copied from qfe folder "qfe". In both cases you'll have a new build number given by these files.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:05 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
07 - Y 2007 Year :?: hmm.. Maybe I wrong reading...

_________________
I don`t know what i am looking :P
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:40 pm 
Reply with quote
never knew this! thanks!


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:03 am

Posts
18
How could this be of use? Are there different builds of official OEM Windows out on the market? I've always kind of wondered that. For example, could there be more than one build of Vista released to the public for sale, or is the initial build sold to the public that only one (with service pack exceptions, of course)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
nfaze wrote:
How could this be of use? Are there different builds of official OEM Windows out on the market? I've always kind of wondered that. For example, could there be more than one build of Vista released to the public for sale, or is the initial build sold to the public that only one (with service pack exceptions, of course)


It's just if you want to see the build number on the desktop like Alpha/Beta/RC's.

And there is 1 build available for the public after RTM.
Like Vista:

Vista Build 6000 (RTM).
But there can be different versions like Starter/Home Basic/Home Premium/Business/Enterprise/Ultimate and more.
But the code is the same.

And there can be different types of CD/DVD, like:
OEM = for Laptops and complete PC's you buy in the store (not handmade) from Acer/HP.
Retail = Only CD/DVD you buy in the store.
VLK = Volume License Key, for company's that need many Windows installations done (many workstations) then you can install Windows with only this key and it's pre-activated.

And new to Vista/Server 2008.
KMS = Windows needs to be activated ones in every 180-days with an special activation server.

But there are more then here noted.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:35 am

Posts
1107

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune Build 5111
anyone know how to get the build number of an os that isnt installed (ie disk only)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Check the setup.exe...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Or one of it's DLL's...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:49 am 
Reply with quote
J.Byrne wrote:
Or one of it's DLL's...

well, this is not always the best choice, if, for example dlls are from older builds, setup.exe is usually the best choice ;)


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:33 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Yeah, but theres only one setup.exe, easy to fake/have replaced for whatever reasons.
For Vista/7, it'd be better to open up Install.wim and check a few random DLL's.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:27 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Namronia wrote:
J.Byrne wrote:
Or one of it's DLL's...

well, this is not always the best choice, if, for example dlls are from older builds, setup.exe is usually the best choice ;)


In most of the cases the kernel images (NTOSKRNL.EXE, NTKRNLMP.EXE, NTKRNLPA.EXE & NTKRPAMP.EXE) have the correct file version number too...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Get build in Windows with a non-beta version        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:46 pm

Posts
292
I never thought one of my first (old) topics would be bumped and showed up in the forum listing (again)......


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS