BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 13h, 24m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 1889MB of 3369MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [Windows] Downloading Firefox (US)... without a browser        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
The title may sound a bit strange, but here's the deal: I recently set up Windows FLP without IE and forgot to make Firefox available offline. So I had to download it, but I didn't have a browser to do that. Solution: FTP.

Fire up the Command Prompt (Start/Run, "cmd", ENTER) and then enter these commands, each followed by ENTER:

Code:
ftp
open ftp.mozilla.org
user anonymous
pass xy@xy.xy
cd /pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.5/win32/en-US
binary
get "Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"

Wait until the ftp> prompt reappears, then close with:
Code:
quit
exit


The file will have been downloaded to \Documents and Settings\<YourUserName>. The path given above downloads the English Windows version of Firefox 2.0.0.5, if you want another version, another language version, or if you run another OS, you'll have to assimilate the path and the file name accordingly.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Thats pretty sweet

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Well... in FLP you can open ANY folder and type http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
It worked for me... Just because IE is still sitting there..


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
This could be useful for OPENSTEP, I have a browser (OmniWeb 3) and wget there now but I had to make a ISO with them to make it work.

FiFi: Yeah, but I think there's an option to completely remove it. IIRC this also disables stuff like help and those neat folder-options on the left.

Bit of a catch-22 if you only have one boxen availible, unless you included wget you can't download this guide so you can download Firefox (Opera) to view this guide...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Posts
400
Is there anyway to create an automatic batch file so when loaded, it automatically connects to the server and disconnects when the file is downloaded?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
troyoda1990 wrote:
Is there anyway to create an automatic batch file so when loaded, it automatically connects to the server and disconnects when the file is downloaded?


Code:
echo Getting Firefox!
ftp -s:%0
goto done
open ftp.mozilla.org
anonymous
lolnobody@hotmail.com
binary
cd /pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.5/win32/en-US
get "Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"
bye
:done

"Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"


It even runs the setup once it's done. :D

EDITED: Left an extra line in there that wasn't needed. To use this, copy it into notepad and save it as something like getfirefox.bat

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Last edited by pr0gram the pr0grammer on Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I don't think this will work, have you verified it? ftp won't accept the file without errors as it contains "illegal" commands, and what about the "del script.txt" command? If you name your file script.txt, it won't be executable. I'd rather do it this way:

Code:
@echo off
echo Getting Firefox...
echo open ftp.mozilla.org > script.tmp
echo anonymous >> script.tmp
echo lol@private.com >> script.tmp
echo binary >> script.tmp
echo cd "/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.5/win32/en-US" >> script.tmp
echo get "Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe" >> script.tmp
echo bye >> script.tmp
ftp -s:script.tmp
del script.tmp
"Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"


Save it with a .bat (all MS-DOS/Windows systems) or .cmd (NT only) extension and you're done.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
empireum wrote:
I don't think this will work, have you verified it? ftp won't accept the file without errors as it contains "illegal" commands, and what about the "del script.txt" command? If you name your file script.txt, it won't be executable. I'd rather do it this way:

Code:
@echo off
echo Getting Firefox...
echo open ftp.mozilla.org > script.tmp
echo anonymous >> script.tmp
echo lol@private.com >> script.tmp
echo binary >> script.tmp
echo cd "/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.5/win32/en-US" >> script.tmp
echo get "Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe" >> script.tmp
echo bye >> script.tmp
ftp -s:script.tmp
del script.tmp
"Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"


Save it with a .bat (all MS-DOS/Windows systems) or .cmd (NT only) extension and you're done.


I tried a similar method, however the FTP app kept asking for a password, even though it was supplied. Not sure what happened there...

My script does work: the FTP program gets passed the batch file itself as its script. The first few lines of non-FTP commands it just gives a "bad command" error, then it processes the others up until the bye command. FTP disregards the rest of the script. Meanwhile, the rest of the script runs in CMD because it jumps over the FTP commands.

This site has a better explanation of what i'm trying to say :P


I must have accidentally left del script.txt in there from when I was trying to do it like you just posted, my bad. :P I'll fix that now.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
I tried a similar method, however the FTP app kept asking for a password, even though it was supplied. Not sure what happened there...

My script does work: the FTP program gets passed the batch file itself as its script. The first few lines of non-FTP commands it just gives a "bad command" error, then it processes the others up until the bye command. FTP disregards the rest of the script. Meanwhile, the rest of the script runs in CMD because it jumps over the FTP commands.

This site has a better explanation of what i'm trying to say :P


I must have accidentally left del script.txt in there from when I was trying to do it like you just posted, my bad. :P I'll fix that now.

Okay, this sounds like a good reason to use your script. :) Thanks for the explanation but I can perfectly understand what your script is doing as I'm quite familiar with batch scripts myself :wink: Yep, the "del script.txt" was just intriguing me as it would just have complained about the missing file. Maybe we should run ftp with ">NUL" because that would get rid of the error messages due to the wrong commands (but this will be muting all errors then).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
troyoda1990 wrote:
Is there anyway to create an automatic batch file so when loaded, it automatically connects to the server and disconnects when the file is downloaded?


Code:
echo Getting Firefox!
ftp -s:%0
goto done
open ftp.mozilla.org
anonymous
lolnobody@hotmail.com
binary
cd /pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.5/win32/en-US
get "Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"
bye
:done

"Firefox Setup 2.0.0.5.exe"


It even runs the setup once it's done. :D

EDITED: Left an extra line in there that wasn't needed. To use this, copy it into notepad and save it as something like getfirefox.bat


This works.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:48 am 
Reply with quote
Oddly enough, I can't tell you how many times I've had to do that.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:18 am

Posts
39
you saved me dude


x132412312312 thnx


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
I've had to do that a couple of times.

-Twice, on virtual NT 3.51s (unmountable)
-Once, on Haiku (with wget)
-Once, on Windows XP lite (not sure which one)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri May 25, 2007 5:07 pm

Posts
14
That's real neat. But doesn't Windows always keep a copy of the Internet Explorer, so you can browse websites through your normal explorer window?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:50 pm 
Reply with quote
nice, i might try this on an old box i have. ditching ie saves room, but forgetting to make firefox accessible kinda negates that extra fiddle room


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:28 am

Posts
333

Favourite OS
Windows 7
warbird wrote:
That's real neat. But doesn't Windows always keep a copy of the Internet Explorer, so you can browse websites through your normal explorer window?


From my experience with FLP,

when I tried to go to www.google.com it just closed out the window..thats it.
So either its blocking IE from accessing web or explorer.exe is using a stripped down version of IE..

..but thats just my opinion..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:37 pm

Posts
75
Mozilla has an FTP server? Dang, how'd I miss that?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Mac OS X has a similar FTP command, so you can do this same technique if you want in the OS X Terminal. Also when the FTP command asks for a password you don't actually have to put anything in and it will still log you in.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:13 pm

Posts
130

Location
France
HubmaN wrote:
Mozilla has an FTP server? Dang, how'd I miss that?

Yes, like Netscape in its time ...
Microsoft also have a FTP.
But it hasn't been updated recently.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:03 am

Posts
18
Awesome. I really needed this and couldn't find out for the life of me last week. Great find!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Downloading Firefox (US)... without a browser        Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:14 pm 
Reply with quote
That's just plain cool. But I don't see why you couldn't use IE.


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Downloading Firefox (US)... without a browser        Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Theres an option in Windows FLP installer that won't install IE, so the OS is installed without a browser.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Windows] Downloading Firefox (US)... without a browser        Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:06 am 
Reply with quote
awesome nice trick


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS