[TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Tutorials for Operating Systems, Applications etc can be posted here.
plastic8
FTP Access
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am
Location: France

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by plastic8 »

hi, i'm just a new member from France (sorry for my english), and i tryed to install Longhorn 4074 as a VM in Virtualbox 3.2, using the date bios setting VBoxManage modifyvm 7121dd50-f955-4f92-8157-f789b0d2d818 --biossystemtimeoffset 198460800000. The command works but after the step 3, the VM reboot again and again at the beginning of the install.Did i missed something to run this wonderful OS in Virtualbox or is the .iso's corrupt ? Thanks a lot.

Spider-Vice
Donator
Posts: 1377
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Spider-Vice »

Longhorn 4074 has magic as it doesn't need a BIOS date. Just install straight away.

plastic8
FTP Access
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am
Location: France

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by plastic8 »

thanks for your response. i'd tried but it didn't work on Vbox until i made that to change the bios:

VBoxManage modifyvm 7121dd50-f955-4f92-8157-f789b0d2d818 --biossystemtimeoffset -198460800000

now, it works perfectly, but i've gotba new problem, the network driver (emulated by virtualbox: pci fast3 ethernet controller) isn't recognized.

Level69chad
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2233
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Level69chad »

Try a different network controller, since Longhorn 4074 is an early alpha and may not work with all hardware devices, due to driver limitations. You can't expect Beta or Alpha builds to work with everything.

Hope this helps
Image

plastic8
FTP Access
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am
Location: France

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by plastic8 »

That's what i did and now, it works fine on Vbox. Now, 58 days left to discover this amazing OS...better than XP, better than Vista.

Shadowww
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:54 pm

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Shadowww »

effy11 wrote:Shame, this method doesn't work in the latest release :/
It does here. Try editing .xml instead of issuing VBoxManage command maybe?

plastic8
FTP Access
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am
Location: France

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by plastic8 »

...works fine now, i've patched it with a different winlogon.exe to replace...for informations, ccleaner and clamwin runs on Longhorn without problems. see u soon. thanks for all...

Windows XP
FTP Access
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm
Location: U.K.

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Windows XP »

Thanks for the tutorial. I hope when I manage to get some beta builds of timebombed OSes, I'll find this really handy.
Inactive. I also don't have anything ROBLOX-related, anymore. Please don't ask.

FoobyZeeky
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, England, UK
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by FoobyZeeky »

Saul wrote:Shame, this method doesn't work in the latest release :/
It did for me.
sup

plastic8
FTP Access
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am
Location: France

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by plastic8 »

hi,

i've got a stange problem, i can't install Longhorn 5048 (x86) on Virtualbox 4.04, its starts installing and then i've a display crash...i didn't have that problem before with Virtualbox 3.xx. did someone else got the same problem ? before installing, i've prepared the partition using GParted. i run VBox on a Dell Studio with ATI Radeon graphic card (256 Mb). thanks to all.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Rob Jansen »

I recommend that you uninstall Oracle VirtualBox 4.0 and install the latest Oracle VirtualBox 3.x release.

If you want to install Beta's, install Oracle VirtualBox 3.x
(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x).

Windows XP
FTP Access
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm
Location: U.K.

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Windows XP »

Rob Jansen wrote:I recommend that you uninstall Oracle VirtualBox 4.0 and install the latest Oracle VirtualBox 3.x release.

If you want to install Beta's, install Oracle VirtualBox 3.x
(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x).
I have Whistler 2410 installing, high colour, bios time offset set back...
in VirtualBox 4... No problems. But VBox is not the best for betas, at all... I'd recommend DOSBox or Virtual PC for anything that recognises an S3 video card.
Offtopic Comment
(By the way guys, I'm friends with FoobyZeeky, he was annoyed when BA was DDoSed.)
Inactive. I also don't have anything ROBLOX-related, anymore. Please don't ask.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Rob Jansen »

As I said and I quote:
ME wrote:(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x)
Read that and especially read the bold part.
I never claimed that everyone has problems, most people have problems.

As I would recommend:
- Microsoft Virtual PC 2004/2007 (some will work in both, or just one of them) with the MS-DOS Based (1, 2, 3), 9x Based (95, 98, Me), NT Based from 3.1 until somewhere around XP Beta 2.
- VMWare Workstation 4/5/6/7 (I use 7.1.3) for some NT's that do not work in VPC 2004/2007 and from Windows XP Beta 2 and above (where VGA.DRV SYS works with the SVGA of vmware)

For if both do not work, Bochs or Qemu (if you can understand Qemu)
Offtopic Comment
And what about it... It is not something special.

The Windows geek
User avatar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:20 am

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by The Windows geek »

Thanks! Now I know a little more about the BIOS in Virtualbox. I use Virtualbox a liitle, but most Virtual PC!

KnucklesARouge
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 4:11 am

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by KnucklesARouge »

I just got the newest beta of VirtualBox (aero, yay!) and I'm planning to install betas on it, so this should be handy.
EDIT: Doesn't work on new VirtualBox :(

mixcat
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:34 am
Location: Kissimmee FL
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by mixcat »

awesome... Thanks for posting this.. Works for me.
Image

Check out my Tech How tos on Youtube
http://youtube.com/mixcatcom
My Websites
http://rebootit.biz
http://mixcat.com

qazmko1029
FTP Access
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:36 am

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by qazmko1029 »

I always change my computer's time to set the bios clock.. :OD

cantasan99
FTP Access
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:37 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by cantasan99 »

Change the date in Windows. All programs take date from Windows. But this tutorial is good. And my solution is simple, but you must set the date again and again...
Image

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by AlphaBeta »

cantasan99 wrote:Change the date in Windows. All programs take date from Windows.
...and Windows takes date/time from BIOS.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

cantasan99
FTP Access
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:37 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by cantasan99 »

Windows 7 has a magic, it can keep date I set.
Image

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!

Wheatley
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: shell32.dll

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Wheatley »

cantasan99 wrote:Windows 7 has a magic, it can keep date I set.
Windows 98 has the same "magic" as well, as it probably updates the bios clock on most systems.
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?

x010
Staff
Posts: 1084
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by x010 »

That wouldn't work for me.
I found that you had to use this command to make it work.
vboxmanage setextradata <vmname> “VBoxInternal/Devices/VMMDev/0/Config/GetHostTimeDisabled” “1″
(where <vmname> is the name of the VM)
and you can directly change the date and time in the VM itself.
It works for almost all builds(except 4066).
The major downside is that it resyncs the time whenever you power off and start up the VM again.

flicktrace75
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:59 am
Location: Paranaque City, Philippines

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by flicktrace75 »

I agree to DBlake. It still works in Oracle VM VirtualBox 4.2.14 with the VirtualBox Extension Pack (download it from the VirtualBox website and double-click the extension file and wait for a few seconds) I have tried DBlake's method with Virtual PC 2007, VMware Workstation 9 and VirtualBox.

flicktrace75
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:59 am
Location: Paranaque City, Philippines

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by flicktrace75 »

It also works in Oracle VM VirtualBox and Sun VirtualBox.

Epic_Gamer_2000
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:12 pm

Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox

Post by Epic_Gamer_2000 »

What command would you use in terminal on mac hosts? :)

Post Reply