BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 9d, 11h, 55m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 5174MB of 11231MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am

Posts
24

Location
France

Favourite OS
8.1 Enterprise
hi, i'm just a new member from France (sorry for my english), and i tryed to install Longhorn 4074 as a VM in Virtualbox 3.2, using the date bios setting VBoxManage modifyvm 7121dd50-f955-4f92-8157-f789b0d2d818 --biossystemtimeoffset 198460800000. The command works but after the step 3, the VM reboot again and again at the beginning of the install.Did i missed something to run this wonderful OS in Virtualbox or is the .iso's corrupt ? Thanks a lot.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 2:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Posts
1377

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Longhorn 4074 has magic as it doesn't need a BIOS date. Just install straight away.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 3:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am

Posts
24

Location
France

Favourite OS
8.1 Enterprise
thanks for your response. i'd tried but it didn't work on Vbox until i made that to change the bios:

VBoxManage modifyvm 7121dd50-f955-4f92-8157-f789b0d2d818 --biossystemtimeoffset -198460800000

now, it works perfectly, but i've gotba new problem, the network driver (emulated by virtualbox: pci fast3 ethernet controller) isn't recognized.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:56 pm

Posts
2222

Favourite OS
Windows Chad Edition/macOS Chad
Try a different network controller, since Longhorn 4074 is an early alpha and may not work with all hardware devices, due to driver limitations. You can't expect Beta or Alpha builds to work with everything.

Hope this helps

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am

Posts
24

Location
France

Favourite OS
8.1 Enterprise
That's what i did and now, it works fine on Vbox. Now, 58 days left to discover this amazing OS...better than XP, better than Vista.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:54 pm

Posts
11

Favourite OS
7600
effy11 wrote:
Shame, this method doesn't work in the latest release :/
It does here. Try editing .xml instead of issuing VBoxManage command maybe? :S


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am

Posts
24

Location
France

Favourite OS
8.1 Enterprise
...works fine now, i've patched it with a different winlogon.exe to replace...for informations, ccleaner and clamwin runs on Longhorn without problems. see u soon. thanks for all...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm

Posts
512

Location
U.K.
Thanks for the tutorial. I hope when I manage to get some beta builds of timebombed OSes, I'll find this really handy.

_________________
I don't have anything ROBLOX-related, anymore. Please don't ask.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:54 pm

Posts
1798

Location
Cambridgeshire, England, UK

Favourite OS
Arch Linux
Saul wrote:
Shame, this method doesn't work in the latest release :/


It did for me.

_________________
sup


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:58 am

Posts
24

Location
France

Favourite OS
8.1 Enterprise
hi,

i've got a stange problem, i can't install Longhorn 5048 (x86) on Virtualbox 4.04, its starts installing and then i've a display crash...i didn't have that problem before with Virtualbox 3.xx. did someone else got the same problem ? before installing, i've prepared the partition using GParted. i run VBox on a Dell Studio with ATI Radeon graphic card (256 Mb). thanks to all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I recommend that you uninstall Oracle VirtualBox 4.0 and install the latest Oracle VirtualBox 3.x release.

If you want to install Beta's, install Oracle VirtualBox 3.x
(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm

Posts
512

Location
U.K.
Rob Jansen wrote:
I recommend that you uninstall Oracle VirtualBox 4.0 and install the latest Oracle VirtualBox 3.x release.

If you want to install Beta's, install Oracle VirtualBox 3.x
(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x).

I have Whistler 2410 installing, high colour, bios time offset set back...
in VirtualBox 4... No problems. But VBox is not the best for betas, at all... I'd recommend DOSBox or Virtual PC for anything that recognises an S3 video card.

Offtopic Comment
(By the way guys, I'm friends with FoobyZeeky, he was annoyed when BA was DDoSed.)

_________________
I don't have anything ROBLOX-related, anymore. Please don't ask.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
As I said and I quote:
ME wrote:
(Most people have problems with Beta's in Oracle VirtualBox 4.x)

Read that and especially read the bold part.
I never claimed that everyone has problems, most people have problems.

As I would recommend:
- Microsoft Virtual PC 2004/2007 (some will work in both, or just one of them) with the MS-DOS Based (1, 2, 3), 9x Based (95, 98, Me), NT Based from 3.1 until somewhere around XP Beta 2.
- VMWare Workstation 4/5/6/7 (I use 7.1.3) for some NT's that do not work in VPC 2004/2007 and from Windows XP Beta 2 and above (where VGA.DRV SYS works with the SVGA of vmware)

For if both do not work, Bochs or Qemu (if you can understand Qemu)

Offtopic Comment
And what about it... It is not something special.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:15 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:20 am

Posts
11

Favourite OS
Build 7601 SP1
Thanks! Now I know a little more about the BIOS in Virtualbox. I use Virtualbox a liitle, but most Virtual PC!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 09, 2010 4:11 am

Posts
421

Favourite OS
they're all beautiful
I just got the newest beta of VirtualBox (aero, yay!) and I'm planning to install betas on it, so this should be handy.
EDIT: Doesn't work on new VirtualBox :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:34 am

Posts
16

Location
Kissimmee FL

Favourite OS
Windows 7
awesome... Thanks for posting this.. Works for me.

_________________
Image

Check out my Tech How tos on Youtube
http://youtube.com/mixcatcom
My Websites
http://rebootit.biz
http://mixcat.com


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:20 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:36 am

Posts
120

Favourite OS
4074
I always change my computer's time to set the bios clock.. :OD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 8:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:37 pm

Posts
884

Location
Istanbul, Turkey

Favourite OS
...And ReactOS For All
Change the date in Windows. All programs take date from Windows. But this tutorial is good. And my solution is simple, but you must set the date again and again...

_________________
Image

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 8:33 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
1911

Location
Czechia
cantasan99 wrote:
Change the date in Windows. All programs take date from Windows.

...and Windows takes date/time from BIOS.

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 2:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:37 pm

Posts
884

Location
Istanbul, Turkey

Favourite OS
...And ReactOS For All
Windows 7 has a magic, it can keep date I set.

_________________
Image

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 8:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:19 pm

Posts
1820

Location
shell32.dll
cantasan99 wrote:
Windows 7 has a magic, it can keep date I set.


Windows 98 has the same "magic" as well, as it probably updates the bios clock on most systems.

_________________
Windows Defender for great justice! Bugs are an international trading company. I need to defeat the anti-debugging and obfuscation methods. It wasn't for Intel's absurd ability to load in ie6. Why even waste time with people in an envelope?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:46 pm

Posts
965
That wouldn't work for me.
I found that you had to use this command to make it work.
vboxmanage setextradata <vmname> “VBoxInternal/Devices/VMMDev/0/Config/GetHostTimeDisabled” “1″
(where <vmname> is the name of the VM)
and you can directly change the date and time in the VM itself.
It works for almost all builds(except 4066).
The major downside is that it resyncs the time whenever you power off and start up the VM again.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:59 am

Posts
13

Location
Paranaque City, Philippines

Favourite OS
Windows 8.1 Preview
I agree to DBlake. It still works in Oracle VM VirtualBox 4.2.14 with the VirtualBox Extension Pack (download it from the VirtualBox website and double-click the extension file and wait for a few seconds) I have tried DBlake's method with Virtual PC 2007, VMware Workstation 9 and VirtualBox.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:09 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:59 am

Posts
13

Location
Paranaque City, Philippines

Favourite OS
Windows 8.1 Preview
It also works in Oracle VM VirtualBox and Sun VirtualBox.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [TUT] Set the BIOS clock back in VirtualBox        Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 3:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun May 24, 2015 3:12 pm

Posts
2

Favourite OS
Windows Longhorn Build 4074
What command would you use in terminal on mac hosts? :)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS


Affiliate