Run Mac OS on PC

Tutorials for Operating Systems, Applications etc can be posted here.
Locked
Tom Stanley

Run Mac OS on PC

Post by Tom Stanley »

This is very useful, if it works, I managed to get it to work using VMWare, but it was very slow!

http://dilnalomo.googlepages.com/

Could be very useful for those reluntant to get a Mac!

Tom

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

Ahh yes, I remember this, I was around in jolly '05 when the first hacks came around.

I suggest you repost the articles here with proper citations and copyright notices to avoid the link dying .

And yes, it is entirely possible to run Mac OS X in VMWare and on PCs

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Just to say it: The whole OSx86 thing is illegal, and posting links to the Install DVD images is as well. Links to tutorials are okay though, I suppose.

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

Why there's no Vista + XP + Longhorn + OS X
Anyway, i got gotesecx and JaS releases working fine in that combintation

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

FiFi: Because Vista + XP + Longhorn = Mac OS X

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

FiFi wrote:Why there's no Vista + XP + Longhorn + OS X
Anyway, i got gotesecx and JaS releases working fine in that combintation
Because such a setup is not significantly harder/different to install than a simple XP/Vista + OS X setup.

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

try Fedora 7
install Gnomedock and Beryl
you got the eyecandy of OSX and Vista with the security, speed of Linux... and install wine and you can run windows apps on it too

This is fairly old news...
under vmware 6 I still can't manage to get the bridged internet to work
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

spaceship9 wrote:under vmware 6 I still can't manage to get the bridged internet to work
It works in 10.4.1 for me - I think you have to install a driver inside OS X for VMware's ethernet card.
Image

expert01
FTP Access
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Post by expert01 »

I had OSX installed a while ago on my main PC. Only thing was that I couldn't find a NIC driver for it...

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
spaceship9 wrote:under vmware 6 I still can't manage to get the bridged internet to work
It works in 10.4.1 for me - I think you have to install a driver inside OS X for VMware's ethernet card.
I did try via Vmware.. didn't work
and the only other driver available was for Vmware 5.x, not 6
plus the version number doesn't read 10.4.1
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

rip_noob

Post by rip_noob »

Spaceship you should aquire a newer version.10.4.1 is like a beta or something.I am sure you can install it on vmware.I have installed natively and virtually osx on pc hundreds of times.In fact i am using 10.4.7 now.

sonicridersuser

Post by sonicridersuser »

We can try PearPC here:
pearpc.sourceforge.net/

Shrimp
FTP Access
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 am
Location: NY

Post by Shrimp »

I've been running OS X on my PC without a reformat since last August... No issues at all, perfect setup.

warbird
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 5:07 pm

Post by warbird »

Shrimp wrote:I've been running OS X on my PC without a reformat since last August... No issues at all, perfect setup.
Are you using a cracked OSX86? Like Kalyway or iAktos?

You can't just install Mac on a PC, that's impossible. Only the illegal cracked Versions will work.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

warbird wrote:
Shrimp wrote:I've been running OS X on my PC without a reformat since last August... No issues at all, perfect setup.
Are you using a cracked OSX86? Like Kalyway or iAktos?

You can't just install Mac on a PC, that's impossible. Only the illegal cracked Versions will work.
I will say it before others, this is a huge BUMP, did you try to read the dates and the rules?

Plus it is possible with an INTEL verion of MAC OSX

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

warbird,

Do NOT bump old topics. You ARE capable of reading the rules. [/i]
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Locked