[GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Tutorials for Operating Systems, Applications etc can be posted here.
Post Reply
FoobyZeeky
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, England, UK
Contact:

[GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by FoobyZeeky »

[Requires VirtualBox.]

1) In VirtualBox, create a virtual machine and install MS-DOS 5 or later and Windows 3.1 on it.
2) Create another virtual machine and install Windows NT 4.0, 2000, XP, Vista, or 7 on it (it doesn't really matter; it just has to be a Windows OS that VirtualBox supports with guest additions).
3) On the new machine, install the VirtualBox guest additions.
4) On your local hard drive, create a folder named 'VBoxShared' (the name or location doesn't really matter).
5) For the virtual machine with guest additions installed, create a shared folder which links to this new folder you just created (C:\VBoxShared).
6) Attach the Windows 3.1 virtual hard disk to the machine with the shared folder.
7) Boot the machine with the shared folder, and copy the WINDOWS directory from the Windows 3.1 VHD to the shared folder (shown as a network drive in the guest OS).
8) C:\VBoxShared now contains the WINDOWS directory.
9) Open DOSBox and type:

Code: Select all

mount c c:\vboxshared
C:
cd WINDOWS
win.com
10) ???
11) Profit. You've booted into Windows 3.1 with DOSBox.

This may seem obvious to a few, but some people have major problems with this, because of the complex image mounting options and boot options in DOSBox. Sound and graphical capabilities are good in DOSBox with Windows 3.1, and I think it's the best emultaor to run the OS in, so it's worth it.
sup

hansdampf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:46 am

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by hansdampf »

Or, you take some shortcuts, and just install Windows 3.1 directly in Dosbox.
Step by step for the installation in Dosbox' official forum http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405 (this guide has all the little steps that go into your step 1)

Sorry, for shooting this down but I couldn't believe how many steps you take just to get it to work in Dosbox. My first comparison was:
it's like breaking open the windows of your locked car, jump starting it, driving it through your living room window door, just to get to your phone to call a locksmith service because you forgot your keys in the house

ender
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by ender »

Yeah, installing Windows 3.1 in DOSBox is pretty simple. If you use Megabuild, you can also browse the Internet by loading a ne2000 packet driver and installing Trumpet WinSock in Windows (run ne2000.com 0x65 3 0x300 and winpkt 0x65 before starting Windows). Don't install MS TCP/32, that won't work with plain DOSBox - you need to create a disk image with MS-DOS for that.

Windows XP
FTP Access
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm
Location: U.K.

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by Windows XP »

Let me add a bit.

If you want to install high colour drivers, there are S3 drivers:
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405

Scroll down to the driver bit, and then download them and put them in a directory inside the WINDOWS directory, then load setup, then choose your choice (I chose high colour at 1024x768)
when it tells you to put in a floppy, just point the setup to where the drivers are located.
ender wrote:Yeah, installing Windows 3.1 in DOSBox is pretty simple. If you use Megabuild, you can also browse the Internet by loading a ne2000 packet driver and installing Trumpet WinSock in Windows (run ne2000.com 0x65 3 0x300 and winpkt 0x65 before starting Windows). Don't install MS TCP/32, that won't work with plain DOSBox - you need to create a disk image with MS-DOS for that.
I might try that...

hansdampf wrote:Or, you take some shortcuts, and just install Windows 3.1 directly in Dosbox.
It seems harder.
hansdampf wrote: Step by step for the installation in Dosbox' official forum http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405 (this guide has all the little steps that go into your step 1)
I only go there for the S3 drivers. There's no tutorial for networking like Ender's little trick.
hansdampf wrote: Sorry, for shooting this down but I couldn't believe how many steps you take just to get it to work in Dosbox. My first comparison was:
it's like breaking open the windows of your locked car, jump starting it, driving it through your living room window door, just to get to your phone to call a locksmith service because you forgot your keys in the house
How did you compare that to this tutorial? o_o
Inactive. I also don't have anything ROBLOX-related, anymore. Please don't ask.

ender
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by ender »

Small note about using packet driver: this will only allow you to use winsock applications (mostly web browsers and e-mail clients - Internet Explorer 5, Netscape 4 and Opera 3.62 all work) - it won't let Windows browse the local network (that needs MS-DOS with networking components installed, for which you need to use a disk image).

GL1zdA
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 496
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by GL1zdA »

hansdampf wrote:Step by step for the installation in Dosbox' official forum http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405 (this guide has all the little steps that go into your step 1)
Some things won't work if you install 3.11 on pure DOSBox (without MS-DOS) - especially everything that wants share.exe (Office 4.3, Visual C++).
Image

hansdampf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:46 am

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by hansdampf »

Windows XP wrote:
hansdampf wrote:Or, you take some shortcuts, and just install Windows 3.1 directly in Dosbox.
It seems harder.
Then take a closer look. It's actually simpler if you subtract the usual steps for installing Windows 3.1x (which aren't mentioned in the OPs post). In that guide is almost no Dosbox exclusive instructions. The Dosbox approach is even easier because you can just have everything ready in a mounted folder. To install Windows 3.1x on VirtualBox you will have to jump through much more loops to install all that stuff.
Windows XP wrote:
hansdampf wrote: Step by step for the installation in Dosbox' official forum http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405 (this guide has all the little steps that go into your step 1)
I only go there for the S3 drivers. There's no tutorial for networking like Ender's little trick.
Of course not, the networking is not part of the official Dosbox
Windows XP wrote:
hansdampf wrote: Sorry, for shooting this down but I couldn't believe how many steps you take just to get it to work in Dosbox. My first comparison was:
it's like breaking open the windows of your locked car, jump starting it, driving it through your living room window door, just to get to your phone to call a locksmith service because you forgot your keys in the house
How did you compare that to this tutorial? o_o
Because the OPs guide takes a couple of insane steps that are not necessary at all to install Windows 3.1x on Dosbox
GL1zdA wrote: Some things won't work if you install 3.11 on pure DOSBox (without MS-DOS) - especially everything that wants share.exe (Office 4.3, Visual C++).
True, if you follow the OPs guide you will have the exact same result, though.
The Dosbox guide mentions those shortcomings and also gives advice on how to make it work on a boot image inside Dosbox with which you will have that stuff working. Also the guide mentions a workaround for not working share.exe.

gamelover101
FTP Access
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 am
Location: C:\

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by gamelover101 »

I find FoobyZeeky's guide a little complicated. You really don't need use VBox at all to get Windows 3.1 running. I installed Windows 3.1 in pure DOSBox, and it's working fine. Of course networking and share.exe don't work, but boot images IMO are a little complicated for running it on DOSBox.
ender wrote:Yeah, installing Windows 3.1 in DOSBox is pretty simple. If you use Megabuild, you can also browse the Internet by loading a ne2000 packet driver and installing Trumpet WinSock in Windows (run ne2000.com 0x65 3 0x300 and winpkt 0x65 before starting Windows). Don't install MS TCP/32, that won't work with plain DOSBox - you need to create a disk image with MS-DOS for that.
What is MegaBuild? An addon to DOSBox? A DOSBox-based DOS emulator? An app for Windows 3.1?
Oops!

linuxlove
Donator
Posts: 5895
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:56 am

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by linuxlove »

I believe Megabuild adds an emulated network card to DOSBox so you can do networking stuff with it.
Goodbye.

asad10
FTP Access
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by asad10 »

Megabuild is a DOSBox build with several patches that didn't make it into the official release. It still doesn't emulate share.exe though.

gamelover101
FTP Access
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 am
Location: C:\

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by gamelover101 »

I don't know who to believe. :3
Oops!

ender
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by ender »


gamelover101
FTP Access
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 am
Location: C:\

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by gamelover101 »

I don't need the link, I want a description of it!
Oops!

asad10
FTP Access
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by asad10 »

The description is there on the page.

gamelover101
FTP Access
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 am
Location: C:\

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by gamelover101 »

Oh, so it's a modified DOSBox build? Will it replace DOSBox?

edit: OK, I have a problem here. When I run Windows 3.11, sometimes my mouse is frozen in the centre of the screen and won't move. Restarting DOSBox usually fixes the problem, but I have no idea why it happens.
Oops!

Spider-Vice
Donator
Posts: 1377
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by Spider-Vice »

gamelover101 wrote:Oh, so it's a modified DOSBox build? Will it replace DOSBox?

edit: OK, I have a problem here. When I run Windows 3.11, sometimes my mouse is frozen in the centre of the screen and won't move. Restarting DOSBox usually fixes the problem, but I have no idea why it happens.
It's a modified build of DOSBox, it'll surely have bugs. might be the cause.

gamelover101
FTP Access
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 am
Location: C:\

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by gamelover101 »

Spider-Vice wrote:
gamelover101 wrote:Oh, so it's a modified DOSBox build? Will it replace DOSBox?

edit: OK, I have a problem here. When I run Windows 3.11, sometimes my mouse is frozen in the centre of the screen and won't move. Restarting DOSBox usually fixes the problem, but I have no idea why it happens.
It's a modified build of DOSBox, it'll surely have bugs. might be the cause.
No, I haven't used the modified DOSBox. I'm using normal DOSBox and it still happens.
Oops!

z180
Donator
Posts: 982
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: In front of my Toughbook

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by z180 »

Dosbox has Voodoo 1 emulation with an new unofficial patch.
Stephen Elop….I curse you, that after your death your soul will be forever trapped in the sourcecode of Windows and one day Microsoft will fall because of that virus code!

eugrus
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:54 am

Re: [GUIDE] Running Windows 3.1 in DOSBox easily

Post by eugrus »

ender wrote:Yeah, installing Windows 3.1 in DOSBox is pretty simple. If you use Megabuild, you can also browse the Internet by loading a ne2000 packet driver and installing Trumpet WinSock in Windows (run ne2000.com 0x65 3 0x300 and winpkt 0x65 before starting Windows). Don't install MS TCP/32, that won't work with plain DOSBox - you need to create a disk image with MS-DOS for that.
This here is the only report of a successful win3.1 network setup on dosbox I've found anywhere on the Internet.

In my experience both ne2000 0x65 3 0x300 and winpkt 0x65 work fine, however net start returns Error 73: (null) and Windows says on bootup that the network driver could not be loaded.

Post Reply