BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 50d, 14h, 29m | CPU: 54% | MEM: 5904MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 105 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 7 Build 6956 leaked!!!        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:37 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:02 am

Posts
65

Location
NJ
It was leaked by an attendee at WinHEC China :) However, it is a .vhd. Anyone here know if we can convert that to an .iso or something to install on a physical Harddrive?

Anyhow, we can still mount it and enjoy it :)

http://windows7center.com/windows-7-new ... hec-china/

EDIT: Just saw there is already a massive thread about this in the News section...this can probably be deleted...


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:34 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:51 am

Posts
298
Awesome-o :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:50 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:47 pm

Posts
910
Wow, i downloading in right now, but the dl speed is slow


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:03 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Posts
90
Thanks Bigern - but this is being discussed at length already here:

http://betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6588


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:57 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7383
Thanks.

I don't believe it's possible to make it back into a "proper" installer ISO. Is it possible to put a Vista installation, on let's say a Dell machine, back into an installer ISO and still retain all the original installer files? I don't think so. And either way there would be a lot of hacking involved, making it quite "not proper".

I'll put this build on BA FTP soon, I will only repack and upload it. Watch out for the post in the log section.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:09 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
How about doing this whole sysprep - xImage - WAIK thing?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:14 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
600

Location
Vienna, Austria
FiFi wrote:
How about doing this whole sysprep - xImage - WAIK thing?


yet it involves lot of hacking, expecially because this is only a VHD image ;)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:35 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7383
I already received such ISO where the installer is based on an older build, but it installs the newer build on the harddrive. I am testing it as we speak, and if it works properly I'll put it up along with the VHD, and then we'll let you people choose which one is better =D

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:37 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
mrpijey wrote:
I already received such ISO where the installer is based on an older build, but it installs the newer build on the harddrive. I am testing it as we speak, and if it works properly I'll put it up along with the VHD, and then we'll let you people choose which one is better =D


thank you! i cant wait :D, i hope it works!

exactly how di dosmeone get their hands on the vhd copy anyways :^)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:14 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:55 pm

Posts
125
Thanks, mrpijey! Looking forward to it. (Y)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:36 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
The iso works a treat, took about 10 minutes to install and everything seems to be working.

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:38 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
OG wrote:
The iso works a treat, took about 10 minutes to install and everything seems to be working.

Image


the one on the m1 server?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:44 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7383
Has anyone compared this against the pre-installed VHD? I tried the VHD but VirtualPC didn't want to boot it. So I am installing it in VPC from the ISO now. VMWare just crashed on me during the installation...

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:54 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
I believe it is the same as whats on the server. The iso is derived from the vhd and uses the 6801 install files. From what I can gather the vhd doesnt work in VPC becuase its not actually a virtual machine, its a complete hdd backup copy (from Windows Backup).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:56 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
ah, ok so mrpijey should be able to install it and have it uploaded and the one im downloading works (hopefully) yay :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:17 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Just out of interest, I know the superbar comes enabled by default, but do the other goodies, like the Desktop Slideshow?

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:21 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri May 02, 2008 7:02 pm

Posts
181

Location
Ashton, UK
Desktop slideshow isn't in this build I don't think.. it seemed to have been removed in the 695x series

EDIT: Scrap that, they do. My bad :(

_________________
Image


Last edited by bns06 on Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:24 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Slideshow works yes. The quicklinks thingy now seems to be accessed by right clicking on the taskbar icons rather than a button attached to the icon. Peek also works. Hovering the mouse cursor over the button to the right of the taskbar turns all windowns transparent and hovering over a taskbar thumbnail turns all windows transparent except the one your focused on (the thumbnail for that window). And sadly no, the fish doesnt move, but it would make for a nice dream scene wallpaper I think. :D

Some more screenshots

Image

Image

Image

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:32 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 27, 2006 5:44 pm

Posts
394

Location
Canada

Favourite OS
Windows
so this ISO is the one on m1 server?
or another ISO file?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:36 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Not sure the actual details of the one on the server as I got it from torrent.

ULTIMATE_GB1CFRE_EN_DVD_6956.iso 2.19 GB (2,354,708,480 bytes)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:19 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
ahh i'm half a day late and missed out all the fun :( but a leak is :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:19 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7383
I've released both the ISO and VHD on the BA FTP now. I could never wrap my head around the VHD since VPC won't boot from it. I need to take a deeper look at it some other time, but I've tested the ISO and it works just fine.

Enjoy.

Edit: Thanks goes out to Ludacris for uploading the releases to the BA server. =)

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Last edited by mrpijey on Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:35 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
mrpijey wrote:
I've released both the ISO and VHD on the BA FTP now. I could never wrap my head around the VHD since VPC won't boot from it. I need to take a deeper look at it some other time, but I've tested the ISO and it works just fine.

Enjoy.


its not an actual install but rather a backup file put into one i beleive


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:41 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:55 pm

Posts
125
Thanks guys (mrpijey + Ludacris). I appreciate it. Cheers.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:40 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7383
zamadatix wrote:

its not an actual install but rather a backup file put into one i beleive


You're right. I did a check of the contents and it's just a non-bootable copy of a harddrive. Has anyone added a boot sector to it and tried to boot it? Would be interesting to know what the difference is between this one and the reset version contained in the custom ISO. Should BA keep the VHD or is it just taking up space for no reason now that we got an installer ISO that works just fine?

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 105 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS