Sun's Niagara 3 will have 16-cores and 16 threads per core

New news and release discussion.
Locked
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12620
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Sun's Niagara 3 will have 16-cores and 16 threads per core

Post by Andy »

Sun's Niagara 3 will have 16-cores and 16 threads per core
Sun Microsystems looks poised to lead the "mainstream" multi-core race for at least a couple more years. By late 2009, the server maker should deliver a third major revision of its Niagara processor which will have 16 cores and an astonishing 16 threads per core, The Register has learned.
Full story:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/06/23/sun_niagara_k2/


Surely this has to be the Viagra of all processors!!!

... I'll get me coat

IainK
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:02 am
Location: Dundee, UK
Contact:

Post by IainK »

Whoa 16 cores per physical chip? That will be absolutely beasting!

Unfortunately I don't see clock speed, front side bus or cache specifications mentioned yet but even if it was *only* 1GHz per core that would still be 16GHz per cpu

I suggest in six months time you ask your provider for a cheeky upgrade to one of these bad boys Andy

kontini

Post by kontini »

The clock will be about 2.3 GHz but I don't think it will be faster as a 16x2,3GB=... . Open your calc.exe!

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

Its a pretty powerful server. Do we need all those cores?

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

XDude wrote:Its a pretty powerful server. Do we need all those cores?
Some people will. Some people need more.

Others just want it to brag

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12620
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Bear in mind it won't run Windows or Linux etc. Its designed for Sun hardware and software.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Andy wrote:Bear in mind it won't run Windows or Linux etc. Its designed for Sun hardware and software.
Yeh. That limits it to what? Solaris?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12620
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

hounsell wrote:
Andy wrote:Bear in mind it won't run Windows or Linux etc. Its designed for Sun hardware and software.
Yeh. That limits it to what? Solaris?
Most likely.

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »

Solaris, Linux (Debian, Aurora, Splack, Gentoo), and "the bsd's" (Open/Net/Free).

Out of those, Solaris and Gentoo do not support sparc32, not that any have been built in about a decade. Not to confuse the issue, these are obviously 64-bit sparc processors... I just wanted to throw that extra bit of info out there.

expert01
FTP Access
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Post by expert01 »

I keep thinking to myself, "They have all these races and competitions with processors about speed, but they can increase their speed a ton by just making a bigger die. So why the hell don't they?"

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

It's enough to host a large website on it, but not the best idea.
If the motherboard goes boom, its off.
With multi computers, atleast only part of the network will go down.

thenico
FTP Access
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:13 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by thenico »

expert01 wrote:I keep thinking to myself, "They have all these races and competitions with processors about speed, but they can increase their speed a ton by just making a bigger die. So why the hell don't they?"
Because it isn't so easy.
Adding a new core don't actually increase the speed.
You can only run more independant commands per cycle.
So you need to multithread your program and few people know how to do that correctly (and some program cannot be multithread) .

Locked