BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 12h, 31m | CPU: 29% | MEM: 1802MB of 3431MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: The new Vista startup/shutdown sound        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:07 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
http://audio.cbsnews.com/2006/11/10/audio2174198.mp3

I think this is a WTF situation.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:10 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yep, I'm quite disappointed of these sounds as well. I had expected somethling like the mysterious NT 5.0 beta sounds :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:15 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Yep, I'm quite disappointed of these sounds as well. I had expected somethling like the mysterious NT 5.0 beta sounds :)


Oooh, post the sounds :P

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:20 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Windows NT 5.0 Beta Startup Sound

I will have to look for the shut down sound.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:22 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Windows NT 5.0 Beta Startup Sound

I will have to look for the shut down sound.


OMG thats a horrible sound!!! Its waaay too long for a start. A few seconds would do, not 10+!! :shock:

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:25 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, it's a bit too long in my opinion, but I think it's good anyways. To me, it has something mysterious. Fits a beta pretty good. But if you don't like it... Anyway, these Vista sounds are horrible in my eyes... :cry: Regarding the NT5 startup sound length: It did take some time to start up, so it might have been acceptable.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:47 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
craig wrote:
If i ever upgrade to vista, i might try and transfer the xp sounds across, as i hate them to.


Id probably do the same. Absolutely awful. Even 95 sounds were better than these!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:53 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
craig wrote:
If i ever upgrade to vista, i might try and transfer the xp sounds across, as i hate them to.


Id probably do the same. Absolutely awful. Even 95 sounds were better than these!


I've copied across all the 9x sounds (and the NT4 startup/shutdown) available on XP - there's no restore up/restore down sound with XP for some reason, so I use those nice n' loud "Robotz" sounds from 9x for that. The minimise and maximise sounds on XP are so quiet you can hardly hear them, so I use the XP logon/logoff (not startup/shutdown) sounds for that, as they fit quite well.

For everything else I use the sounds that someone made for one of those Vista transformation Pack things - they're actually a lot better than the real thing!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:03 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
For everything else I use the sounds that someone made for one of those Vista transformation Pack things - they're actually a lot better than the real thing!

This speaks for itself, doesn't it? :wink: I personally turn off any and all kinds of sounds right after installing Windows – heck, I actually delete them because I hate being disturbed from my work (or my music) by these sounds. Glad I have a "mute" button on my keyboard. The only sounds I might have are the startup and shutdown sounds but nothing else. People are so different :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:23 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
I also delete all Sounds. This disturbs me :(

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:26 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I once got not only disturbed, but shocked by a Windows XP sound (it was the "error" sound IIRC) because I had the volume cranked way up for some reason. And when I got an error message, this piano sound was so extraordinarily loud I almost got a heart-attack! :shock: It's also embarrassing when you're in school/in the train or somewhere else in public, fire up your laptop and everyone around you can hear the startup sound...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:37 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
empireum wrote:
And when I got an error message, this piano sound was so extraordinarily loud I almost got a heart-attack!


Yes, that's it :) And the build in driver for my Creative Soundblaster Live! is soooo loud even the volume is at 10%. My ears :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:29 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Yes, this new sound is somewhat disappointing, however it is alright i guess.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:15 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
161

Location
Melbourne, Australia
what? thats not the new startup sound, the new one is completely different and goes for 4 seconds


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:49 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
the sound isn't that bad. But I prefer the XP one.

That guys voice is way more annoying than the Vista sound


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 8:12 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
30
Those Vista sounds AND that guys voice are HORRID.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:12 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 11:05 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
30
___ wrote:
microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions


i figured they would include that, if not then people will do it themselves.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 8:57 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
___ wrote:
microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions


you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker. ;)

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:06 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
joecool wrote:
___ wrote:
microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions


you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker. ;)

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it :)

Nice trick! :) But in my eyes, it's too much of a hassle to change that sound and therefore, one additional reason to completely disable it as soon as the install is done. I really dislike it that MS doesn't give us, the users, an option to change this sound. This has been in (almost?) every version of Windows that had support for sounds and audio devices...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:13 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
joecool wrote:
___ wrote:
microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions


you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker. ;)

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it :)

ugh, so lame


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:14 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
I think there will be shortly an Patchfile for this ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:32 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You mean you can't change it through the Sound control panel? How do you disable it then, if that's possible without patching?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:48 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Posts
185

Location
Germany
Image

;)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS