The new Vista startup/shutdown sound

New news and release discussion.
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

The new Vista startup/shutdown sound

Post by Andy »


empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Yep, I'm quite disappointed of these sounds as well. I had expected somethling like the mysterious NT 5.0 beta sounds

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

empireum wrote:Yep, I'm quite disappointed of these sounds as well. I had expected somethling like the mysterious NT 5.0 beta sounds
Oooh, post the sounds

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Windows NT 5.0 Beta Startup Sound

I will have to look for the shut down sound.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

empireum wrote:Windows NT 5.0 Beta Startup Sound

I will have to look for the shut down sound.
OMG thats a horrible sound!!! Its waaay too long for a start. A few seconds would do, not 10+!!

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Yeah, it's a bit too long in my opinion, but I think it's good anyways. To me, it has something mysterious. Fits a beta pretty good. But if you don't like it... Anyway, these Vista sounds are horrible in my eyes... Regarding the NT5 startup sound length: It did take some time to start up, so it might have been acceptable.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

craig wrote:If i ever upgrade to vista, i might try and transfer the xp sounds across, as i hate them to.
Id probably do the same. Absolutely awful. Even 95 sounds were better than these!

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Andy wrote:
craig wrote:If i ever upgrade to vista, i might try and transfer the xp sounds across, as i hate them to.
Id probably do the same. Absolutely awful. Even 95 sounds were better than these!
I've copied across all the 9x sounds (and the NT4 startup/shutdown) available on XP - there's no restore up/restore down sound with XP for some reason, so I use those nice n' loud "Robotz" sounds from 9x for that. The minimise and maximise sounds on XP are so quiet you can hardly hear them, so I use the XP logon/logoff (not startup/shutdown) sounds for that, as they fit quite well.

For everything else I use the sounds that someone made for one of those Vista transformation Pack things - they're actually a lot better than the real thing!
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

For everything else I use the sounds that someone made for one of those Vista transformation Pack things - they're actually a lot better than the real thing!
This speaks for itself, doesn't it? I personally turn off any and all kinds of sounds right after installing Windows – heck, I actually delete them because I hate being disturbed from my work (or my music) by these sounds. Glad I have a "mute" button on my keyboard. The only sounds I might have are the startup and shutdown sounds but nothing else. People are so different

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

I also delete all Sounds. This disturbs me
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I once got not only disturbed, but shocked by a Windows XP sound (it was the "error" sound IIRC) because I had the volume cranked way up for some reason. And when I got an error message, this piano sound was so extraordinarily loud I almost got a heart-attack! It's also embarrassing when you're in school/in the train or somewhere else in public, fire up your laptop and everyone around you can hear the startup sound...

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

empireum wrote:And when I got an error message, this piano sound was so extraordinarily loud I almost got a heart-attack!
Yes, that's it And the build in driver for my Creative Soundblaster Live! is soooo loud even the volume is at 10%. My ears
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Yes, this new sound is somewhat disappointing, however it is alright i guess.
-Jeff

stealth
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by stealth »

what? thats not the new startup sound, the new one is completely different and goes for 4 seconds

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

the sound isn't that bad. But I prefer the XP one.

That guys voice is way more annoying than the Vista sound

skeets
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:21 am
Contact:

Post by skeets »

Those Vista sounds AND that guys voice are HORRID.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions

skeets
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:21 am
Contact:

Post by skeets »

___ wrote:microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions
i figured they would include that, if not then people will do it themselves.

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

___ wrote:microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions
you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker.

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

joecool wrote:
___ wrote:microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions
you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker.

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it
Nice trick! But in my eyes, it's too much of a hassle to change that sound and therefore, one additional reason to completely disable it as soon as the install is done. I really dislike it that MS doesn't give us, the users, an option to change this sound. This has been in (almost?) every version of Windows that had support for sounds and audio devices...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

joecool wrote:
___ wrote:microsoft does give you the option to change them like all the other versions
you can only activate/deactivate it in the RTM-Version!

If you would change it, you have to edit the imageres.dll (%windor%\Windows\system32\) with an Resource-Hacker.

I tested this and put the XP-Startsound in it
ugh, so lame

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

I think there will be shortly an Patchfile for this

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

You mean you can't change it through the Sound control panel? How do you disable it then, if that's possible without patching?
Image

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

Image


Locked