Windows Vista RTM (edit: Fake RTM)

New news and release discussion.
Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Well, it seems to be misssing from here, so Ill grab it from Demonoid.
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

@joecool: Yes, it would appear so, since it didn't ask me for activation, and it passed OGA.

It includes the following office programs:
Microsoft Office Access 2007
Microsoft Office Excel 2007
Microsoft Office Groove 2007
Microsoft Office InfoPath 2007
Microsoft Office OneNote 2007
Microsoft Office Outlook 2007
Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007
Microsoft Office Publisher 2007
Microsoft Office Word 2007

In upload2 @ AbyssUnderground.

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

longview wrote:@joecool: Yes, it would appear so, since it didn't ask me for activation, and it passed OGA.
It passes because it's the Enterprise edition.
The Enterprise edition of Office is still using VLK 1.0 so it doesn't need activation.

The Enterprise/Business of Vista uses a new VLK 2.0 so it does require activation.

Here is some info on that, http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/reso ... fault.mspx
Last edited by Amplificator on Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

cheers andy! much faster than a torrent, and probably faster than i can get it from connect (when it is released).

That AIO disc sounds sweet, now why couldn't Microsoft put x86/x64 on one disc?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

A DVD that contains both x86 and x64 versions of Vista on one side is impossible to make IMHO. 1) There's not enough space unless you take a DL DVD, and 2) how would they do the booting thing? An x86 DVD will boot on x86 and x64 systems, but an x64 DVD won't boot on x86 systems.

About the Office 2007 thing: Great it's already on the server!

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

The 32bit/64bit combined DVD is downloading, Ill have it for you guys when its done. Could be a while though, it was uploaded just 40 mins ago and there is only 1 seeder!

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

___ wrote:cheers andy! much faster than a torrent, and probably faster than i can get it from connect (when it is released).

That AIO disc sounds sweet, now why couldn't Microsoft put x86/x64 on one disc?
Because they want to get as much money as possible, so they want people to buy both, if they want them.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

empireum wrote:A DVD that contains both x86 and x64 versions of Vista on one side is impossible to make IMHO. 1) There's not enough space unless you take a DL DVD, and 2) how would they do the booting thing? An x86 DVD will boot on x86 and x64 systems, but an x64 DVD won't boot on x86 systems.

About the Office 2007 thing: Great it's already on the server!
well a DL DVD could be done easily, how does this AIO think work then?

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

empireum wrote:A DVD that contains both x86 and x64 versions of Vista on one side is impossible to make IMHO. 1) There's not enough space unless you take a DL DVD, and 2) how would they do the booting thing? An x86 DVD will boot on x86 and x64 systems, but an x64 DVD won't boot on x86 systems.

About the Office 2007 thing: Great it's already on the server!
It's a DVD5 (not DL).

Some files are compressed because it wouldn't fit otherwise, but nothing has been stripped and it is still possible to use the recovery tool etc. like usual.

If you read the .nfo it says that it is not possible to start the install of x64 within the x86 edition of Windows.

All is taken care of and the release is working fine
Last edited by Amplificator on Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Oh, I seem to have missed that. If there is already a combined bootable 32/64 DVD, forget what I said. Would be interesting to see how it's been done.

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

empireum wrote:Oh, I seem to have missed that. If there is already a combined bootable 32/64 DVD, forget what I said. Would be interesting to see how it's been done.
It's done nearly the same way as the XPSP2 All In One that WinBeta released in 2004.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

That's not my question. My question is how did they manage to combine a 32bit and a 64bit OS, both bootable, on a single DVD?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

we shall see once andy finishes downloading it

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

empireum wrote:That's not my question. My question is how did they manage to combine a 32bit and a 64bit OS, both bootable, on a single DVD?
They made a custom autorun that you can run from within Windows, and also a custom boot menu so you can select either 32Bit or 64Bit.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Amplificator wrote:
empireum wrote:That's not my question. My question is how did they manage to combine a 32bit and a 64bit OS, both bootable, on a single DVD?
They made a custom autorun that you can run from within Windows, and also a custom boot menu so you can select either 32Bit or 64Bit.
Ah, thanks! The custom boot menu sounds like a great idea! Would love to take a look at it and find out how it's done.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I've come across a workaround that seems to reset activation (apparently up to 4 times, not indefinitely), so that if you did it every 29 days you would get 120 days before you had to activate or apply a crack. I just tried it on my 1-day old install and it set it back to 30 days from 29. I haven't extensively tested this though, so no guarantees!

It's just one command that you enter in Start > Run - no crack or anything - is it legal to post it here for people to try?
Image

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:I've come across a workaround that seems to reset activation (apparently up to 4 times, not indefinitely), so that if you did it every 29 days you would get 120 days before you had to activate or apply a crack. I just tried it on my 1-day old install and it set it back to 30 days from 29. I haven't extensively tested this though, so no guarantees!

It's just one command that you enter in Start > Run - no crack or anything - is it legal to post it here for people to try?
That workaround will be possible to do 3 times and haas been known since pre-RC1 builds.

By using one of the 3 cracks I've uploaded to the "upload2" account you can use it until june 2007 which is just as good.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

It would be best if you discussed cracks at your own discression.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

would be better to wait for a trial version, 180 days then reset it. or just whore some keys

casablanca
FTP Access
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am
Location: New York

Post by casablanca »

___ wrote:would be better to wait for a trial version, 180 days then reset it. or just whore some keys
Or use a trial version, then use TweakNT...

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

casablanca wrote:
___ wrote:would be better to wait for a trial version, 180 days then reset it. or just whore some keys
Or use a trial version, then use TweakNT...
If TweakNT does still work on Vista...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

not since like 4029 or maybe earlier....

casablanca
FTP Access
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am
Location: New York

Post by casablanca »

___ wrote:not since like 4029 or maybe earlier....
Odd, it worked for me in 5048 and recently, 4093... it also worked for me in Server 2003 trials...

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Any more discusion of TweakNT/cracks will result in the clossure of this topic
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

cooled
FTP Access
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by cooled »

there are no cracks that actually work. stop bothering with cracking and buy the thing when it comes out.

Locked