Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

New news and release discussion.
Post Reply
The Distractor

Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by The Distractor »

We’re told that Microsoft is aiming to position Windows 8.1 with Bing as a free or low-cost upgrade for Windows 7 users. Any upgrade offers will be focused on boosting the number of people using Windows 8.1. This Bing-powered version of Windows 8.1 may also be offered to PC makers as part of recent license cuts for devices under $250.
Source: The Verge

Venetik
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by Venetik »

It's not the same as classic desktop with start... Tiles is the thing that refuse me to make upgrade...

The Distractor

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by The Distractor »

Venetik wrote:It's not the same as classic desktop with start... Tiles is the thing that refuse me to make upgrade...
There's always Classic Shell, etc...

hotwir3d
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:01 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by hotwir3d »

There's a couple of really good "Classic Shell" addons out there but my personal favorite is Classic Shell (classicshell.net) which I've installed to my friends who doesn't like the tiles in Windows 8. Personally I really like the tiles especially in 8.1 when you don't get every installed Icon pinned to the startscreen.

Venetik
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by Venetik »

Classic shell is 3rd party software, not tied with Windows core, so it is not the point to have bloatware on PC. Yes, I can port Windows 7 shell to 8, but I loose the themes - aero for me was always ugly. I, as the power user of Windows system, always used minimal configuration, and my windows 7 copy used ~700 MB in filepage.

Sure I coud use that too. But I don't, with the same reason that I don't use the superbar on XP, or true transparency.

root670
FTP Access
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by root670 »

I would expect something like this would be crippled in some way (such as Metro only, no desktop), but that doesn't seem to be the case. It comes bundled with some MS apps, but can they be removed? Perhaps it's similar to the way Android phones are handled on major carriers, where they bundle some apps you probably don't care for, but you can't remove them unless you modify your device.

Equinoxe
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by Equinoxe »

Venetik wrote:Classic shell is 3rd party software, not tied with Windows core, so it is not the point to have bloatware on PC.
And how exactly is Classic Shell bloatware,dare I ask?

Venetik
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by Venetik »

Equinoxe wrote:
Venetik wrote:Classic shell is 3rd party software, not tied with Windows core, so it is not the point to have bloatware on PC.
And how exactly is Classic Shell bloatware,dare I ask?
Just like ViStart was and all that transformation pack popular in the day. It adds nothing. Only takes resources (btw. I'm not that resource guy who want to optimize everything for sake of cpu or ram - I was that kind of person a years ago, when I had limited resources). Also these packs weren't much stable. That's why all these "addons" are for me bloatware.

But I know that people using it, just like they were using ViStart or XP Superbar.
Offtopic Comment
Yes, I know that's bump - however I left question unanswered, decided to reply with my thoughs about that.

haroldas.velioniskis
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:08 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by haroldas.velioniskis »

Venetik wrote:
Equinoxe wrote:
Venetik wrote:Classic shell is 3rd party software, not tied with Windows core, so it is not the point to have bloatware on PC.
And how exactly is Classic Shell bloatware,dare I ask?
Just like ViStart was and all that transformation pack popular in the day. It adds nothing. Only takes resources (btw. I'm not that resource guy who want to optimize everything for sake of cpu or ram - I was that kind of person a years ago, when I had limited resources). Also these packs weren't much stable. That's why all these "addons" are for me bloatware.

But I know that people using it, just like they were using ViStart or XP Superbar.
Offtopic Comment
Yes, I know that's bump - however I left question unanswered, decided to reply with my thoughs about that.
I would argue about this. I've been using classic shell for more that two years with windows 8.1 and it haven't crashed yet. So I think it's stable. Also, the basic definition of bloatware is "software that uses lots of resources while the program itself is not needed and/or has lots of not-so-needed functions." I'd call mcafee antivirus that installs with flash player. Since classic shell is installed with user permission, does not show ads and isn't resource hungry plus actually adds the feature user is installing the program for- replace metro start screen it coudn't be considered as bloatware in any way.
Image

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by os2fan2 »

I use ClassicShell on windows 7 and 8.1. It's hardly bloat, and it gets around most problems.

I found that if you pick the classic scheme in Windows 7, then the problem of the disappearing taskbar disappears. Not until i modded up a batch file to make it do so, though.

This is a tcc (jpsoftware) script for it. It runs in the runtime environment as well.

Code: Select all

:: TODO: More error checking
::
setlocal
set SW_HIDE=0
set SW_SHOW=1
set hwndTaskBar=%@winapi[user32,FindWindow,"Shell_TrayWnd",""]
set hwndStartButton=%@winapi[user32,FindWindow,"Button","Start"]
iff d%1 eq dhide then
  set rc=%@winapi[user32,ShowWindow,%hwndTaskBar,%SW_HIDE]
  set rc=%@winapi[user32,ShowWindow,%hwndStartButton,%SW_HIDE]
elseiff d%1 eq dshow then
  set rc=%@winapi[user32,ShowWindow,%hwndTaskBar,%SW_SHOW]
  set rc=%@winapi[user32,ShowWindow,%hwndStartButton,%SW_SHOW]
else
  echo USAGE: %_BATCHNAME [Hide] [Show]
endiff
endlocal

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by AlphaBeta »

Venetik wrote:
Equinoxe wrote:
Venetik wrote:Classic shell is 3rd party software, not tied with Windows core, so it is not the point to have bloatware on PC.
And how exactly is Classic Shell bloatware,dare I ask?
Just like ViStart was and all that transformation pack popular in the day. It adds nothing. Only takes resources (btw. I'm not that resource guy who want to optimize everything for sake of cpu or ram - I was that kind of person a years ago, when I had limited resources). Also these packs weren't much stable. That's why all these "addons" are for me bloatware.
People tend to use Classic Shell to *save* resources and to reduce brain cancer risk, that wasn't the case with ViStart.

The Windows 10 start menu is rather slow and buggy, even two years after the initial release. Some people simply don't want to wait 5 seconds for the menu to appear and get ready. Search/Cortana is as badly optimized as the Start menu, actually it's even worse, it returns irrelevant results for clear enough queries (searching for "open" brings up WMP for whatever reason). This does not happen with Classic Shell.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

quailstorm
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Windows 8.1 with Bing (CoreConnected) may be free

Post by quailstorm »

Well, you can turn off Cortana as well as online search results and after that search is almost like it was on Windows 7 or 8.1. I still miss the search for English settings. Such as UAC no longer shows up UAC in my language...

Though we are far off-topic by now.

Post Reply