BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 31d, 9h, 51m | CPU: 30% | MEM: 5323MB of 8191MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:01 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Nope... not really.

Maybe if there was some way you could borrow a stick of ram to complete the install, then you would be able to run it.

_________________
-Jeff


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:03 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yep, would be my advice as well. And then, as soon as you get Vista running with 256MB, disable all unnecessary stuff :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:51 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
can't you just plug in a usb memory stick?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:37 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
If MS rush Vista well probably have a situation similar to the release to Windows 98.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:05 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
can't you just plug in a usb memory stick?

Not when installing Vista. As soon as it's up and running, yes.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:26 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
sweet, i have a semi-fucked 128mb memory key and a memory card reader that has a 32mb card in it. should add a bit more :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:49 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
/me currently found & downloading Vista 5840 (Vista.5840.16384.061018-1900.x86fre.EN).

Also found WAIK RC2...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:15 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
/me guesses where this might be found... :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:41 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Grisa wrote:
/me currently found & downloading Vista 5840 (Vista.5840.16384.061018-1900.x86fre.EN).


:shock: It's leaked?! It's definitely 5840? But that's from the RTM branch - surely it uses RTM keys, so they'll have blocked the leaked key already if it's out there? Or have they not changed the keys yet? I can only find it on one of the bittorrent sites, not on any of the servers - I can't be bothered with that right now though, so I won't be getting my hands on this any time soon :(

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:01 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
Yes, It's definiately 5840:

Proof: http://img68.imageshack.us/my.php?image=proof5840zc6.jpg

ISO:
Name: [Windows.Vista.RC2].Vista.5840.16384.061018-1900.x86fre.EN.iso
Size: 2714716160 bytes

The file is on ED2K and Gnutella2. I pesonally dl.-ed it with Shareaza. Keys are also can be found there.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:21 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
Oh yes, besides 5824 and 5840, there is known a 5808 build too.

And another things:
- I've found a torrent too for 5840 EN
- I've found Windows.Vista.RC2%5D.Vista.5840.16384.061018-1900.x86fre.CHS.iso . Is this means there's a Simplified Chinese version also floating around?

EDIT: one last thing: I tried, it doesn't accept CPP keys.


Last edited by Grisa on Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:33 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I'd think so since CHS usually means Simplified Chinese... Build 5712 was Chinese as well.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:33 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Thanks for the advice, im gonna start saving up for some RAM

(bit late becuase ive been busy just latly)

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:54 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Grisa wrote:
I tried, it doesn't accept CPP keys.


There's surely no way to activate it or use Aero or anything then is there, because if a key's been leaked they'll have blocked it from WPA and WGA?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:02 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Do you need to enter a key when installing?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:57 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i don't think you do from a fresh install, and you get a 30-day trial.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:29 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am

Posts
146

Location
New York
The reason why there is a Chinese Simplified version is because some people in China leaked it. Also, CPP keys will not work because by now they would've implemented the RTM algorithm already.
And yes, you do get a 30-day "trial"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:32 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
empireum wrote:
Do you need to enter a key when installing?


No, it gives you a warning, but it's not required


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:33 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
The reason why there is a Chinese Simplified version is because some people in China leaked it

That seems quite logical, there also was a (Simplified?) Chinese version of 5712, but I've not been able to find it. Would have made a nice add-on to a collection...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:34 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
___ wrote:
i don't think you do from a fresh install, and you get a 30-day trial.


Wow, I didn't know that. So that means we could see any of the editions, not only Ultimate, by choosing that edition when installing and not entering a key - I seem to remember when installing it before it lets you choose an edition if you don't enter a key, but I didn't try it.

If you install it without a key, does it let you use Aero and all the stuff that you usually need WGA validation for? If it does, maybe this would be a good route for someone looking to crack Vista (install as a trial, then somehow trick it into thinking the trial hadn't expired)...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:38 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, that's how I understand it as well. It's a nice feature because it enables you to test-drive the other editions as well so that you can find out if a certain edition is right for you... The same has been the case with the Longhorn Server builds – the key installs the Enterprise edition and lets you decide between a full-blown install and the "Core" install where you only get a command line, but if you don't enter a key, you can choose between Standard, Enterprise and Datacenter. :D

This trick also enables/enabled you to install Vista Starter Edition although it's not meant to come out in English-speaking countries. But compared to the other editions, it's really basic and limited, just as it was the case with XP:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:42 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
This trick also enables/enabled you to install Vista Starter Edition although it's not meant to come out in English-speaking countries. But compared to the other editions, it's really basic and limited, just as it was the case with XP:


Is it in English then? As XP Starter isn't. Will this feature be in the final build?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:47 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
Is it in English then? As XP Starter isn't.

Yep. I tried that with the RC1 and it was in English. Someone else tried it with a German RC1 build and it was in German, then. I will retry this with RC2 Build 5744 (as that's the most recent I have) and upload some screenshots here in the gallery.
Quote:
Will this feature be in the final build?

Don't know... But I hope so.

edit: Here are some screenshots of Vista Starter Build 5308 (English). I will post some of Build 5744 here anyway...
http://winfuture.de/screenshots/Windows-Vista-Build-5308-Starter-2007-1556-1.html

edit II:Vista Starter RC1 Build 5600 German:
http://win-news.de/screenshots/screen_catid,37.html

Stay tuned for Starter Build 5744 US screenshots. :D

Could someone with Build 5840 check if this feature to select the Windows edition is still available in there? Is the Starter edition still present?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:19 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I have also found the torrent, and only have about 1 hour to go. After that, i will start downloading the chinese version.

_________________
-Jeff


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:55 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
If we're talkin' about localized versions, I've seen Hungarian 5600 weeks ago:
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun1.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun2.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun3.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun4.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun5.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun6.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun7.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun8.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun9.PNG
http://ikszkom.freeblog.hu/files/pic/vistahun/vistahun10.PNG


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS