Vista to RTM next week

New news and release discussion.
___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Vista to RTM next week

Post by ___ »

"9 Days Until Vista RTM!!!" read a scrolling electronic reader board in a building on Microsoft's Redmond campus Monday. If the countdown is correct, it would mean Microsoft plans to release Vista to manufacturing (RTM) on Oct. 25, earlier than analysts expected.
Source: Seattle Times

Grisa
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm
Location: Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands

Post by Grisa »

9 days? Holy f**king [censored], I can't sleep now, until I get the torrent for download!

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Grisa wrote:I can't sleep now, until I get the torrent for download!
LOL - it's unlikely to leak straight way though - XP only leaked a month before its release. Also, this time they'll just block the leaked key straight away and there's no Corporate copies that don't need activating anymore, so unless there's a good keygen or WGA+Activation crack out as soon as it leaks, it's going to be a while until we get our hands on this

Interesting too that their target day for RTM is five years to the day since XP went on sale...
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Interesting too that their target day for RTM is five years to the day since XP went on sale...
Good point, I noticed that as well... Coincidence or not?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

maybe pushing for that date?

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »


Fusion
Donator
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:39 pm
Location: Lab06

Post by Fusion »

Well if they do RTM the build in a week, that could be a good thing so the beta testers can file bug reports so they can release hotfixes when it releases to the public like Windows XP did.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

Microsoft said it won't RTM next week after all

Fusion
Donator
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:39 pm
Location: Lab06

Post by Fusion »

that sucks

JohnDoe5808

Post by JohnDoe5808 »

Heard they're planning to RTM sometime in November...

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

That really sucks.
-Jeff

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

it will come out eventually. lets not rush microsoft

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

___ wrote:lets not rush microsoft
LOL - if there's one thing they're certainly not doing with Vista, it's rushing it! If they'd stuck to their plan from not too long ago it would be available very soon (or possibly even already)...not to mention the fact that it was originally going to be released in 2003........

Edit: I just saw this story, which says that build 5824 had been placed into escrow to be the final build (presumably to RTM this week, when they had that countdown thing), but a big bug was found in it that destroyed upgrade-from-XP installations, so they had to delay it and it's going to be closer to November 8th now. Last Friday they internally released 5840, which didn't have the bug.
Image

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

well yea thats true. they might need the xp upgrade path

casablanca
FTP Access
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am
Location: New York

Post by casablanca »

Upgrading from XP never had been fun with Vista. I'd just do a clean install.

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

The only thing i like about vista atm is the way it looks, but i only tryed beta1. i hope its all changed
The better candies are in the cage

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Well, I can tell you one thing, It has improved hugely from Beta 2 to RC2 for me, I can actually play music without it being choppy.

Anyways, I wonder what the bug in 5808 was..
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I've to agree, Vista has improved immensely from Beta 2 to RC1/RC2... I remember trying Vista Beta 2 and I was greatly disappointed, honestly.

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

Well then when they relese it i might give it a go ive got nothing to lose
The better candies are in the cage

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

You should try RC2, its probaly almost identical to RTM, its very stable on my 1.67gb Sempron w/512mb ram and a 128mb vid card.
-Jeff

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

only got 256MB of ram and im really short on cash
The better candies are in the cage

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

got a spare flash drive? you might be able to use it as HyperMemory... (never personally tried it, just saw the option when i poped my flash drive in)

I think its something where it uses your flashdrive as extra memory, however it can make the life of your flash drive go down the tube unless you have one of the special ones that are being developed right now...

(i dunno if thats really true, just heard it in various places)
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

256MB of RAM? That would be tight. IIRC, Vista won't install with less than 512MB of RAM, but afterwards, it'll run fine with less. Someone has found out the minimum that Vista RC1 needs to boot is ~224MB of RAM, but as said before, in order to install it, 512MB is necessary.

I don't think that ReadyBoost is available at setup time.So unless you got at least 512MB, the install is a no-go...

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

You *might* be able to find a vmware image somewhere, however, you wouldn't have enough ram to make it boot up because of the main systems ram requirements and the amount that VMWare would want.
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I looked it up, Vista needs at least 220MB of RAM to boot and run, but on a 256MB machine, this would imply that only 36MB were left for the host OS... Doesn't sound like a good idea...

Locked