BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 4h, 34m | CPU: 5% | MEM: 2535MB of 5391MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 PostPost subject: First short story written in English from scratch        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:32 pm 
Donator

Well, to tell the purpose of this, I've been writing short stories for 15 years or something like that, but, until now, mostly in German. My English works were mostly stories written in German which I have translated to English. The following story is the first which was made up and written completely in English from scratch, so a new territory for me.

What I ask you to do if you can spare enough time is: Read the story, tell me if it's good or bad (be honest, please!), in which ways it's good or bad if you have the time, and especially analyse if I've managed to build up the tension adequately. I can do this in German, but I'm not sure if I can also do that in another language. So please focus your "review" on that.

The reasons I posted this in the VIP section initially: Here are mostly people I know and trust (more or less), i.e. people that won't bash anything just for the hell of it, and, if this story sucks, it's better to have five people tell me that instead of 50 or 500. :) If the replies are staying positive, I might put a copy of the story in "Offtopic Discussions" as well so every member can read and rate it.

Now, enough of introduction, here it is:
–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

The Road Virus (after a short story by Stephen King)

“Bye, Mum”, said Sandra and hugged her mother.
“Bye, honey”, her mother replied, kissing her on the cheek. “Make sure you prepare for your exam!”
“Of course I will!”, Sandra assured her mother and freed herself from her mother’s arms.