BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 19h, 45m | CPU: 55% | MEM: 2043MB of 4631MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Service Pack 2 for Windows Server 2003 and XP x64 released        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:07 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Microsoft have just released the final build of Service Pack 2 for Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. There's links to all of the various files available here.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:16 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Thanks for that info, I wonder why nothing has changed on the Connect site...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:25 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
thx :)

@empireum

your picture in the signature is cool :mrgreen:

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:35 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Luckie wrote:
thx :)

@empireum

your picture in the signature is cool :mrgreen:

Thanks, it's just the default AS LE logo with the colors changed to greyscale :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:38 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:46 am

Posts
58
Thx a lot,maybe the MCSE2003 test will add some new features.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:51 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
I have donwloaded, sliopstreamed and installed. However I do not notice any difference from sp1. Is it just fixes or new features aswell? I would have though IE7 & WMP11 would have been included....

cheers,

HougTimo


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:04 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Just fixes, this has been the case in the betas as well.

edit: Which build number does the final have? The last RC had 2845... (Check the version of your NTOSKRNL.EXE after installing SP2, it will tell you).

edit 2: Nevermind, found it, according to the CD ISO's name, it's 3959... A rather big jump comparing to the betas/RCs which had 2xxx numbers. Wonder if this is a typo or if they did it intentionally?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:46 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I got a problem, I tried slipstreaming SP x64 with Windows XP x64 Pro SP1, I get an error saying ahhcxh2x.sys is missing.
When I use that installation to install the OS. While it is loading after the bios, i get an wrror ahhcxh2x.sys is missing.
does anyone know what driver is the ahhcxh2x.sys for?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:11 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
empireum wrote:
Just fixes, this has been the case in the betas as well.

edit: Which build number does the final have? The last RC had 2845... (Check the version of your NTOSKRNL.EXE after installing SP2, it will tell you).

edit 2: Nevermind, found it, according to the CD ISO's name, it's 3959... A rather big jump comparing to the betas/RCs which had 2xxx numbers. Wonder if this is a typo or if they did it intentionally?


Its not that bigger jump, actually. The Betas Retained the build number of 3790 of the R2/SP1 Release. Microsoft Then Added A Version Number. You can see this in the WINVER screen

Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:22 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, I know that, but the SP2 CD label includes "3959", that's why I was asking. So, which build does SP2 RTM have (3790.xxxx)?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:41 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
microsoft have posted a download of the new trial. ill download it tomorrow and put it in a vm, and post a screenshot of its winver.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:40 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, have noticed that too and already registered for one. Finally you can download both Standard and Enterprise editions!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:19 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
SP2 is 5.2.3790.3959 (srv03_sp2_rtm.070216-1710) This is a large jump from the RC which was 2825/45 :?

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:41 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
So I thought right... Wonder how to justify that jump.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:50 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
hounsell wrote:
microsoft have posted a download of the new trial. ill download it tomorrow and put it in a vm, and post a screenshot of its winver.


Just a quick note: if someone could post somewhere on here when the Partner Market starts shipping Server 2003 trials with SP2 integrated (the current ones are SP1), I'd appreciate the heads-up as I would like some but don't want to get a load on the off-chance that they are the new ones - thanks.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:45 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
empireum wrote:
Wonder how to justify that jump.


good question :?

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:12 am 
Did anyone else notice they've also updated NTDETECT.COM and NTLDR?

I noticed because I always copy over the 2003 SP1 versions to my Win2000 and XP installs when I build a new cd. I did it with the Win2000 hack I've been playing around with but haven't noticed anything different really. No major speed up or incongruous white loader like I sometimes see when I build an install with an updated loader.

--iWindoze


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:13 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Maybe they have implemented a new feature that is only useful in special setups, like in conjunction with WinPE or XPe... That was the case with the 2003 SP1 loader IIRC.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Service Pack 2 for Windows Server 2003 and XP x64 releas        Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:50 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm

Posts
338

Location
West Sussex, United Kindom
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Microsoft have just released the final build of Service Pack 2 for Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. There's links to all of the various files available here.


thanks for the heads up :D

_________________
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:54 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
61

Location
Lab06
nice, I might give it a try soon. I never tired out the SP2 betas for x64 but I am sure it fixes a lot of bugs.

_________________
MSN: svfusion@(nospam)gmail.com


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:05 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:10 pm

Posts
139

Location
Germania
hougtimo wrote:
I would have though IE7 & WMP11 would have been included....


Excellent, I searched the web about this Info's. The WMP11 is only for XP ( that what I know ) - but its bad that they dont implement the IE7 - Its " only " a " Big Security Fix Package " - but I will test it tomorrow - Security Updates are always a good thing


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:26 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
You can install IE7 on Windows Server 2003 manually if you wish, but I think that WMP11 requires some tweaking. But the question arises why should MS include WMP11 on the SP2 for the server OS? I'd have understood if it was in the SP2 for XP x64.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:38 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:10 pm

Posts
139

Location
Germania
The included the wmp11 into the sp2, is that right ?- working for win 2003 ? ( its not useful for the Server ) - but you see nobody understood Microsofts tactics.

Before the sp2 was avaible i often read that the wmp will also work only for xp and vista.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:57 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
WMP11 is not included in the SP2, neither is IE7. You can install IE7 no problem, but WMP11 on Server 2003 will need some patching IIRC.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:17 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
But the question arises why should MS include WMP11 on the SP2 for the server OS? I'd have understood if it was in the SP2 for XP x64.


I think if they're going to include WMP with the Server OS at all, then they should update it to the latest version. I can understand that they might not include it at all as it's probably not going to be used on a server, although things like Windows Media technologies and IE tend to be quite tightly embedded into Windows so it's probably best to just leave them in there. It seems silly to have such components but not have the latest version, no? If you're going to have them you might as well have the most recent version.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS