BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 49d, 13h, 5m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 6198MB of 11134MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Please read the following rules before posting a download request in this area:

1. Don't post a request if you have under 10 posts as stated on the front page. If you do anyway, it will be deleted without further notice. This also applies to other members: If you see a request by someone with less than 10 posts and it hasn't been deleted yet, please don't reply to it.
2. Don't request for warez or any copyrighted software. Only betas (no matter how old or new) and finals of operating systems and applications that are at least 10 years old and therefore classified as abandonware are allowed to be uploaded to and shared on the BetaArchive FTP server.
3. If you have your own FTP server where you'd like other members to upload what you're looking for to, please don't post its login details in any open forum as that will probably lead to abuse. Post the login details in the Private Servers section instead.
4. Check that we don't already have the file on our FTP servers. If you don't have access to the FTP servers then ask someone who has (a moderator for example).


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Looking for an OEM XP        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:20 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
hi guys

if anyone has a Dell OEM Windows XP Professional SP1 disc, with activation and everything. could they give me a link. i have my own legit serial.

Oh, and Mods if you consider this warez go ahead and close it


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:57 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
This is not warez, because you're not asking for any licenses/keys. Thus, I will hunt up my disc and ISO it in a bit.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
thanks Zimmy


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
How about with SP3? Also, you don't need to enter a serial. As long as your computer is Dell it should be SLP activated without you doing anything.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
OEM disks has keys integrated if you use them on the correct machine it is automatically activated, otherwise you need to get a special key of the sticker of such machine (most versions accept only special key's).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
i have a key on the machine

since the computer is from 2003, i assumed it would be for sp1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Keys aren't specific to an SP version , it will work with any (except the newest Pro ones as the latest discs (SP2c and later) have been updated to accept more keys as they ran out). the disc doesn't need to be Dell either, the Dell discs have a key inside them that makes it pre-activated on Dell machines, but the key on the sticker will work on any brand of PC as long as the disc is OEM and not retail or VLK.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Well, I have a dumb question while we're on the subject...

Are the OEM versions of XP specific to PC manufacturers? For example, do Dell, HP, IBM, etc use separate alogorithms for keys? Can I use an HP SP2 key with a Dell SP2 machine? My first guess is no, but I wanted to be sure since I never tried it.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
as far as i know

you can't install a dell xp on an hp machine and vice versa

well without activating you can't


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
You can, but you need to the right key (a key from the license from that OEM eg. DELL, HP), and then its you must activate it.

I saw an DELL OEM XP Pro SP1 on a Compaq D510.
The only difference was in the start menu it had a DELL Support button.

No special software is on the disc.

Because you start a Restore with the Restore Disk (containing Windows 95 for Compaq D310, and on there is all Compaq General Software, then it reboots and asks for the XP Disk (i have 150 discs with XP OEM RTM here) then it copyed the i386 folder to the C Drive, then it asks for special software, burn programs and such, and then reboots into a SYSTEM account and installs windows and then its finished).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
The keys stuck on the machines are just generic OEM keys that can be used with any OEM copy of Windows, while the keys embedded in the pre-installed versions and pre-activated are specific to the manufacturer.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
The keys stuck on the machines are just generic OEM keys that can be used with any OEM copy of Windows, while the keys embedded in the pre-installed versions and pre-activated are specific to the manufacturer.


Hmmmm... so I get the OEM copies...basically there can be generic OEM versions that are tied to a particular machine. (For example the label GRTMHOEM_EN, which is a Windows XP Home Edition (SP3) OEM, not any paticular manufacturer.) But I'm still a little confused about the pre-installed versions. Aren't they using the very same key from the COA on the outside of the machine? What makes the preinstalled version specific to that manufactured PC it's installed on?

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
The pre-installed versions usually contain a "multiple activation key" as the OEM images the same installation to thousands of machines, so they all have the same key, and they are special keys that are already activated when installed with the manufacturer's restore discs on that PC but can't be used on other PCs. That is how the BIOS emulation crack for Vista works, it makes Vista think you have a particular OEM's BIOS and then you can use the pre-activated multiple activation key. The key on the machine is just for if you reinstall using a generic OEM disc (and as proof of licence mainly), it's an unactivated key so could be activated on any PC, but as it's OEM once it's been activated on one you won't be able to activate it again on a different machine, unlike retail keys.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
The pre-installed versions usually contain a "multiple activation key" as the OEM images the same installation to thousands of machines, so they all have the same key, and they are special keys that are already activated when installed with the manufacturer's restore discs on that PC but can't be used on other PCs. That is how the BIOS emulation crack for Vista works, it makes Vista think you have a particular OEM's BIOS and then you can use the pre-activated multiple activation key. The key on the machine is just for if you reinstall using a generic OEM disc (and as proof of licence mainly), it's an unactivated key so could be activated on any PC, but as it's OEM once it's been activated on one you won't be able to activate it again on a different machine, unlike retail keys.


Ahh... makes sense. Thanks for the detailed explanation.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
There are a few files and the key specific to each OEM. So if you have a Dell OEM disc it has files it it which are specific to Dell. After Windows is installed it checks the information in these files against information that is embedded in the hardware in Dell computers. If this information matches then Windows is activated on that machine without you having to do anything.

All these posts seemed fairly confusing. So I'll say it again, just so you know. You don't need a disc with SP1, you just need a Dell OEM disc, doesn't matter the service pack version. So spring for SP3, it should work. The only time this matters is where, as someone mentioned above, you have XP Pro OEM and the key on the case if for SP2c and the disc you are using is before SP2c then it won't work. Microsoft ran out of XP Pro keys and had to update the service pack and introduce new keys. If you are installing a version of XP Pro that has lower than SP2c and the key on the COA is from SP2c or newer, then Windows won't recognize the key on the case. That shouldn't matter if you have a Dell OEM disc though.

You could use an OEM disc from any manufacturer, or a generic OEM disc, but in that case you would need to actually activate with the key on the COA, this is also the case where having SP2c would apply.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
with that in mind, an xp sp3 disc would be great


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Just tested a Compaq D310 Windows XP Professional RTM disk and a Windows 2000 SP2 disk.

The Windows 2000 SP2 disk fails, saying its not the right manufacture computer.

The XP Disk install, and ask for OEM key and after install its just XP that asks to be activated.
No special software is installed, but there is a min win version on the disk (but not bootable i think).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS