BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 5h, 51m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 6080MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Please read the following rules before posting a download request in this area:

1. Don't post a request if you have under 10 posts as stated on the front page. If you do anyway, it will be deleted without further notice. This also applies to other members: If you see a request by someone with less than 10 posts and it hasn't been deleted yet, please don't reply to it.
2. Don't request for warez or any copyrighted software. Only betas (no matter how old or new) and finals of operating systems and applications that are at least 10 years old and therefore classified as abandonware are allowed to be uploaded to and shared on the BetaArchive FTP server.
3. If you have your own FTP server where you'd like other members to upload what you're looking for to, please don't post its login details in any open forum as that will probably lead to abuse. Post the login details in the Private Servers section instead.
4. Check that we don't already have the file on our FTP servers. If you don't have access to the FTP servers then ask someone who has (a moderator for example).


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12561

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NEVER USE EXPLORER! Thats probably why it was corrupt.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, I'd not use the Explorer either. I mostly use the command-line ftp tool (or Cyberduck on the Mac).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I will find something to use. Is the file i uploaded this time corrupt?

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, the file is probably corrupt again. I can't mount it, Mac OS X says it's "not recognized" just as it did with the other one. I'd recommend another ftp tool to upload the file a third time...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 8:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Filezilla

http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Ok im reuploading with filezilla 3 beta 2.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Thanks! :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
The up has been finished for quite a while now. Also, my copy extracts fine with WinRAR and you can see all of the files in the cd.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
That sounds good, now we just have to wait until it gets moved to the download area...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:14 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Posts
342

Location
Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Favourite OS
Chicago (hometown pride)
should i go from AlphaBetas to this? It sounds interesting.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Don't know, haven't got a chance to test it, yet.

EDIT Jeff, the file you uploaded today just got moved to the download section and... it's corrupted again. :( Could you please do an MD5 hash on your original file so I can compare it to the file I've just gotten? This is getting weird, isn't it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Ok, i will just tell me how to do it...

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
what? How to calculate the MD5-hash?

if yes, this is very simple. I prefer HashTab, this is a great Shellextension.

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
that program generates MD5 hashes


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
If you don't mind using the command line, you can use the md5sum tool. This is already present on your system if you run Linux, Unix, or Mac OS X, if you use Windows, download it from here:

http://downloads.activestate.com/contrib/md5sum/Windows/md5sum.exe

Usage is very siple: Copy the file to your %systemroot%/system32 directory, open a command line window, and enter
Code:
md5sum <filename>
,<filename> is the name of the file you want to check (without the brackets, of course). It'll then output the MD5 hash which can take some time especially if the files are very big.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Luckie wrote:
what? How to calculate the MD5-hash?

if yes, this is very simple. I prefer HashTab, this is a great Shellextension.


OMG .. thanks .. I didn't know someone made an explorer extension for MD5 hashes!

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
Luckie wrote:
what? How to calculate the MD5-hash?

if yes, this is very simple. I prefer HashTab, this is a great Shellextension.


OMG .. thanks .. I didn't know someone made an explorer extension for MD5 hashes!

Yes, this is very useful indeed! :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Ok guys, here it is:

FF5203DF0D7A98427D068AA49E11CFF6

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
And this is what I get from the file downloaded off of Andy's FTP:

ff5203df0d7a98427d068aa49e11cff6

Looks the same. So, the file is supposed to be okay. That doesn't explain whyI can't mount it on OS X. I will try to mount it on ISOBuster or something else. This is really getting strange... Are you sure this MD5 sum is from the file on your HD?

Could somebody kindly download the file as well and check if it's corrupt or not? This is slowly driving me crazy...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Ok, yes this is from the file on my hdd. You should be able to extract all of the files from it in winzip. I will try A120%. They both mount 100% correctly.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Okay, am currently extracting the files using 7Zip. :) I will try to make a new ISO from the files once I have them.

edit: I could extract all the files successfully and tried to burn a new bootable CD from the bootimage provided on the CD. :) That failed, the CD crashed the PC when booting, but booting from the four setup floppies worked. It's an Upgrade version, so you'll need a Win9x/NT CD to satisfy the setup.

During the file copy part of setup, several files were missing and setup complained. This was to be expected as the image is much, much smaller than a regular Windows 2000 SP4 CD. But – even crucial files like NTDETECT.COM were missing and eventually, the setup failed saying an inf file was corrupt. :( So, the PC was left with a half-completed Win2k install which was unbootable. :(

Am I missing something here? What's up with that image? :?:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I dunno. It was the one I downloaded from that dude from osbas (name slipped my mind) server... Maybe it wasn't completed... come to think of it, the cd that I burned never worked correctly...

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
That would explain it. We will never know, I guess...


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Siberian GRemlin and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS