BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 26d, 2h, 41m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 5584MB of 10967MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: PSX Quake II - port for PC?        Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I've downloaded Quake II for PSX for my brothers, because they liked playing it on my computer. I played it with them for a while and released that it's different from the PC version (new maps, some new music, new HUD, some new models, some new textures). I enjoyed it and here's a question - is there any good port for PC (by good i mean with support for full mouse look), or maybe a mod for original Q2? Sure, i could play it in emulator or on my PS2 except i don't like the controls. I just hate playing FPP games on pads (except Halo maybe, it seems to be just perfect with pad). That's why i'm asking.

Thanks.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: PSX Quake II - port for PC?        Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
FiFi wrote:
I've downloaded Quake II for PSX for my brothers, because they liked playing it on my computer. I played it with them for a while and released that it's different from the PC version (new maps, some new music, new HUD, some new models, some new textures). I enjoyed it and here's a question - is there any good port for PC (by good i mean with support for full mouse look), or maybe a mod for original Q2? Sure, i could play it in emulator or on my PS2 except i don't like the controls. I just hate playing FPP games on pads (except Halo maybe, it seems to be just perfect with pad). That's why i'm asking.

Thanks.


I believe ePSXe has support for using your mouse as an analog stick either natively or through a plugin. That's as close as you're going to get. With most emulators you could pretty much rebind the controls to the same as original Q2's if you tried.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: PSX Quake II - port for PC?        Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:11 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:01 am

Posts
18
Newer versions of ePSXe should be able to natively configure a mouse and keyboard.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: PSX Quake II - port for PC?        Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 8:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:53 am

Posts
120

Location
Australia
Q2 on PSX is a toned-down version of the game, because the PSX couldn't handle the larger maps found in the original game. Same for the textures and models being a lower resolution. And the maps that are kind of the same have less geometry too.

_________________
Evan supports minimal Sigs! :P.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: PSX Quake II - port for PC?        Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:19 am

Posts
18

Favourite OS
2600
The PSX version has nicer weapon models and some nicer lighting, so there are bits that would be nice to have in the PC version.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS