BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 18h, 40m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 2077MB of 3637MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:00 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:34 am

Posts
913
Currently uploading to the BA server: AoK Alpha version!
This is version 00.09.07.0222, and it was compiled sometime in 1999.

It's legit from what I've been able to see, but if anyone can change the lanuage from Russian to English, please share it. I think you need the English language.dll file from the full version.

Filename: AoK Alpha.zip
Size: 119mb


EDIT: Finished uploading, just waiting for the file to be moved to the downloads.


Last edited by lucas93 on Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:17 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
it should be legit as I used to have a copy of a alpha/beta but I have not idea where it is


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:36 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
Great! Thanks for the upload.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:18 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
29

Location
Portugal
May you post a link to it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:37 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i think it is on the servers so you will have to wait till it is moved to downloads (don't ask for it to be moved).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:32 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:34 am

Posts
913
Yeah, it just needs to be moved to the downloads.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 2:14 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:19 am

Posts
1147

Location
C:\canada\bc.exe

Favourite OS
MS DOS 7.1
anybody try this yet? is it different much?

_________________
Hey little fella, you like-a jump rope?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 10:57 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
to seems to be corrupt, just downloaded it


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:32 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
It's not. I have unpacked it and no CRC errors. However I can't make it run since all I get is a popup with no text in it. If anyone gets it to run please let us know how.

And was this alpha ever public? I find it odd that it has an uninstaller with it... usually alphas don't unless it's public.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:47 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
i used winrar and it showed errors, any ideas?


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:56 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
Edit: I didn't notice that my unpacker had stopped unpacking.... the file is indeed broken and should be removed from the server until a fixed and CHECKED version can be uploaded again.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:32 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:14 pm

Posts
37
It both unpacks and works fine. You need to extract it with Winzip 12.0. I think they changed the compression algorithm or something in the latest version. Anyway, Winrar can't extract it.

lucas93 wrote:
but if anyone can change the lanuage from Russian to English, please share it. I think you need the English language.dll file from the full version.

This is exactly what you need to do. Well, there are still some missing text here and there, but copying language.dll from the final version does work.

By the way the alpha has a cd-check. I made a patch for it, but I don't have it on this computer and since the alpha seems to be already removed from the server, you'll have to wait till Tuesday before I can upload it. If it's not against the rules or anything :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:44 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
Of course not. If you still got the alpha and the patch then please send it up again. And if possible, repack it so we don't need Winzip...

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:29 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:14 pm

Posts
37
Ok. I uploaded the file (Age of Empires II Alpha.rar) to BA ftp and mrpijey's ftp. I added a folder called "Patch" to the archive. It contains the patched exe and english language.dll. Now let's hope everything still works.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:02 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
Thanks! I've repacked it and added it to my other game betas. I've yet to test it, but I trust this one works now :P

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:59 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:03 pm

Posts
96

Location
Barnoldswick, England

Favourite OS
Longhorn
its works, a few language problems but nice to have a look


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:15 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
It required original Alpha CD, because when i put from final version this doesn`t works :(

_________________
I don`t know what i am looking :P
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:33 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:45 pm

Posts
35

Location
United States
I just tried this out yesterday, works great once you copy over the no-cd patch and the language file. I was actually surprised that many of the models actually look a lot better than they do in the final game. I also saw on Youtube that the intro video was a lot longer and had more scenes but it seems to be missing in this copy unfortunately. Really cool find though, apparently it was leaked in Russia by mistake. :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:03 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
I am uploading a new version of this game. The old one was just an archive of the game pre-installed without any videos. This one is actually a real ISO with an installer and from what I can see, includes videos. It will be up during the next major release pack.

I'd like some feedback on it when it's up, I have not tried it myself so it would be nice to know if it works properly and if it's complete.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:53 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:06 pm

Posts
18
Thankyou very much for the upload.


Last edited by Charlie 1 on Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:02 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:06 pm

Posts
18
I you want to know more about the age of empires I and II beta releases here is a link
to a web page with pretty good information about the beta releases:
http://aoebeta.com


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:08 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7210
I am not uploading anything to Rapidshare since it would defeat the purpose of the BA member server. All the releases I prepare and fix will be put on BA server exclusively.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:36 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:45 pm

Posts
35

Location
United States
Thanks mrpijey.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:39 am 
I think a lot of people have the beta of this, but it is still kinda hard to find.

A lot of graphics are much better than the golden version IMO.


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Age of Empire II: The Age of Kings Alpha        Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:34 am 
Hi frnds i am new on this website so plz tell me where to download language dll


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS