BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 20d, 5h, 12m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 5815MB of 12275MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:07 am

Posts
182

Location
Buffalo, New York

Favourite OS
All Windows versions
Right, so this might be a little random, but since last night, when I've been visiting BetaArchive, I get this message saying that the site is checking my browser, and on the bottom, it says that the message is by a DDoS program. Is this new with the site? Or is it just something with my browser?

_________________
[TUT] Install Windows Whistler without setting BIOS date

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
351

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
Its something new with the site, got same thing.

_________________
quality signature


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:52 pm

Posts
85

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
JonathonWyble wrote:
Right, so this might be a little random, but since last night, when I've been visiting BetaArchive, I get this message saying that the site is checking my browser, and on the bottom, it says that the message is by a DDoS program. Is this new with the site? Or is it just something with my browser?

It's Cloudflare's DDoS protection. Their service prevents DDoS attacks from being able to knock out a website, by checking the request first. If it sees it's not a browser request for a page, but just a "bogus" request to increase traffic, it rejects the request, meaning it never reaches the BetaArchive webserver, keeping it accessible. These often occur when the site is experiencing suspiciously high amounts of traffic, such as a DDoS attack.

_________________
MCSA: 70-410, 70-740, Passed for 70-741!, Currently studying for 70-412
MTA: 98-349, 98-365


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:07 am

Posts
182

Location
Buffalo, New York

Favourite OS
All Windows versions
Yep, I just recognized the Cloudflare message at the bottom of the queue. It's likely a nice idea to prevent DDoS attacks when people visit websites, so maybe that was good thinking to have that feature. Not that it's a bad thing, but I guess those messages can sometimes be a little annoying at first, but I'll get used to it.
Thanks for the replies, I was just curious :)

_________________
[TUT] Install Windows Whistler without setting BIOS date

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:52 pm

Posts
85

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
JonathonWyble wrote:
Yep, I just recognized the Cloudflare message at the bottom of the queue. It's likely a nice idea to prevent DDoS attacks when people visit websites, so maybe that was good thinking to have that feature. Not that it's a bad thing, but I guess those messages can sometimes be a little annoying at first, but I'll get used to it.
Thanks for the replies, I was just curious :)

They should go away if the source of high traffic goes away, unless it's manually turned on by the administrators.

_________________
MCSA: 70-410, 70-740, Passed for 70-741!, Currently studying for 70-412
MTA: 98-349, 98-365


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12564

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
The site was hit with a DDoS attack last night so I put cloudflare in place to mitigate it. Unfortunately some people are also having issues with the FTP IP lock showing an IPv6 address as cloudflare has IPv6 support by default (can't be turned off). If anyone has this issue if they let me know their IPv4 address I can manually override it.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:07 am

Posts
182

Location
Buffalo, New York

Favourite OS
All Windows versions
Andy wrote:
The site was hit with a DDoS attack last night so I put cloudflare in place to mitigate it. Unfortunately some people are also having issues with the FTP IP lock showing an IPv6 address as cloudflare has IPv6 support by default (can't be turned off). If anyone has this issue if they let me know their IPv4 address I can manually override it.

That does make sense. I'm guessing that was just a 24-hour situation, because the Cloudflare message doesn't seem to occur when I visit this site anymore... so everything's good now ;)

_________________
[TUT] Install Windows Whistler without setting BIOS date

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Some message displays when I access BA?...        Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 5:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:05 am

Posts
24

Favourite OS
Windows 7
JonathonWyble wrote:
Andy wrote:
The site was hit with a DDoS attack last night so I put cloudflare in place to mitigate it. Unfortunately some people are also having issues with the FTP IP lock showing an IPv6 address as cloudflare has IPv6 support by default (can't be turned off). If anyone has this issue if they let me know their IPv4 address I can manually override it.

That does make sense. I'm guessing that was just a 24-hour situation, because the Cloudflare message doesn't seem to occur when I visit this site anymore... so everything's good now ;)


That would appear so. I've been lurking here the past couple of days and haven't had the CloudFlare message at all. I suspect it may be turned on again if we experience a traffic surge (whether it be good or bad).


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS