Timeout in PHP?

Problem with the site? Got a suggestion? Got feedback? Post here and the staff will discuss it with you.
Post Reply
Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Timeout in PHP?

Post by Jeff »

I was recently trying to upload a fairly large image (2.5mb) to the image uploader, when I got a timeout that said the execution time of 30 seconds had been exceeded. I solved this problem by making the bitmap a jpeg. I don't know if you want to change the php.ini file much for that script, but just wanted to point out the problem.

Cheers.
-Jeff

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

I don't think bitmaps are supported, hence the error.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I've had this happen to me once as well, with a large PNG. The next time I tried (without modifying anything) it worked, however.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

BMP is not supported anyway, they're rediculously big and nobody in their right mind should be using them. It does say the filetypes allowed and BMP is not one of them. It would simply reject the file anyway if it was to finish uploading. The timeout should be set fairly high already but I will double check it and increase it if needed.
Last edited by Andy on Mon May 21, 2007 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

OK the timeout was on 30 seconds. Its now set to 10 minutes (600 seconds). That should be plenty.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Thanks for fixing the problem... it was stupid on my part to try uploading a bitmap anyways.
-Jeff

Post Reply