BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 53d, 16h, 52m | CPU: 12% | MEM: 5761MB of 10848MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Howdy all,

As you may have read in another blog post the replacement server RAM arrived today in the post, unexpected. I thought it would arrive next week after the long Easter bank holiday weekend, but no, Royal Mail delivered it today. Great, it means I can get to work on it earlier than expected. I also have the 500GB replacement hard drive to fit as well.

I got to work as soon as the morning full backup finished. I started with the RAM, and removed the current 2GB of RAM (from my Desktop PC) and replaced it with the new memory. Then I fitted the new 500GB hard drive and put the server back together. Once it booted up, I checked the memory was there, but wait, it was only showing 1GB! Damn, whats wrong. I shut the server down and went and had a look. Ah, its not quite clipped in properly. In my excitement I rushed and didn't realise. I popped it in properly, rebooted the server, and there is now 2GB showing. The new 500GB hard drive needed formatting in computer management before it shows up in My Computer, as all new disks do. It only took a few seconds as I did a quick format as apposed to a full format.

When it was done, I opened Norton Ghost, and used the "Disk Copy" feature to copy data from the 500GB USB drive to the 500GB internal drive. It only took 10 minutes, rather than the 20 hours it used to take using the image restore feature! Huge difference. I'm glad I remembered about this feature as 20 hours is kind of a long time to wait! The new disk is now in service and the 500GB USB drive is now offline (with the old data still intact, just in case).

Now, power usage. This is a subject I am quite interested in, especially at the moment with the economic crisis, energy bills being so high, and lack of money in general. Now as many of you know I had some web cams and a night light on the server, just as a bit of fun. I didn't realise until today how much power these use! Not only do the web cams use power, and the night light, but the CPU usage also changes the power usage. At 25% CPU load, the power usage increases by 10 watts. It took 25% CPU load to run the 3 web cams, so there is 10 watts saved just by switching the software off. The server used 140 watts running idle with the web cams, so now it's 130 watts. Now, the cameras themselves also use power. Disconnecting them one by one reduced the power by 3 watts each! Now the power usage is 121 watts. The cold cathode night lights also use power, disconnecting them took it down to 112 watts! A saving of 9 watts!

Overall, I've saved 28 watts in power!

OK, so what does this mean in layman's terms? Let me demonstrate...

140 watts, costing 14.5p/kWh, running 24 hours:
£0.49 per 24 hours
£3.41 per week for 24 hours a day
£13.64 per month (28 days) for 24 hours a day
£40.92 per quarter (3 months) for 24 hours a day
£177.34 per year for 24 hours a day

112 watts, costing 14.5p/kWh, running 24 hours:
£0.39 per 24 hours
£2.73 per week for 24 hours a day
£10.91 per month (28 days) for 24 hours a day
£32.74 per quarter (3 months) for 24 hours a day
£141.87 per year for 24 hours a day

Thats a saving of 20% a day in electricity, just by turning off the web cams and the cold cathode night lights!!!

I never in my life thought I could save 28 watts just by turning off a couple of web cams and a light. It amazed even me, and I tell you what, I don't think I'll be turning them back on any time soon after seeing how much power they really use, over how much use they get. I'm probably the only one who looks at the damn things anyway, so why waste that power?!

Comments, questions, etc please :) I want to know what you think of this too!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
It is especially good for saving money :o .

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:53 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:34 am

Posts
913
Ahh, that makes me wonder what my school could save by turning off 60+ PC's (system box\monitor).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
If you think about it 3 webcams and a light running for a year does sound cheap for 30 pounds. I have one computer that is always doing something (rendering things or whatnot) and I leave the computer plugged into the wall and turn off the power strip below it that has the monitor speakers and desk lights on it to save power when I am not going to be "using" it.

edit: changed euros to pounds :P


Last edited by zamadatix on Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Pounds, btw, not Euros. And when you think about it, its a waste. £30 to show a web cam somebody looks at maybe 5 minutes a week? Bit of a waste, which is why I turned them off to save such a huge amount of power.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
Andy wrote:
Pounds, btw, not Euros. And when you think about it, its a waste. £30 to show a web cam somebody looks at maybe 5 minutes a week? Bit of a waste, which is why I turned them off to save such a huge amount of power.

Call me blind, but I never found the link to the webcams.

Nethertheless, it's quite interesting to know what energy is being wasted. I look at my miserable boring idiotic cant be asked to do anything brother leaving his computer on, his lights on his tv on. I swear if he was left at home for a week, he would rack up a month's worth of electricity bills, and I would expect the roof to have burnt down. :o
If he'd bother to do any of that, we'd easily save money per quarter on bills. Unfortunately I feel that him doing that is waiting for pigs to fly, and then fly to jupiter.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Rioter wrote:
Call me blind, but I never found the link to the webcams.


Thats because it was never posted, I did give it to some people on MSN. The reason being its hosted on my broadband and the bandwidth requirements were quite high (about 12KB/s per user, and I only have about 55KB/s total, when I'm not being throttled).

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
Ah, I see :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
lucas93 wrote:
Ahh, that makes me wonder what my school could save by turning off 60+ PC's (system box\monitor).

i have always wondered that when i'm at uni. i guess people are too lazy to turn them off/on. I have a flatmate that likes to leave stuff on all the time, always saying "it doesn't cost much" but then if you do that with everything.......


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
[lol]
If you quit smoking and drinking then you save so much then you can have 3 pc's running at full speed for 24/7 and still pay about the same with 1pc, just on 24/7 and smoking and drinking.

[/lol]


Also most PC's at uni and other schools (if they are Compaq D500 or newer (2002/2003) (or just support WOL) (wake on lan) machines, they can be turned on and off through remote administration.
I think most PC's are turned of like that when school's/uni's are out (and switched on in the middle of the night for updates and then switched off again).

So only the monitor stays in sleep mode (which I turn off at night, otherwise I see the entire time while I am not asleep yet that orange LED).
But also turning that off at night or even turn off the monitor when you are not using at for a while saves money.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Posts
1237

Location
Milky Way Galaxy

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2012 Dtc
You people are still in school? :P When I was in school, they didnt have computer...

I wonder how much energy I'd save by turning off my computer...

_________________
See my profile for my website link.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Hardware replacement and power usage, you'll be surprised!        Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I am in the last 10/11 weeks, then 1/2 year of internship about Citrix and then working time. ;)

It matters on the computer what it uses for power (just an server, not much) but an desktop pc with high load all the time much more.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS