BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 56d, 17h, 2m | CPU: 7% | MEM: 5745MB of 10675MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:29 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hello all,

Well, I've been busy the last few weeks building and transferring data to my new home server, or if you like, BA backup server. So what was it before, and what is it now? Let me show you...


Old Server:
2.26GHz Intel Celeron, 128KB Cache
512MB 333MHz DDR RAM
40gb, 80gb, 200gb, 2x250gb usb, 2x500gb usb Hard Drives
100Mbps network
1.7TB total usable disk space, 1.5TB was filled
160watts power consumption


New Server:
2.5GHz Intel Pentium Dual Core, 2MB Cache, 800MHz FSB
2GB OCZ 4-4-4-15 1.8v RAM
160gb, 3x1tb, 2x250gb usb, 2x500gb usb Hard Drives
1Gbps network
4.3TB total usable disk space, 1.5TB is filled
70watts power consumption

Total cost of upgrade: ~£500 - no BA donations used, this was from my wages.
Total fun of upgrade: Lots :P
Problems: RAM I purchased decided it was DOA, so I took 2GB from my desktop PC, and its still there. I will RMA the DOA memory and get new memory so I can have the memory back for my desktop PC.


What does this mean for BA?
Hopefully more reliable backups and a longer archive of backups too.

What does this mean for home use?
I have more disk space to hold music, movies, and my website data, etc.

Image

Questions, comments, rants, opinions please :P

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:50 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Andy wrote:
Total cost of upgrade: ~£500 - no BA donations used, this was from my wages.


:| im glad we have a new backup server but 500 of oyur own money? how much do you end up spending on ba a year!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:53 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
zamadatix wrote:
Andy wrote:
Total cost of upgrade: ~£500 - no BA donations used, this was from my wages.


:| im glad we have a new backup server but 500 of oyur own money? how much do you end up spending on ba a year!


BA costs £564/year to run.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:01 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
with about 200 every month i imagine the servers are getting some nice upgrades every once in a while :P (just looked at monthly donations)

just out of curiosity why don't you use drive H as a 2nd beta backup? (i imagine its just there to be extra though for any thing in the future)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:48 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
What happens to the old one?

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:36 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
zamadatix wrote:
with about 200 every month i imagine the servers are getting some nice upgrades every once in a while :P (just looked at monthly donations)

just out of curiosity why don't you use drive H as a 2nd beta backup? (i imagine its just there to be extra though for any thing in the future)


200 what every month?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:10 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
200 Rupees!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:15 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
Andy wrote:
Image


PIII Xeon?

And it looks like there's no room compared for BA's HDD.

EDIT: Also, server stats aren't updated.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:36 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:05 pm

Posts
638
Isn't it better to install Windows Server 2008, and if you can't, then 2003?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:41 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
RichardGatinho wrote:
Andy wrote:
Image


PIII Xeon?

And it looks like there's no room compared for BA's HDD.

EDIT: Also, server stats aren't updated.


The script doesn't work.

Err... its a screenshot, of course the stats aren't updated...


pkubaj wrote:
Isn't it better to install Windows Server 2008, and if you can't, then 2003?


No, what makes you think that? A server doesn't have to run a server OS you know.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:29 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Andy wrote:
zamadatix wrote:
with about 200 every month i imagine the servers are getting some nice upgrades every once in a while :P (just looked at monthly donations)

just out of curiosity why don't you use drive H as a 2nd beta backup? (i imagine its just there to be extra though for any thing in the future)


200 what every month?


oh im an idiot :oops: i was reading the grand total thinking ti was the total for the month more like £15-20/mpnth :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:45 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:05 pm

Posts
638
Andy wrote:
pkubaj wrote:
Isn't it better to install Windows Server 2008, and if you can't, then 2003?


No, what makes you think that? A server doesn't have to run a server OS you know.


Yes, but Windows Server isn't called Server for nothing. Server managing must be a lot easier on Windows Server, I guess.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:24 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
pkubaj wrote:
Andy wrote:
pkubaj wrote:
Isn't it better to install Windows Server 2008, and if you can't, then 2003?


No, what makes you think that? A server doesn't have to run a server OS you know.


Yes, but Windows Server isn't called Server for nothing. Server managing must be a lot easier on Windows Server, I guess.


Not really. The OS is suited to server applications, but isn't necessarily the best. For example Windows Server 2003 will not run Ghost 9.0, which I use to make archived backups. Windows XP will. And thats the root cause for using XP vs 2003, apart from the fact I do not own a 2003 license.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:57 am 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2648

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm hoping to get around about the same as Andy as im running out of space (Didn't have any to start with like :P) or maby a core 2 duo basically mine will use minimal power :P
But yea ill stop blabbin' on, it's good for BA knowing that backups are saved for longer incase anything happens :)

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:56 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Posts
1237

Location
Milky Way Galaxy

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2012 Dtc
I spent more than 10,000USD on each server initially, most earned from my wages from my own medium-buisiness.

I recently upgraded to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise, 64-bit VLK for all 8 of me servers. (Its legal!) Its upgraded from a Windows 2003 Enterprise, 64-bit VLK which is further upgraded from a Windows 2000 Advanced Server VLK :P lol. Big upgrade route.

Why a P3 Xeon?

I got 4 Xeon Processors for each of my computers, with 128GB (not MB!) of RAM and 8 1.5TB in a RAID 1+0

I would also think you would run XP Pro, because its not really designed for server applications, and it doesn't support Hyper-V, and then it wastes a lot of system resources on ggraphics, etc.

Edit: 110th post!

_________________
See my profile for my website link.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: BetaArchive gets a new backup server!        Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:00 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Its not a Pentium III/Xeon. If you read the posts you'd know that. You'd also know why I run XP if you knew about my servers. I need it to run Norton Ghost because it doesn't run on server editions. Also, I have no need for a server edition, nor do I have the money to pay for one.

Also, you broke the rules. This topic is over 30 days old.

Warning, and locked.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS