BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 2d, 7h, 58m | CPU: 30% | MEM: 1788MB of 3135MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Updated server info page        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:32 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hello all,

I have spent a few hours this evening improving upon the server info page at http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/serverinfo.php. I have included nicer looking server info and rollover graphs. I would appreciate any and all comments/suggestions about it!

Andy (Admin)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:39 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
It looks very nice, however does the Backup server hdd/cpu information have to scroll? Or could it be made a bit taller? :)

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:47 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
It looks very nice, however does the Backup server hdd/cpu information have to scroll? Or could it be made a bit taller? :)


It doesn't scroll here. Perhaps your default font setting is larger? Or it may be another browser causing the issue. I made to work with FF2.

EDIT: Ah, IE... You'll have to suffer because IE point blank refuses to take into account the height settings of the bars. Not my problem unfortunately! I could load it out of an iframe but then it would take a while to load the page in general... Perhaps AJAX is a way around this? I'll investigate!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:51 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Here's a screenshot:
Image.
Its firefox 3 on vista.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:53 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I increased it by 10px, try now.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:56 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Nope, still got the same amount of scrollage here. Oh well, it doesn't matter that much. (yes, I did clear my cache :wink: )

Firefox 3 must render a bit different than 2...

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:58 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
Nope, still got the same amount of scrollage here. Oh well, it doesn't matter that much. (yes, I did clear my cache :wink: )

Firefox 3 must render a bit different than 2...


Try now :)

I'm attempting the AJAX approach to stop the use of the iframe altogether.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:01 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
It still shows the scroll bar, but it is no longer necessary to scroll to see all of the data.

Image

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:39 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Resident coder craig helped me with some simple AJAX and now it doesn't use iframes, so it should work regardless of the browsers rendering problems :D

EDIT: Hold that thought! Doesn't work in IE!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:21 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Andy wrote:
Resident coder craig helped me with some simple AJAX and now it doesn't use iframes, so it should work regardless of the browsers rendering problems :D

EDIT: Hold that thought! Doesn't work in IE!


It now works in both browsers! I am working on a few fixes so bear with me!

Firefox2 experiences random "hangs" when you have the page open due to the way the AJAX works. There is a fix but its complicated so I may or may not implement it.

I'm also working on a way to fix the bar height problem in IE.

IE6 doesn't work with the AJAX so you have to click a link to see the stats. I don't think supporting old software is worth it now but you can at least see the stats even if its not via AJAX.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 8:52 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Maybe you could use an AJAX toolkit like JQuery to fix your cross-browser issues? JQuery works with IE6, Firefox and Opera...

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:29 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:02 am

Posts
66

Location
Dundee, UK

Favourite OS
Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.7
Looks like it's fantastic now :D
Nice work Andy


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS