A change to the way you view FTP server logins and info

Information and news about the website will be posted here.
Locked
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

A change to the way you view FTP server logins and info

Post by Andy »

Hello all,

You may have seen a few glitches on the forum this evening as I was introducing a new way to show the FTP servers login details and information.

This new method of showing the servers is a lot more user friendly compared to the previous, yet still implemented method. The new one allows you to click on a link entitled "Official Private Servers List", then you will be redirected to a url "/forum/servers.php". This will then, if you are in the members group, display the servers. If not a message will display telling you that you do not have access.

I am hoping this is bug free but as always if you do notice anything unusual and that it should not do, please let me know.

As time progresses I will be adding automatically updating disk space and file counting, and also an status checker to show if the server is online or offline, which will update every 10 minutes (as part of the servers usual cron job).

I hope this makes everyones life easier with regard to getting the server details.

I will be removing the details from the original discussion topics shortly to avoid any confusion as to what the details are should they change. Up to date login details will always be on the new servers page.

As always comments, questions (and arguments ) are welcome.

Andy (Admin)

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

Very nice, but what about my server (and potentially toshuas server), is there some way of including that in that list?

EDIT: Just noticed a bug, in the list it's sillyproject.co.uk whereas it should be sillyproject.com
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Apache wrote:Very nice, but what about my server (and potentially toshuas server), is there some way of including that in that list?
When your server is back up and online and the mirror is up to date, I don't see why we can't add that as well.

To be honest, with toshuas (hi toshua), it won't be worth it. I'll leave it to you to decide why. No doubt you've read the forum enough to realise why. Nothing is stopping him from hosting his own server in the non-official section if he wants to though.

By the way, when we add yours, we'll have to set up a HTTP server with FTP and PHP so I can upload the stats script used to keep the info up to date, as mentioned I would do above, if thats OK with you.

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

Andy wrote:When your server is back up and online and the mirror is up to date, I don't see why we can't add that as well.
Only another ~175GB to go lol
Andy wrote:To be honest, with toshuas (hi toshua), it won't be worth it. I'll leave it to you to decide why. No doubt you've read the forum enough to realise why. Nothing is stopping him from hosting his own server in the non-official section if he wants to though.
'Nuff said
Andy wrote:By the way, when we add yours, we'll have to set up a HTTP server with FTP and PHP so I can upload the stats script used to keep the info up to date, as mentioned I would do above, if thats OK with you.
No problem there, I'll hopefully get the status image and the bandwidth graphs back online again soon, and then you could send me this script
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Sounds good to me. And well spotted on the typo, that's fixed now.

It took me nearly 3 hours along with the help of craig our resident programming genius to get this all working properly. It required a slight hack of the forum coding and some http side redirecting with URL rewriting but its all working well so far.

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

oooh phpBB modding, thats pushing the boat out a bit lolol, and URL re-writing is fairly simple with Abyss. Well done Craig
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Apache wrote:oooh phpBB modding, thats pushing the boat out a bit lolol, and URL re-writing is fairly simple with Abyss. Well done Craig
Its not so much a mod but "code stealing". Basically it grabs the info it needs to know its logged onto the forum, and also grabs data about the user so it knows if that user is in the group or not. Then it decides on the page it displays going by the variables set (or not set). I only asked Craig because he has more experience in phpBB coding than I do, and also in MySQL. I have virtually no knowledge in MySQL at all.

You'd be surprised how hard URL re-writing is in Abyss. The expressions are what make it difficult but even this simple "if URL = this, do this" expression was hard to figure out and Craig even solved that one for me in the end too.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

What if a leecher downloads and reads the source of the server php?
//Found out, they can't get it that way.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Windows OCManage wrote:What if a leecher downloads and reads the source of the server php?
//Found out, they can't get it that way.
They can't (as you said just as I hit quote). PHP is parsed by the server. If it doesn't parse they just get a blank page, no code. Even if someone did get it via this means, i'd just change it all around and change passwords etc.

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Sorry, but you do not appear to have the correct priviledges to access the FTP Servers.
You need to be a member of the 'Advanced Members' group before you can see them.
Additionally you may not be logged onto the forum. Please go to the forum and login,
then return to this page.
Doesn't work for me, and you spelt privileges wrong.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
Sorry, but you do not appear to have the correct priviledges to access the FTP Servers.
You need to be a member of the 'Advanced Members' group before you can see them.
Additionally you may not be logged onto the forum. Please go to the forum and login,
then return to this page.
Doesn't work for me, and you spelt privileges wrong.
Did you login on the forum properly? Because it won't work if you're not logged in. You have to be a member of the Advanced Members group too. Because you're a moderator I don't think you ever went into it. Just join and I'll accept.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

thx the new view is great
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Luckie wrote:thx the new view is great
Glad you like it. I knew people would prefer everything in one place rather than having to search for them and try to decipher the way the info is laid out.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

Andy wrote:I knew people would prefer everything in one place rather than having to search for them
yes, that's what I like on this new view
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

It's smart
And looks good

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

Another bug/typo, is there really 1470 files in the upload account
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Apache wrote:Another bug/typo, is there really 1470 files in the upload account
Roughly. 1470 files out of the two sub-folders. Comes to about 1500 total.

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Andy wrote:
Apache wrote:Another bug/typo, is there really 1470 files in the upload account
Roughly. 1470 files out of the two sub-folders. Comes to about 1500 total.
He means the files on the upload server andy

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

D.Konieczny wrote:
Andy wrote:
Apache wrote:Another bug/typo, is there really 1470 files in the upload account
Roughly. 1470 files out of the two sub-folders. Comes to about 1500 total.
He means the files on the upload server andy
Oops. lol. No its a typo but will be auto updated soon.

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Andy wrote:
D.Konieczny wrote:
Andy wrote:
Apache wrote:Another bug/typo, is there really 1470 files in the upload account
Roughly. 1470 files out of the two sub-folders. Comes to about 1500 total.
He means the files on the upload server andy
Oops. lol. No its a typo but will be auto updated soon.
What do you mean with "auto updated"?

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

Andy wrote:As time progresses I will be adding automatically updating disk space and file counting, and also an status checker to show if the server is online or offline, which will update every 10 minutes (as part of the servers usual cron job).
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Sorry Did not read this...

Locked