BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

AbyssUnderground FTP Server is full
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2094
Page 3 of 3

Author:  Andy [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:42 am ]
Post subject: 

empireum wrote:
toshua123 wrote:
she
thats sexist

Could you kindly post in a way that others can understand you, it's starting to get annoying.


Yes, please do. And "she" is not sexist. Sexist would be saying, "oh, shes a woman doing a mans job?". So please start talking properly and sensibly or you know what will happen.

You should note that if anyone was being sexist it would be dealt with VERY seriously.

Author:  empireum [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:46 am ]
Post subject: 

Andy wrote:
I beleive XP home/pro is limited to two cores, and I beleive it says so in the EULA. The only OS's that can use more than two cores as far as I know are the Server OS's (2000, 2003 etc), linux, mac os x, etc.

No. XP Home is limited to one physical CPU socket, XP Pro to two. But there's no limit regarding the number of cores.
Microsoft wrote:
“Microsoft Windows XP Professional and Microsoft Windows XP Home are not affected by this policy as they are licensed per installation and not per processor. Windows XP Professional can support up to two processors regardless of the number of cores on the processor. Microsoft Windows XP Home supports one processor. ”

Author:  Andy [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:47 am ]
Post subject: 

empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
I beleive XP home/pro is limited to two cores, and I beleive it says so in the EULA. The only OS's that can use more than two cores as far as I know are the Server OS's (2000, 2003 etc), linux, mac os x, etc.

No. XP Home is limited to one physical CPU socket, XP Pro to two. But there's no limit regarding the number of cores.
Microsoft wrote:
“Microsoft Windows XP Professional and Microsoft Windows XP Home are not affected by this policy as they are licensed per installation and not per processor. Windows XP Professional can support up to two processors regardless of the number of cores on the processor. Microsoft Windows XP Home supports one processor. ”


Ah I see, I misunderstood the EULA (well, not so misunderstood, as didn't fully read).

Author:  Gnome [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:47 am ]
Post subject: 

thinking i might put on server 03

Author:  empireum [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:48 am ]
Post subject: 

Who reads MS EULAs anyway? I don't. Never. :lol:

Author:  Andy [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:48 am ]
Post subject: 

toshua123 wrote:
thinking i might put on server 03


We want to know this why? And use proper grammar. Its not to hard to capitalize the first letter in a sentence and on words/letters like "I".

Author:  Andy [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:49 am ]
Post subject: 

empireum wrote:
Who reads MS EULAs anyway? I don't. Never. :lol:


HA! Good point. I don't think I've ever bothered to read one. Know anyone who has? ;)

Author:  Gnome [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:51 am ]
Post subject: 

Nope I dont aswell.

Author:  Vista Ultimate R2 [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:54 am ]
Post subject: 

I did actually skim-read the Vista one as I had been talking to someone about something that they had seen in it (yeh, I guess I'm sad or something! :P) It's not actually as long and difficult to understand as some of them, maybe they've realised that they need to be like that if people are to read them?

Is the licence restriction to two cores enforced by Windows or not? As I thought it couldn't distinguish between cores and actual processors, given that mine appears in Windows to have two actual processors, when in fact it is a single P4 HT (HT appears as dual-core), so I don't see how they could enforce it for 3+ CPUs, but not 3+ cores.

Author:  empireum [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:42 am ]
Post subject: 

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Is the licence restriction to two cores enforced by Windows or not? As I thought it couldn't distinguish between cores and actual processors, given that mine appears in Windows to have two actual processors, when in fact it is a single P4 HT (HT appears as dual-core), so I don't see how they could enforce it for 3+ CPUs, but not 3+ cores.

Windows NT and 2000 can't distinguish between actual CPUs, multiple cores or HT technology, but XP and newer can. XP lists your P4HT as two individual CPUs, but it knows better. Install XP Home on your machine – it'll show two CPUs. Install it on a dual-core box, same. Install it on a real SMP box – one CPU.

Author:  Beta Freak [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:24 am ]
Post subject: 

toshua123 wrote:
she
thats sexist

He was talking about your mum so unless she isn't a she....
Actually lets not go there.

Author:  empireum [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:46 am ]
Post subject: 

Beta Freak wrote:
toshua123 wrote:
she
thats sexist

He was talking about your mum so unless she isn't a she....
Actually lets not go there.

All I did was ask if she'd be worried about the power consumption if the server would be running 24/7. I don't see a problem in asking that. But let's end that here, this will lead to nowhere.

Author:  Gnome [ Fri Jul 13, 2007 4:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

Well you could of said my mum :shock:

Author:  Ludacris [ Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:06 am ]
Post subject: 

Hello, this topic is about the full server and not about your mum or cpus

Author:  empireum [ Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:22 am ]
Post subject: 

Ludacris wrote:
Hello, this topic is about the full server and not about your mum or cpus

Correct.
Back on topic, please.

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/