Ads

Information and news about the website will be posted here.
Locked
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Ads

Post by Andy »

Hi all,

You may have noticed a new banner ad at the top of the page. Well Im trialing the ads to try and bring in a bit of money. To help run the server etc. If they start to get intrusive, let me know and Ill see what I can do.

Remember this is only a trial and may not be permanent.

Thanks,

Andy (Admin)

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

First I knew about it: Adblock clearly doing its job!
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Once I know they're working Ill adblock them as well but they're not intrusive and don't slow the page down so for now Im not too bothered.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i can live with it

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

Adblock ftw.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Well they're currently not working properly. If they're not working by the weekend Ill take them off.

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

They are causing the pages to take slightly longer to load (yes i do use adblock but i turned off to test the ads). Would it not be better to use google ads as they are less intrusive and they may make you more money?
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Apache wrote:They are causing the pages to take slightly longer to load (yes i do use adblock but i turned off to test the ads). Would it not be better to use google ads as they are less intrusive and they may make you more money?
You want to fight with Google? I used them before and they accused me of clicking on my own ads the b*****ds. Now they won't let me apply at all.

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

yeah
that's a major problem
Google's the best but their a bitch too...
Like I was gone for a MONTH and I took down my entire site (NOTHING on the server except a "go away" indexpage) and they said that I was spam clicking my links and that I had "illegal" stuff...
though I think its more their unorganized and the reg. keys in the ad code are getting mixed up between sites
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

Ads are ok before there are too much of them

Frozenport
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"
Contact:

Post by Frozenport »

Its in a horrid place, can we swap the add and the BetaArchive logo?
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

Hi im back.
Well i dont mind the ads but it dose slow it down a bit.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

If you find it slow then use adblock to get rid of them. They are only there to bring in a bit of money for running the server and the site. It IS expensive you know.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

I've just added some more ads from AdJug.com. Again if you do not like these you can stop them by using AdBlock or adding a host to localhost in your hosts file (that one is complicated though).

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

For me they are a major annoyance because the last times I tried to access BA topics, they prevented the site from loading and threw up an error message. So, the ads are literally preventing me from using BA, that's why I killed them off by redirecting them to 127.0.0.1 in the hosts file. Sorry.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

In fact you know what, stuff the ads. I can't have it on my mind that BA might be losing visitors this very second!!

They're ALL removed now. Looks like my pocket is going to have to get a little deeper eh?

Locked