BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 10h, 21m | CPU: 26% | MEM: 5712MB of 11995MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:45 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
350

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
I installed Windows Chicago build 122 in Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, but when i login, the display is corrupted.



Image

Does it have something to do with the S3 Trio64 adapter with Virtual PC 2007? I installed build 490 and there was no display corruption.

_________________
quality signature


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:11 pm

Posts
263
Use 86box or PCem for that build.

Also about 86box's missing d3dx9_43.dll, search directx june 2010 and click on the download.cnet.com link.

Configuring 86box is rather similar to PCem.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:09 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
350

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
Windows Thunderstruck wrote:
Use 86box or PCem for that build.

Also about 86box's missing d3dx9_43.dll, search directx june 2010 and click on the download.cnet.com link.

Configuring 86box is rather similar to PCem.


Just made a new machine in PCem.

Right now I am configuring the HDDs.

*EDIT*: Its extremely slow, even though I configured an Pentium Overdrive MMX 180 and 64MB Ram.

Image

_________________
quality signature


Last edited by MCpillager12 on Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:55 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:11 pm

Posts
263
Don't forget to choose the Trident monitor in the settings!

If you want a higher resolution that is and not have an invisible mouse cursor.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3521

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
Well, s3 801/805 (built-in) drivers work fine there, as do 189 s3.drv/vxd drivers on this build (you can even get up to 1024x768x32bpp with such).

_________________
http://forum.softhistory.org


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Display corruption in 122        Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 7:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 09, 2019 1:59 pm

Posts
42

Favourite OS
2296
I have a similar issue in the RTM of Windows 95. It simply detects the "S3 Trio" as "S3" and uses the wrong display driver, causing display corruption. However, once I set it to a generic VGA driver in Safe Mode, it autodetects it before fully booting into the OS.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS