Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for 10

Discussion of beta and abandonware topics not fit for the other forums goes here.
Post Reply
Mr. Smith
User avatar
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 3:37 am
Location: Nanchang China

Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for 10

Post by Mr. Smith »

Does Microsoft release independ windows phone emulator for windows 10 ? It is in Visual Studio 2015 already. But It's not possible for me to install a "fat" VS in my PC
By the way ,I am not a developer in Windows Phone. I just want to try it. :D
A greeting sent from distant beta os lover

Goldfish64
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:20 pm
Location: USA

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by Goldfish64 »

Mr. Smith wrote:Does Microsoft release independ windows phone emulator for windows 10 ? It is in Visual Studio 2015 already. But It's not possible for me to install a "fat" VS in my PC
By the way ,I am not a developer in Windows Phone. I just want to try it. :D
Nope. You need Visual Studio. You could try, but it will probably want Visual Studio.

Note you'll also need Windows 10 Pro.
Goldfish64

gus33000
User avatar
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:24 am
Location: Bordeaux, sometimes in Paris, France, maybe also in R.W
Contact:

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by gus33000 »

You don't really need visual studio, just install the latest emulator from here (Latest insider release, 10.0.14366.0), after it's installed, make sure you have hyper-v installed (you may need to reboot for this) then go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14366.0\ (or something like that), open a command prompt as administrator, and run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\"
XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd" /creatediffdisk "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
then after using this command once, if you wish to restart the emulator, run:

Code: Select all

XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
Additionally, if you wish to try out the hololens emulator too, here are some commands:

First run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\HoloLens\10.0.14342.1018\flash.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /creatediffdisk "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /fastShutdown /sku HDE
After first run:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /fastShutdown /sku HDE

MrUTB
User avatar
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:04 am

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by MrUTB »

Nice info Gustave, the best and fast choice is made some batch files to accomplish that.

Anyway, thanks.

Sent from Space

Mr. Smith
User avatar
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 3:37 am
Location: Nanchang China

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by Mr. Smith »

gus33000 wrote:You don't really need visual studio, just install the latest emulator from here (Latest insider release, 10.0.14366.0), after it's installed, make sure you have hyper-v installed (you may need to reboot for this) then go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14366.0\ (or something like that), open a command prompt as administrator, and run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\"
XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd" /creatediffdisk "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
then after using this command once, if you wish to restart the emulator, run:

Code: Select all

XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
Additionally, if you wish to try out the hololens emulator too, here are some commands:

First run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\HoloLens\10.0.14342.1018\flash.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /creatediffdisk "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /fastShutdown /sku HDE
After first run:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /fastShutdown /sku HDE



Do you have independent windows phone 7 and 8.1 emulator package?
A greeting sent from distant beta os lover

Goldfish64
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:20 pm
Location: USA

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by Goldfish64 »

For WP7, those run on VPC, so the commands are different. If you're using Windows 10, at least x64, it won't work. 8.0 and 8.1 use Hyper-V and similar commands to those that gus33000 posted.

EDIT: The RTM 8.0 SDK is separate, but it installs VS2012 Express. The RTM 8.1 SDK is only available with VS 2015 now.
EDIT2: For WP8.0 RTM and WP8.1 RTM, VS 2015 Community is the best way to get those. You can get it from here. The others can be found here.
Goldfish64

Fuzzy_Blanket
User avatar
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:59 pm

Re: Does Microsoft release depend windows phone emulator for

Post by Fuzzy_Blanket »

gus33000 wrote:You don't really need visual studio, just install the latest emulator from here (Latest insider release, 10.0.14366.0), after it's installed, make sure you have hyper-v installed (you may need to reboot for this) then go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14366.0\ (or something like that), open a command prompt as administrator, and run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\"
XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd" /creatediffdisk "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
then after using this command once, if you wish to restart the emulator, run:

Code: Select all

XDE.exe /nogpu vhd "%userprofile%\Documents\XDE Emulator\Mobile\10.0.14366.0\Flash.vhd"
Additionally, if you wish to try out the hololens emulator too, here are some commands:

First run:

Code: Select all

mkdir "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Emulation\HoloLens\10.0.14342.1018\flash.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /creatediffdisk "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /fastShutdown /sku HDE
After first run:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft XDE\10.0.14342.0\XDE.exe"  /name "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /displayName "HoloLens Emulator 10.0.14342.1018" /vhd "C:\Hololens\10.0.14342.1018\dd.1268x720.2048.vhd" /video "1268x720" /memsize 2048 /language 409 /fastShutdown /sku HDE
It gives me a usage screen when I run those commands and It won't let me create a VM.
All hail the almighty PRIUS!!!

Post Reply